Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th August 2008, 07:49   #196
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Looks good! Where is the CPU location? Under the seat?

The touchscreen is a good fit on the 2DIN slot.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2008, 12:48   #197
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Cpu is kept below seat as of now with the stock amd cpu heatsink. once i change over to 4850e plan to locate it behind screen with jetway heat sink.
Any idea how is headrest monitor installed. then can separate the entertainment from navigation. i intend to fix the old screen into headrest. i have all its fittings but cant make out. do we have to cut the slot into headrest?
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 16:56   #198
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

You get a headrest shroud which is embedded into the headrest. I have no idea how they embed it though. Check with Sheldon or any of the ICE installers on the forum.

Name:  P1010019.jpg
Views: 1778
Size:  59.1 KB
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2008, 16:54   #199
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Today decided to go ahead with installation of the headrest monitor i was using earlier in dashboard. It was a hours job in fixing into the headrest. Markings were done first. then cover was cut cross, foam removed to a depth of an inch.Used six tie wraps to fix the monitor casing. Have not connected it to the cpu but installed it in car.
I am using 4 creative speakers now connected to amplifier along with the rockford subwoofer. its actually sounding better than previous sony 6x9s + pioneer 2ways. this is primarily because all four were connected to the same stereo output and the subwoofer audio was not coming out of trunk. the two 6x9 holes are giving nice bass effect. Atleas till i upgrade to a pair of components set this will stay.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by gigy : 30th August 2008 at 17:03.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2008, 18:57   #200
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I blew up the headrest lcd today by interchanging power wires. it was momentary but it was enough to blow up something inside it. a pop sound and the fuse also blew off second latter. all this because i used a pair of wires which were both black.
An other problem:
the DVI to VGA converter is not working with the touchscreen monitor. there is no video signal.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2008, 10:29   #201
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Got the 4850e cpu for Rs4100 and installed it with the low profile heat sink. till now its operating fine. running at default 2.5Ghz. i am waiting for new cabinet which will accommodate the cpu and lcd into a double din case to make it as stock replacement type set up.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 12:29   #202
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

After a long wait got hold of a PCI riser card(had to pay Rs1000) and the tv tuner card is in now.so got FM back into car after a long time just before my Ahmedabad trip today
Attached Images
 

Last edited by gigy : 8th October 2008 at 12:30.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 13:53   #203
Senior - BHPian
 
badboyscad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

@gigy: my carputer is almost over but im stuck at the display part. currently im havin a necvox 7.5" headrest lcd and the vga to pal converter that i bought has some problem, so it is not converting.

Please suggest a Desktop LCD monitor( 14" or 15" with VGA input) which works on 12 volt DC. i mean to say a LCD monitor which comes with a power adapter( 220V to 12v dc), so that i can keep the adapter aside and directly connect the monitor to the car.

PS: im not keen on spending 11K or greater on puny little touchscreen and im sure that i can take care of mounting the desktop lcd on the roof.
badboyscad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 14:59   #204
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
After a long wait got hold of a PCI riser card(had to pay Rs1000) and the tv tuner card is in now.so got FM back into car after a long time just before my Ahmedabad trip today
koooll setup,
where did you get PCI rasier card from ?
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 15:55   #205
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Badboyscad,
Did you check the switch setting on the converter? is video enabled or is it in vga ? did you check power in the usb cable? Get the converter replaced if possible.
from my experience it is always better to go for touch screen. If you are not driving then a mini keyboard is required.DealExtreme: $44.80 Mini 78+19 Keys USB 2.4GHz RF Wireless Programmable Multimedia Keyboard with Trackball Mouse
if you find something like this in chennai let me also know.
There are lcd of 7''(display) & 9''(case) with vga display for about 4k. i have seen them in alfa store mumbai. Do you have a suitable location for a 14'' on roof? It might be too heavy to support and block rear view completely.
Monty9991,
Got it imported from linux itx site. LinITX.com - Riser Cards

Last edited by gigy : 8th October 2008 at 15:57.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 17:01   #206
Senior - BHPian
 
badboyscad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

@gigy: yes,i checked all the switch settings and usb power cable, but no use. i checked with a similar converter(my friend's) and it worked perfectly. guess i have to get it replaced. can you please tell me more(brand, model num) about the 7" display( with vga input)?

And yes, i ll surely let you know if i find something similar to that keyboard, here.
badboyscad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2008, 13:26   #207
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

regarding compact keyboards u guys can check out this :
[COLOR=#0066cc]http://www.engadget.com/2008/10/03/brandos-tiny-keyboard-now-in-wireless-multimedia-flavor/[/COLOR]

Its a bit expensive but is wireless and compact with trackball !
Attached Images
 
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 17:38   #208
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Today i tried integrating the display into the dashboard. The results are ok I think for a diy. whats your inputs? tried to do this because older setup was very much inviting to theives and without any security system in car now i wanted to tone down the looks
Attached Images
    

Last edited by gigy : 21st October 2008 at 17:43.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008, 21:45   #209
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

nice fabrication.. gigy
it looks like theres a difference in color of screen and your dash panel. i'd suggest you get it painted in MATT BLACK color the whole thing ( screen panel and dash panel together).

Last edited by monty9991 : 23rd October 2008 at 21:47.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008, 22:49   #210
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I have painted it all matt black including the trim around the speedometer gauges. now car has gone back to stock colour.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks