Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th February 2009, 02:08   #286
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

The pictures of cables and connectors.
amphenol rca connectors 90 per pair.
12 core shielded wire 60/meter. for 6 channel audio.
finolex 35mm/2G 200/meter. the shop guy didnt have 25mm so bought this.
3.5mm stereo pin 40 each.
ofc speaker wire 32/meter.
amplifier turn on signal wire finolex 5/meter
Attached Images
      

Last edited by gigy : 10th February 2009 at 02:12.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 18:27   #287
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

well looks like this setup is for a sound card. is it?
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2009, 10:30   #288
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

No, i am using onboard 5.1 channel.
Wanted to try out this for a long time but dint have proper amplifier and cabling.
Hope things work out better.
I don't know if there is software control to play music in stereo and movies in 5.1, else will have to make a switching option since most of the time its going to be music. Don't have a option of taking 2.1 out so have to try out different combinations.
The RCA-3.5mm cable is ready. Will fix the bostons today.
Attached Images
 
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2009, 14:43   #289
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

wherer are you commecting the amp's remote wire? to the PSU or you maiking some switch to turn it on.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2009, 23:08   #290
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Amplifier wire is connected to psu. its got a anti-thump output for amplifiers.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2009, 21:22   #291
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Amplifier wire is connected to psu. its got a anti-thump output for amplifiers.
really!! i got my PSU from iride SB-160 and it does not support powring up the amps :( ..
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 08:39   #292
sdh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 143
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Well, the PSU actually supports amp remote control, but the connector is not miunted. Next to the 3 wires you connect to the car battery, you see empty pads for 2 pin header. One of the pins is 12V for Amp Remote and the other is Ground. If you wire this pin to amp, the PSU ensures that the AMP is switched on a little later and thus avoinding all initial thumps.
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 15:19   #293
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdh View Post
Well, the PSU actually supports amp remote control, but the connector is not miunted. Next to the 3 wires you connect to the car battery, you see empty pads for 2 pin header. One of the pins is 12V for Amp Remote and the other is Ground. If you wire this pin to amp, the PSU ensures that the AMP is switched on a little later and thus avoinding all initial thumps.
i did talk to iride guy but he said this does not supports :(
is any one using sb-160 to power up amps?
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 19:03   #294
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I think both sb-160 and m2 atx 160 are same. may be you can try connecting a multimeter and see if there is any output in it
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 19:16   #295
sdh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 143
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
i did talk to iride guy but he said this does not supports :(
is any one using sb-160 to power up amps?
I have wired it on SB160D and it is working. Do a simple test. Take multimeter and put both probes on the 2 pins. Then power on and check the time taken for 12v to appear.
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 09:46   #296
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I met with an accident and car has gone to workshop for a month. All ice work has stopped now. even the amplifier got hit but was saved due to the plywood on which it was mounted which took the impact.
my amplifier gut pictures as i had to opened it to check the pcb and fix the the damaged speaker terminals.
Regarding the amplifier output do ground the open terminal while connecting the other to amplifier remote turn on.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by gigy : 17th February 2009 at 09:47.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 14:52   #297
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdh View Post
I have wired it on SB160D and it is working. Do a simple test. Take multimeter and put both probes on the 2 pins. Then power on and check the time taken for 12v to appear.
oh this is kool.. i shall check it and update you guys

@ gigy--
its really sad to hear about the accident. but how did it happen?
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 23:58   #298
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Got rear ended by a innova. i though baleno brakes are the worst till now.i managed to stop with minor impact but he could not, now the bill from my pocket alone is estimated at 70k. Happy no one was hurt though.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 18:12   #299
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Got rear ended by a innova. i though baleno brakes are the worst till now.i managed to stop with minor impact but he could not, now the bill from my pocket alone is estimated at 70k. Happy no one was hurt though.
i bet the innova guy dint have good distance or may be looking at some chick around like once i did. bashed a maruti 800 and the that 800 hit a matiz in front of it. wasnt speeding but i never breaked. i was driving fiat sieana.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 01:42   #300
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Please clarify my doubt. when a pc connected to 5.1 speaker setup plays music, which of the speakers are actually playing it? only front two? only front two and sub? or all of them?
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks