Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd August 2009, 00:56   #436
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

i was looking out for touchscreen of the same design as i have presently. found this at 128$ to be the cheapest deal. how i wish if someone could get it for me.
CL7601NT / CL7601NT / NEWAY RETAIL - Car PC VGA Touch screen TFT LCD Monitor RETAIL SHOPPING

Last edited by gigy : 2nd August 2009 at 00:59.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 07:56   #437
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I had taken my dead kenwood amplifier to their service center in colaba mumbai, they didnt even bother to open it and see, refused straight away tell me that no spares are available for this model.

bought a vga splitter cable(Rs120) 5meter usb cable(Rs70) and a stereo pin cable 5 meter(Rs75) from lamington. Saw a circle mini itx cabinet for 2.5k few shops next to computer selection. except for the red floral print on it looked good finished.

got the usb sound card and 5m long optical cable, didn't work the way i wanted it to. its operation is fine and good audio,delivers 8 channel, delivers 2 channel optical out, but the optical in features only records the audio doesn't play real time.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 15:50   #438
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Hmmm. That means the unit does not by default pipe the streams around in the mixer. There must be a command that has to be given over USB for the on-board controller to connect the optical stream to the mixer.

One would, following conventions, expect the stream sent for recording to be available at the 'monitor' output. Does that happen? That is, when you set the unit to recording, is all the stuff that is going for recording audible at the speaker output?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 17:51   #439
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I tried all possible combination possible using two pc but no luck. the recording is not audible real time. even the bar graph level is not shown. once recorded i am able to playback it. when on Eee pc the optical in option in recording panel is not even selectable. when on my pc its available but no luck with audio output. may be i will need more complicated stuff. As of now the sound card is going into cold storage.

installed the tweeters in front and back.
Attached Images
  
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 23:08   #440
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

It may be a simple one but, I like to know how to show different programs in separate screens.
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2009, 16:29   #441
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I think your mother board should support dual displays or you can use the extended desktop function. you can also add additional VGA card
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 11:44   #442
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

With exams over for the time being,(and kenwood refusing to repair) i decided to open up my dead amplifier and try to do something before discarding it. after a lot of looking at it, finally decided to replace the power mosfets, cost me 580 for the pair. Post replacement it came on, the led flashed green for 5-8 sec and it remained steady for 2-3 second and then went off again.( that color flashing light tells is having output short). why is the stock fuse not blowing? power mosfets have blown again i think. none of the output transistor warmed up, no sound effect also.
i could not locate any short in the outputs. what to do? any reliable source in mumbai who dose repairs?
use the case as next carpc cabinet?
Attached Images
    
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 12:13   #443
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

gigy, any luck with the touchscreen repair?

I think you should now change the title to "most expensive carpc ever", considering the amount of equipment you have bought !!
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 14:06   #444
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Lcd was another story ended in tragedy. Sheldon asked me to wait for a week before he can check, so i went to Lamington and got a 40pin ribbon cable and its connector. connected the ribbon cable and powered using home adapter. it came on for few seconds(full white display) then the back light blew off. opened the lcd assembly and saw the florescent tube blacked out on both sides. the adapter on checking with miltimeter was giving 22v, (its written 12v). chinese Q.C. control.
Have removed the 4 wire touch screen, outer plastic case and dumped rest of the stuff, expecting new lcd today.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 14:29   #445
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Arrey GG, dont blame Chinese QC. 22V is OK OC voltage for a 12V unit - when loaded it comes down to 13-14V. Connect a load and check. Generally PSUs with poor load regulation are like that. If the load that you put was <20% of capacity, the output voltage will be 16-17V - bad enough for the LCD. And don't go by the label Made in China: there are plenty of the wall-PSUs out there which are actually made in India but labelled MiC, as well as actually MiC but labelled MiI. One can make out the difference in finish - generally those made in China have a better finish than ones actually made in India.

Solution is simple - open it and put a 7812 (3-pin reg) at the output if you want to be sure not to get >12V at any time.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 14:43   #446
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I didnt check the CC voltage but anyways that power pack also went along with the lcd dead body. too much of money wasted last month, and i have myself to blame.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 15:00   #447
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

why is bad hapening to your setup. dude i think your setup "ko nazar lag gia". better put some "kala tikka" on your carpc case. lol
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 18:28   #448
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Got the new screen, much smaller than the previous one.
Attached Images
  
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 20:26   #449
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I am not sure how many of you know about it, but I am seriously thinking to buy this as carputer. Most of the features that we are interested would work by default without any additional equipments.
myviliv.com
Let me know your thoughts on this.
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 22:00   #450
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Got the new screen, much smaller than the previous one.
what make is this? and for how much?
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks