Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th March 2009, 01:05   #331
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
There is not DVB-T in India as far as I know.
No, We have DVB-T in India, but not in Bangalore: DVB - Digital Video Broadcasting - India

The channels are: DD 1, DD News, DD Bharati, DD Sports, DD Urdu, DD Bangla, DD Punjabi, and DD Podhigai Tamil

Last edited by ibm_jennifer : 6th March 2009 at 01:08.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 18:12   #332
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

In my home theater setup the center speaker seems to overpower the fronts when playing music.
How about going 8 channel in car. i will have to fix two speakers in the rear doors of baleno. feasible idea or crap?
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 20:25   #333
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
How about going 8 channel in car.
What about the sound stage? You cant experience the surround in small space like a car.

For a car the 4.1 setup will be fine. You can reroute the centre channel to front L+R.

7.1 channel is not even recommended for home, it will work better in a theater environment.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 20:07   #334
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

How will the sound staging work out with center channel give to front LH and RH side? i don't have option of 4.1 in my sound card setup.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 20:10   #335
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

4.1 will be bad for DTS/DD Movies.

But in a Car environment 4.1 sounds good than 5.1 when listening Music. I have tested both for CMSS and ProLogic.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2009, 23:40   #336
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Since nobody is interested in this i have ordered for one piece only for 2200. will let you all know if it works.

hoping for positive reply

you should have let me know sorry for not seeing this thread for three weeks as i am not having the lappy with me ,it's gone and for good this time



you bought this directly ?



do reply asap
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 13:16   #337
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I have not yet installed the radio receiver to confirm its failure but waiting to find a suitable connector for antenna. the default one is not picking up signal.
My segate hard disk has failed due repeat forced shut downs , so replacing it with a WD 250gb one today.
There was this "dwwin.exe" cropping up at each shutdown and kept the pc hanging. fedup when i tried reloading xp, hard disk started to disappear.
I have experienced lot of failures with segate in home pcs ,portables and now in car. no issue with hitachi and WD till date.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 13:32   #338
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Friend,

Invest in a new/used Laptop HDD. They are very good to handle the shock. In Desktop HDD, Old Seagate HDDs are good comparing to 7200.11 & 12 for Car PCs.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 13:38   #339
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

The dead segate was a 2.5 5400rpm sata laptop hard disk on shock mounts. Now i am putting in a WD 2.5 250gb 5400rpm sata hard disk. (the price paid is same for both, Rs2800)
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 18:13   #340
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
I... There was this "dwwin.exe" cropping up at each shutdown and kept the pc hanging. fedup when i tried reloading xp, hard disk started to disappear. ...
No, it is highly unlikely that there is a link between the "dwwin.exe" problem and the HDD failure.

dwwin (Dr.Watson) is just trying to highlight that some of the background tasks (some of those that appear in the System Tray) are taking too long to kill. Could be a virus / worm too. I had the same problem (not shutting down completely) in my laptop (ancient IBM R32) - went away when I thoroughly cleaned it with MSRT, Symantec fixes and running NOD32.

The HDD could have failed due to gradual surface failure too.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 18:24   #341
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,036
Thanked: 386 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
The dead segate was a 2.5 5400rpm sata laptop hard disk on shock mounts. Now i am putting in a WD 2.5 250gb 5400rpm sata hard disk. (the price paid is same for both, Rs2800)
Do not use shock mounts IMHO relying on your cars shock absorver is best.
Reason shock mounts can prolong the vibration so a solid thus lasting a second will be converted to a series of harmonic motions speeding up death of the disk.
I think there is a thread on this too on mp3car.com.

PS : Mount the disk in vertical position such that platter is perpendicular to the plane of car.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 19:58   #342
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
PS : Mount the disk in vertical position such that platter is perpendicular to the plane of car.
this is how my 3.5" HDD is in my carpc and never had a problem. and i've been using it for almost an year now without any problems. and that too in an alto .
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 18:45   #343
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

May be the wrong way i installed the hard disk into the dashboard setup might have initiated its failure(it was flat and trasverse mounted). after a long struggle today managed to stick the new hard disk on the side vertically of indash setup.
Also replugged the speakers to 5.1 setup, center channel is not connected as of now as there is no suitable speaker option for it. How about using Z5500 center in car wired to a sony 222?
There is a slight noise pickup audiable but now i am done with this till next major issue.
Next major issue to be addressed is damping. the whole car.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 19:17   #344
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Friend,

I heard its better to mount the HDD perpendicular to the dashboard (means road cutter) than vertical (As I did in my car pc)

Quote:
Also replugged the speakers to 5.1 setup
Dont forget to provide me a feedback about your 5.1 setup in car against the 4.1

Even I have facilities for 5.1 (with 2 * 4 channel amp and 5 JBL components + One sw) I like the 4.1 than 5.1, May be I am wrong - and waiting for your results.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 20:02   #345
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

This is how the hard disk is installed now.

Regarding FM its hissing and tuning but no station pickup as yet, i will need a powerful antenna and the socket for it. Whats recommended? the standard manual extended one or powered internal or the shark fin types?

With the 5.1 wiring i have got back fader control and subwoofer level control on the move in CF. unfortunately i don't find TA control in xp, remember seeing it in vista.

Moved the gps antenna to roof so its more hidden now. A red master guarded switch for carputer.
that red logo was a attempt to modify swift logo, so not so nice looking i suppose.
Attached Images
         

Last edited by gigy : 7th May 2009 at 20:05.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:16.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks