Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2009, 03:42   #376
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Ccan you please share you bought the INTEL® ATOM™ DUAL CORE - D945GCLF2 for 3300 for the benefit of all of us.
then we can bargain with this fellow on same lines and reduce price of ion boards.
nisarg, let me know if he actually has it in stock

Last edited by gigy : 2nd July 2009 at 03:53.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 04:37   #377
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

gigy, Yes i bought the D945GCLF2 Board, with bill and warranty, he's the only Distributor in my town, and i know him personally for genuine rates and hardware for 10+ years.

pic of Board
Name:  intel1.jpg
Views: 1192
Size:  41.6 KB

I also purchased a UMAX 2GB RAM Stick along.
Name:  DDR_Ram.jpg
Views: 1329
Size:  39.8 KB

I didn't got the box with this one but the Board was sealed in anti-static cover.
Have purchased same board earlier too, pic is somewhere in my past posts.

And I am quite sure, metro cities will have a price less by Rs.50 to Rs.100 from what i Paid.

EDIT: Iam currently online from same motherboard
and windows reports the system to be
x86 Family 6 Model 28 Stepping 2, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL = 6
PROCESSOR_REVISION = 1c02

CPU ID reports the following. Hope this much is enough to prove :-)
Name:  ATOM.jpg
Views: 1226
Size:  51.3 KB

Name:  atom2.jpg
Views: 1150
Size:  37.6 KB

Last edited by ghpk : 2nd July 2009 at 04:57.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:05   #378
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

i am bit confused, but i was refering to dual core atom 330 based one for 5k. ( D945GCLF2). you are having a single core based one or dual core?
D945GCLF is available here for 3.5k approx.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:21   #379
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

its a 2 Core CPU. (corrected)


Last edited by ghpk : 2nd July 2009 at 05:26.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 07:49   #380
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Gigy. Availability of the Zotac is issue. specially ION. techshop.in quoting me same rate. but he doesn't have it in stock.
NewEgg has this board available for 187$. almost 9K INR.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 16:33   #381
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Called them in the morning. They have only single core atom ION board in stock.
For dual core. it will take 3-4 weeks.
I guess i will order it from newegg or dealextreme.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 17:27   #382
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Can anybody help me with information about optical to analog 5.1 converter for pc/home audio with dc 12v power input. i want to run a optical cable to minimise interference in routing audio to boot.
Thanks
An other option available is Alpine MRA-F350 5-channel amplifier which has optical input. but the issue here is will it work with a optical input only, or is a compatable alpine unit compulsory? i didnt find any info on it. if it works i have a cheap and best option.

Last edited by gigy : 17th July 2009 at 17:37.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 19:13   #383
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Isn't that an SPDIF i/f? Shouldn't need another Alpine unit to feed it, it is standards based I suppose? Otherwise they would have to call it "Alpine Optical Bus" or something like that.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2009, 23:24   #384
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

From what i could gather the alpine amplifier needs a alpine player to turn on and control TA EQ etc, then it can take in optical connection from other inputs. so that option is out.
if only i could know the two pin input on it is for normal remote turn on, then pc controls would have been enough for me.

Last edited by gigy : 17th July 2009 at 23:29.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 11:59   #385
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
... alpine amplifier needs a alpine player to turn on and control TA EQ etc, then it can take in optical connection from other inputs. ...
No, not able to understand your expression.

Why should the amp participate in TA, EQ etc.? No matter to control or be controlled, it does not sound logical. The amp should amplify, not otherwise fiddle with the signal. So, it is not expected to do anything to the (digital, audio) signal from the optical connection other than DAC it and amp it. Right? Or am I missing something here?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 13:03   #386
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

These are the Features of the alpine amplifier:

Overview: The MRA-F350 is a five channel Car Theater (as opposed to Home Theater) amplifier designed to power your front (left and right), center, and rear (left and right) speakers, while a preamp output feeds your subwoofer amp. This amp requires a compatible Alpine head unit for set up and control. By itself, the amp offers no stand alone capability. Surround sound processors are built-in and also controlled by the head unit. The following head units include controls for this amp: IVA-D100, IVA-D105, IVA-D106, IVA-D310, IVA-D901, IVA-W200, IVA-W203, IVA-W205, IVA-W505, DVA-9860, DVA-9861, and DVA-9965.

Surround Processors: This amp has three surround sound processors built-in:

* Dolby Digital: Plays Dolby Digital soundtracks in as many as six discrete channels (5.1)
* DTS: Plays DTS soundtracks in as many as six discrete channels (5.1)
* Dolby Pro Logic II: Simulates 5.1 channel playback from a stereo source (CD, FM Radio, etc)

Crossovers: The MRA-F350 has four separate crossovers. All but the low-pass (subwoofer output) can be turned off for full range operation:

* Front left and right (channels 1&2): variable high-pass from 20-200 Hz in 1/3 octave steps, selectable slope of 6, 12, 18, or 24 dB/octave
* Rear left and right (channels 3&4): variable high-pass from 20-200 Hz in 1/3 octave steps, selectable slope of 6, 12, 18, or 24 dB/octave
* Center (channel 5): variable high-pass from 20-400 Hz in 1/3 octave steps, selectable slope of 6, 12, 18, or 24 dB/octave
* Subwoofer (pre-amp out): Variable low-pass from 20-200 Hz in 1/12 octave steps, selectable slope of 6, 12, 18, or 24 dB/octave

Subsonic Filter: In addition to the low-pass crossover, the subwoofer output also has a subsonic filter. The frequency is variable from 20-50 Hz in 1/6 octave steps with a selectable slope of 6, 12, 18, or 24 dB/octave.

Subwoofer Output: The subwoofer output is a line level signal (RCA) with a low-pass crossover and subsonic filter. The phase of the sub output can be reversed; 0° or 180°.

Time Alignment: The built-in surround processors offer time alignment for all six channels (5.1) to compensate for the less than perfect speaker positioning typical in a car. The delay range runs from 0-20 milliseconds in 0.1 ms increments.

Equalizer: The MRA-F350 has a parametric equalizer with a total of 17 bands; five for the front, five for the rear, five for the center, and two for the sub. The center frequencies are adjustable from 20-20 kHz in 1/6 octave steps. The width of the EQ band (Q) can be adjusted to 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5. The adjustment level is +/-9 dB.

Optical Input: The amp has an optical digital (standard Toslink) input for use with digital sources, such as a DVD player, game system, etc.

STAR Topology: Alpine's unique STAR (Signal Transit for Accurate Response) Circuit PCB design provides a single common ground for all amp sub-blocks, preventing ground interference and minimizing internal noise.
Compatibility

Head Unit: The MRA-F350 requires a compatible head unit for setup and control, it cannot be used without one. The current list of compatible head units includes (but is not limited to): IVA-D100, IVA-D105, IVA-D106, IVA-D310, IVA-D901, IVA-W200, IVA-W203, IVA-W205, IVA-W505, DVA-9860, DVA-9861, and DVA-9965.

Inputs and Outputs

Left Side of Amplifier:

* Speaker Outputs: terminal strip outputs for all five speakers; each terminal is 0.338" wide
* Power and Ground: screw terminals for power and ground that will accept up to 8 gauge bare wire (8 gauge recommended); each terminal is 0.338" wide

Right Side of Amplifier:

* Guide Control: 2-pin jack for connecting an outboard controller
* Digital Input: Toslink optical digital input for digital sources (DVD, Game system, etc)
* Changer In: since the amp is connected to the head unit's AI-Net port, a changer is connected to the AI-Net changer input on the amp
* AI-Net: analog signals are input through an AI-Net cable; the amp has no standard RCA inputs
* Guide Input: single RCA input
* Subwoofer: single RCA output

guide control is what i wanted to know about.
Attached Thumbnails
The CarPC / Carputer Thread-mraf350.jpg  


Last edited by gigy : 18th July 2009 at 13:22.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 16:50   #387
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Here is what I inferred from 4 or 5 Alpine manuals. This is a 5V control signal (logic input), signifying "Switch to Nav audio". Switches input to Guide Input (audio coming from a Navigation system) in this case. Seems to be some kind of daisy-chainable logical signal originating from the Nav system, so Nav system can tell HU to switch to Nav audio if connected, HU can relay it to PXA processor or this amp to switch to Nav audio if connected, or NAV or HU or PXA can tell this amp to switch to Nav audio if connected that way.

Last edited by DerAlte : 18th July 2009 at 16:51.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 19:53   #388
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

In case things dont work out i will not be able to resell it, so dropping that idea.
Will this sound card work without a pc if i give it 5v through usb connection? can it just decode the optical input to 5.1?

Sweex - My Digital Life

Sabrent USB-SND8 8-Channel USB 2.0 External 7.1 Sound Box at TigerDirect.com
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 21:09   #389
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Hmmm, brilliant thought. Nothing prevents it from treating the optical input as an Aux-in. Since it is also supposed to be a recorder, it should mix and send at least monitor output to analog audio outputs. And it has to decode the stream from the optical input to do anything with it.

The manual doesn't say anything, so perhaps you could send them a precise question to answer, outlining your objective. Any idea how much do these cost?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2009, 21:28   #390
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 218
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

little thought: with stuff like this available for not very much, do we need to spend large amounts of effort on setting up carputers like we do now?
blacmagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:15.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks