Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st December 2012, 16:26   #376
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,066
Thanked: 2,864 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97_Octane View Post
...infinity kappa perfect 12.1 subwoofer... Is it good for sq? Does it give that 'precise' and controlled bass?
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India. I had to reduce the internal volume of the box a bit to get the best. And it can go pretty loud if one uses a good mono.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2012, 20:42   #377
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Guys,
Need some advice.
My current setup in I20 has a 4 channel amp powering a Sub (bridged) & front Components.However the rears were totally overshadowed by the fronts.But I fine with this setup for 2 years.

Now Im getting a used 2 channel JVC Amp from a friend at a very cheap rate so plan to power the sub through this & the front & rears with the 4 channel amp.
Just want to shift the sound stage to more towards rear now.

Would it be okay?
kratos11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2012, 22:26   #378
BHPian
 
97_Octane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 164
Thanked: 71 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India. I had to reduce the internal volume of the box a bit to get the best. And it can go pretty loud if one uses a good mono.
Oh great! But the sad part is I was a couple of hours late and the sub was sold to some guy in a Fiesta

I sooo wanted that sub

Which is the best equivalent currently?
97_Octane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 06:42   #379
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,962
Thanked: 254 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India.
Is it really available in India?
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2012, 00:26   #380
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 1
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Hi Guys,
Want some help from The Experts here.
I recently Bought a Ford Figo Exi.
Initially i got a JVC KW R400 HU fitted in it with Pioneer (G-Series TS-G624) speakers in all the 4 doors. The sound i got from the setup was bad.
So i went back to the Accessory guy for a change in speakers and replaced all the 4 Pioneer speakers with Kicker KS Series - KS60, I experienced a totally changed quality of sound. The sound is now much much better. But the problem i am facing is with the rear speakers. The quality of sound from the front speakers is really very good but from the rear ones is awful. I have tried doing all the settings in the HU but to no effect. What could be the possible reason for this? How can i eradicate this problem? Any further mods required?
Please guide.
Thanks in advance
max_nax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2012, 13:36   #381
BHPian
 
shabash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 91
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

My i10 has a very basic setup Sony HU + 4 speakers (all Co-axial). It used to sound fine for the last 4 months, but suddenly the sound on the left front speaker goes off when the left side Window is up. Also the rear speakers makes a Shrill sound, especially with more Bass. I think an upgrade is due.

The question is whether to change the HU and the speakers or retain the HU and add a Amp + Component speakers?
shabash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2012, 14:15   #382
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,066
Thanked: 2,864 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by shabash View Post
... suddenly the sound on the left front speaker goes off when the left side Window is up. Also the rear speakers makes a Shrill sound, especially with more Bass. ...
Shrill sound with more bass? Strange, one is not associated with the other - perhaps you can rephrase your observation?

Definitely something is wrong with the cable going to the speaker due to the window movement. Quite likely either the speaker cable is frayed or the connector is loose. Please get that checked first, instead of enduring it.

In your situation, perhaps the best would be putting in an external amp and good components in front. That would give you the most gain, till you feel the HU lacks features that you desire.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2012, 21:25   #383
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Delhi
Posts: 178
Thanked: 19 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

a query regarding Alpine PDX v 90 for my linea


For people having trouble with their system:

1. Your car: Fiat Linea Emotion pk

2. Your current setup (Please mention details with model numbers if possible): Blaupunkt tha 555 PnP, focal components, RF coax, RF sub

3. Description of the problem: this is my second 555 gone bad in 2 yours, pretty much a life of one year. Now after all due diligence i am planing to put an Alpine PDX v-90 5 channel amp. Would i need a auto turn off/on Line out converter, as regular Line out converter would not switch off due to linea's HU ( i want to retain blue and me).

a. what are the other possibilities

b. what converter should i get if i need one at all

c. Alpine PDX has some different kind of input connections, would it have built in auto turn off feature? i read somewhere that speaker level input can help solve turning off problem
Mindgrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2012, 11:41   #384
BHPian
 
autotranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hyd, Thrissur
Posts: 264
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Hello gurus,

Need a moderate upgrade for my i10's ICE

Presently I have -

1. HU - Sony Xplod - CDX-GT505U/Q1IN ,
2. Rear Oval speakers - Rockford Fosgate Prime R-1693 (6' x 9' ) ; presently mounted on parcel tray.

The whole set up was done at a local accessory shop. Personally I think it is not worth the 12k I have spent. There is no bass. I tried fiddling with the set-up on the HU, but to no avail. It lacks the bass punch.

I listen to all kinds of music, but predominantly Tamil / Hindi film songs when wife is around and Rock (old gen.) when alone.

I would love to get a bass boost, but then I cannot afford to lose the little luggage space that I have.

Can I shift the ovals to my rear doors and install a sub on the parcel tray ? What money should I be prepared to shell out ?
autotranny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 00:19   #385
Newbie
 
living_fossil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Thrissur
Posts: 17
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Hey Gurus...
I got an Astar A/T for a test drive which had a USB port in it right next to the Hazard indicator switch.. it was a November manufactured car. Later on when i got my car the there was no port but the space for the port is simply covered with a cap. My car is October manufactured.. And the amazing thing is that NoNE of the guys in the showroom or Service area know about this.. Its almost as if it appeared there by MAGIC..
Is there an aftermarket cable which can be fixed to the back of the Inbuilt stereo system to connect a USB??
Whom can i contact in MSIL to get detains about this?
Also is it possible to have a double din HU fitted in ASTAR?
Ive also attached a pic which was taken from a site... Couldnt take the interior photo of the car they bought for testdrive but it looks exactly the same
Attached Images
 
living_fossil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 11:05   #386
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,066
Thanked: 2,864 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by living_fossil View Post
... Is there an aftermarket cable which can be fixed to the back of the Inbuilt stereo system to connect a USB?? ...
Depends on whether the OE HU has a port that can be extended to the dash location. To know whether there is, or not, you need to take out the HU and read the sticker on top of the HU.

Doesn't matter if the showroom guys didn't know, just ask them to take the HU out (a simple task) so that you can read the sticker. If there is a provision in the HU, you would need an extender cable (plug on one side, socket on the other) that you can use to connect it to the dash location.

If the car came with the HU manual, you *just might* find details in that. Of course, the snafu is that the manual may be common for a group of HUs. To be sure, you have to check the HU model number anyhow by taking out the HU and reading the sticker.

No idea whether a 2DIN HU can be mounted in the place of the OE HU, unless you post a pic of the dash of *your* car.

Last edited by DerAlte : 11th January 2013 at 11:10.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 09:56   #387
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gurgaon, Alwar
Posts: 446
Thanked: 116 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Can anybody guide me to set up the xover for illusion carbon nd6.1. The xovers have two sets of jumpers. one for the tweeter level control, and other for use of xover with standard/bi-amp option.

I have both the jumpers for wiring in the open position. The jumper for tweeters is in the 0dB position.

I am using a two channel amplifier for powering the speakers.
Name:  xoverrear.JPG
Views: 397
Size:  29.0 KB

Name:  xoverinternal.JPG
Views: 374
Size:  41.3 KB

Last edited by deepfusion : 1st February 2013 at 09:58.
deepfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 10:36   #388
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,831
Thanked: 3,415 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
I have both the jumpers for wiring in the open position. The jumper for tweeters is in the 0dB position.

I am using a two channel amplifier for powering the speakers.
Attachment 1045786

Attachment 1045787
for 0db J1 and J3 need to be closed but in your picture I see only J1 closed.

For biamp both jumperns on the left need to be open. But then you need a 4 channel amp to drive the speakers. If you are using a 2 channel amp then leave the jumpers where they are.

BTW I would try -2db position for the tweeters (closing J1 and J2).
navin is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 10:49   #389
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gurgaon, Alwar
Posts: 446
Thanked: 116 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
for 0db J1 and J3 need to be closed but in your picture I see only J1 closed.

For biamp both jumperns on the left need to be open. But then you need a 4 channel amp to drive the speakers. If you are using a 2 channel amp then leave the jumpers where they are.

BTW I would try -2db position for the tweeters (closing J1 and J2).
Navin, the xovers are presently jumped at 0dB, i.e. the middle, or J2 jumper is connected.

But for the wiring, both connections are open. No jumper is there. The pics are slightly misleading to that end.

xover-internal.pdf

Last edited by deepfusion : 1st February 2013 at 10:59.
deepfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2013, 12:08   #390
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,831
Thanked: 3,415 Times
Default Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
Navin, the xovers are presently jumped at 0dB, i.e. the middle, or J2 jumper is connected.

But for the wiring, both connections are open. No jumper is there. The pics are slightly misleading to that end.

Attachment 1045801
I believe (from memory alone) that both jumpers open are used when biamping and both are closed when using a single 2 channel amplifier.

I would PM Bass and Trouble (Ajay kamath) as he has some knowledge here.
navin is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me rjvora_2000 Indian Car Loans & Insurance 3766 25th March 2017 11:15
Google SMS - An end to Ask me service ! Sahil Shifting gears 12 30th January 2008 00:05
The Newbie Thread: Things you were scared to ask vidvai Technical Stuff 30 17th August 2007 17:30
P-150 classic for sale .What can i ask for jango Motorbikes 1 31st March 2006 12:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks