Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd April 2010, 12:08   #616
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

As expected, that thing did not work .

I'll try making it myself. Monty, could you provide some details about it ?
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 11:41   #617
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 95
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Hey!

Hope I'm posting this in the right thread!

Got a quick question..

Will a 7/8" lcd + a slot Dvd drive fit in the space of a double Din player?

or does one have to mount the drive separately and only the panel in the DIN enclosure?

Thanks!
spyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 13:44   #618
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

You need to place the drive somewhere else, Your LCd itself will occupy you entire 2din slot. BTW, Which car is it?
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 13:45   #619
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
You need to place the drive somewhere else, Your LCd itself will occupy you entire 2din slot. BTW, Which car is it?
and that too only for 7" for 8" you will need some fabrications.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 14:38   #620
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 95
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofmyworld View Post
You need to place the drive somewhere else, Your LCd itself will occupy you entire 2din slot. BTW, Which car is it?


Well no car currently, Jeep.
But was looking at options to get both into a double DIN slot for an OEM look *When* I get a car!
spyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 20:01   #621
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyking View Post
Well no car currently, Jeep.
But was looking at options to get both into a double DIN slot for an OEM look *When* I get a car!
Glad to know that someone thinks like me .

As already suggested, the screen would take up the entire 2-din space. I would recommend you buy a portable USB optical drive & connect it as & when required.

If you absolutely need a fixed optical drive, you can go for a slot load drive which would be easier to install & would look cool!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 16:13   #622
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 95
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Hehe! You can never start planning to early right?


Well I was doing some googling into this and got some dimensions..
A double din is 8" (203.2mm) and the 7" LCD from iride comes to 115mm (IRV-070BY VGA Touchscreen*-*iRide Technologies)

So shouldn't that give enough gap to squeeze in a slot load drive(Amazon.com: Samsung SE-T084M/RSBD External Slim Slot Load USB Lightscribe…) which is 0.8" or 20.32 mm

And also since it's a slot load, doesn't only the slot need to be exposed? we don't really have to expose the entire front bezel of the drive right?

Also, one could slightly tilt the monitor up, as it's going to be operated from either the passenger or the drivers seat, thus giving more space for the drive to be housed along with the LCD!

Anyone with some practical experiences? Cause I sense I'm missing something here!
spyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 22:23   #623
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyking View Post
So shouldn't that give enough gap to squeeze in a slot load drive(Amazon.com: Samsung SE-T084M/RSBD External Slim Slot Load USB Lightscribe…) which is 0.8" or 20.32 mm

And also since it's a slot load, doesn't only the slot need to be exposed? we don't really have to expose the entire front bezel of the drive right?
The point that I am trying to make is that one does not need to fix the optical drive. This avoids un-necessary mods required to the dash to mount it. Keep it portable & use it as & when required, even outside the car!
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2010, 16:32   #624
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 95
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

aah! good point!

Hmm, and I realised where I made my mistake.. the Double DIN is 8" wide and 4" tall :P I soo, it is going to be quite a a squeeze just for the LCD.

Well I thought I could go with the OEM look of the slot+LCD, anyway! Shall think more about this when I get a car
spyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 09:42   #625
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

you can look at these models.
HQCT 1.0 (High Quality Car Tuner) FM Radio

Mp3Car BoomzBox HD Radio USB Controlled AM/FM Tuner

Visteon HDZ300 AM/FM HD Radio Tuner - Centrafuse Carputer, CarPC & UMPC Forums
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 12:18   #626
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

A 7" would easily fit double din unit, there might be space for optical drive also, but would require planning and fabrication.

An 8" does not fit a double din slot, however can still be managed with fabrication.
I have managed to do the same, please look at my thread for details.

IMO, it is better to go with the biggest size screen you can accomodate in the dash. Even a 7" to 8" change helps a lot.
You would really not need to use optical drive so much when you have a carputer with all the music ripped into the HDD
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 18:58   #627
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Sorry for the duplicate posts, was posting from my mobile. Mods please delete it.

You can see how 8" fits (or rather does not fit) in a two din slot, with actual pictures and how I made it fit here on this page... That should help you a lot.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...arputer-5.html

But it did involve lot of work with care and patience. It is very easy for one to end up being little careless and end up with a non functional LCD!

Last edited by ST7677 : 21st May 2010 at 19:02.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2010, 02:51   #628
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

$ 200+ for FM radio . Sorry bro, can't afford that as of now.

Hows radioshark ?
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2010, 13:10   #629
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 95
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Sorry for the duplicate posts, was posting from my mobile. Mods please delete it.

You can see how 8" fits (or rather does not fit) in a two din slot, with actual pictures and how I made it fit here on this page... That should help you a lot.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...arputer-5.html

But it did involve lot of work with care and patience. It is very easy for one to end up being little careless and end up with a non functional LCD!

Your thread was the inspiration for the in dash LCD + slot drive while trying to maintain the OEM look!

I'm pretty sure it can be done with a little thought and a lot of patience.. Will tackle it when I get to that stage!

If someone else is looking to do the same, pl document it with lots of WIP pics!

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict
The point that I am trying to make is that one does not need to fix the optical drive. This avoids un-necessary mods required to the dash to mount it. Keep it portable & use it as & when required, even outside the car!
I was just thinking why I wanted the optical drive in the first place..
It's mainly for the times a friend wants to play his music which is mostly on cds/dvds.. In that case, a nice slot loader mounted in the center console it self will be uber cool!
spyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2010, 21:35   #630
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

You can still have the optical disk drive in your carputer case, just that you won't be needing it that often and don't need to have it upfront.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks