Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th March 2010, 11:35   #601
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
post the seller page link, or the product link so others also get help and can order it online.
Just search for Mx-ATX (Replace x with 1,2,3 as per your need) on ebay.com.

I got this M2-ATX DC-DC ATX auto car PC power supply w/P4 cable - eBay (item 170459402655 end time Apr-13-10 18:09:09 PDT)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S.I.N.G.H View Post
but a guy born 19 years back can call a guy born 25 years back 'SIR'.
Nahi yaar. Bhai, mate, dude, dost, yaar are better words.
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 14:52   #602
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

I had a few questions regarding this car PC. They are as follows
  1. I am planning an SPL sort of system which would throw out a lot of bass. This means there would be a lot of vibration inside the car. How would it affect the components of the carputer ?
  2. The power supply I got has a delay to power the amp (anti-thump). What if I need to power 2 amps ?
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 14:43   #603
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I have ripped out the whole carputer setup frustrated with hanging on boot up.
Now running a basic panasonic car stereo setup. two days back i realized all the problem was due to the faulty dvd drive which was also hanging up my netbook. what a waste of efforts and money, but i am missing it now just too lazy to reinstall all back.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 14:52   #604
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
but i am missing it now
Carpc is just an addiction.

once you have it you cant get rid of it. my friend says he will you his carpc from now to any car he buys in future even if he get some car anything between 15-20 lakh.

hope to see your setup running soon.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 17:34   #605
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
Carpc is just an addiction.
True, very true. I am already getting addicted to it even while sourcing the components.

Update 1 : The M2-ATX DC-DC supply arrived at my doorstep the day before. Man it looks sweet.

Update 2 : Visited many shops in Gaffar & even paalika bazaar last weekend but go no luck. After banging my head on mp3car, mo-co-so & various chinese-japanese websites, I ordered the IRV-070GL VGA Touchscreen from iRide.

Reply guys, I am still waiting for your support on the questions posted above!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 18:08   #606
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Dont worry about SPL stuff. nothing will happen to carputer due to it. do the basic installation proper, thats all.
i have run three amplifiers using the anti thump wire, no issues. some amplifiers additionally have a extra remote turn on built-in for use while stacking many amplifiers, so you can look at that angle also.
i would suggest you worry more about the SPL on your ears rather than the components, the damage is irreversible.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 18:14   #607
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
I had a few questions regarding this car PC. They are as follows
  1. I am planning an SPL sort of system which would throw out a lot of bass. This means there would be a lot of vibration inside the car. How would it affect the components of the carputer ?
  2. The power supply I got has a delay to power the amp (anti-thump). What if I need to power 2 amps ?
Sorry no idea about it. but 2.5" HDD can take some of it. Make sure you place other components securely in case.

You can use IC 555 based timer circuit with a 12 volt relay in line to the remote wire of the amplifier and set at about 40 secs. So after giving ignition,amp would start at 40-45 seconds. that's what techfreak have in his carputer and which i am going to do it soon in my carputer.
M2-ATX has Remote Turn On on board. but i have no idea if it will work with 2 AMP together.
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 18:36   #608
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
i have run three amplifiers using the anti thump wire, no issues. some amplifiers additionally have a extra remote turn on built-in for use while stacking many amplifiers
Could you share how you wired the amps to the anti-thump jumper?
The amp I am planning to use has the remote turn on wire which connects to the HU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
You can use IC 555 based timer circuit with a 12 volt relay in line to the remote wire of the amplifier and set at about 40 secs. So after giving ignition,amp would start at 40-45 seconds.
M2-ATX has Remote Turn On on board. but i have no idea if it will work with 2 AMP together.
This went over my head. Mt ain't that good in electronix. But I don't think we would need that as Gigy suggest the remote turn on jumper on the M2-ATX can take care of it!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2010, 19:07   #609
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I directly connected the anti thump wire to two amplifiers and to the powered antenna. I think the current limit is specified in the manual of power supply. also have a check on the amplifiers you intend to use if the mono has extra turn on
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 17:32   #610
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

After listening to FM for a week i realized i was not missing anything important when carputer was running, so the rebuild starts.
This time its the glove compartment. i dont have used it for anything else other than storing xerox copies of car document so its the place now. i know i am lazy but this looks good. the heat from cpu will not heat up the lcd and cause its touch screen to loose control now in hot summer afternoons.
upgrading the display also to a lazy double din kit from iride.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 17:56   #611
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Best of luck Gigy. Do keep us posted!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 18:31   #612
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Unknowingly, I was hijacking B&T's thread on his carputer setup for posting questions about my carputer project. Realising my mistake, I continue the discussion left from there (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...on-help-2.html) on this thread.

Would something like this work for an IR receiver ? eBay India: USB TO IrDA ADAPTER INFRA RED WIRELESS IR Dongle Adapto (item 300413105714 end time 08-Apr-2010 17:54:00 IST)
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 10:51   #613
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
i dont think so because this is for mobile phones only and more over this might not have enough range to detect your remote signal.

and this is for Rs.231 whereas you can make one yourself for not more than Rs. 50-70.

Last edited by monty9991 : 7th April 2010 at 10:52.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 14:12   #614
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Considering the expertise I have with solder & soldering Iron , I have ordered the above. Would re-sell it to a friend if doesn't work!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 16:08   #615
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

you need little experiance on soldering.
or ou can contact some electronic repair shop he will solder for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
Considering the expertise I have with solder & soldering Iron , I have ordered the above. Would re-sell it to a friend if doesn't work!
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks