Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th July 2010, 18:16   #676
BHPian
 
bullboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 577
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Gigy, Hope your issues are solved .Would love to see some installed pics.
Also if possible pls do give a price break up.
bullboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 23:13   #677
Senior - BHPian
 
m4ugr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

I need help with the GPS on Centrafuse. What maps should I use?? Will these maps from Satguide work with Centrafuse Navigation software??

Satguide Provide The Best Gps Software For Laptops And Mobile Phones
m4ugr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 00:11   #678
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Manan. yes above maps will work in centrafuse. copy the map folder to you CF folder. And change the map in centrafuse.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 01:10   #679
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
Manan. yes above maps will work in centrafuse. copy the map folder to you CF folder. And change the map in centrafuse.
What about MMI maps. I heard they got better coverage
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 11:06   #680
Senior - BHPian
 
m4ugr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetAddict View Post
What about MMI maps. I heard they got better coverage
Yup, what about MapmyIndia, they have better coverage for sure, i am usingba MMI device in my other car and it works well.

Also i am having problems with my bluetooth and phone connectivity, i am using CF2, i get a bluetooth not found error, i have upgraded to the latest version of bluesoleil, still the problem exist, how do i like bluesoleil to centrafuse??

Last edited by m4ugr8 : 14th July 2010 at 11:09.
m4ugr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2010, 10:37   #681
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

There isnt any plugin available of MMI for CF. but Garmin and Sygic Plugins are available for download.
Manan why dont you try latest version of centrafuse 3.1. Which bluettoth dongle are you using ?
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2010, 10:48   #682
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4ugr8 View Post
Yup, what about MapmyIndia, they have better coverage for sure, i am usingba MMI device in my other car and it works well.

Also i am having problems with my bluetooth and phone connectivity, i am using CF2, i get a bluetooth not found error, i have upgraded to the latest version of bluesoleil, still the problem exist, how do i like bluesoleil to centrafuse??
Donot upgrade to the latest blurtooth stack. CF wont work properly with the latest verson. You need to stick with the bluetooth stack supplied along with the CF installation file.try using a different dongle. See if that helps.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2010, 01:11   #683
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
There isnt any plugin available of MMI for CF. but Garmin and Sygic Plugins are available for download.
I think I'll have to stick to Satguide then. Do we need to download some plugin for that SatGuide maps to work on centrafuse? If yes, could you share a link.
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2010, 01:15   #684
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

No need to download plugins for satguide maps. Inbuilt Desinator engine will work with satguide maps. i am going to try Garmin plugins with Indian maps. lets see how it works.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2010, 01:33   #685
Senior - BHPian
 
m4ugr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

GPS Issue sorted out, got satguide maps. Simple copy paste into the centrafuse folder, One map covering the entire country and highway network,works like a charm. Thank You nisarg86.

Bluetooth issue also sorted, Re-installed the Bluetooth Stack which is compatible with Centrafuse had deleted it accidentally. I am using a Belkin Bluetooth dongle.
m4ugr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 18:41   #686
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullboy View Post
Gigy, Hope your issues are solved .Would love to see some installed pics.
Also if possible pls do give a price break up.
Many of the items were carried forwarded from baleno.
new items are lcd with double din frame 18k
trim ring Rs.350
motherboard 1.9k
intel cpu e5400 3.1k
took out two ram chips from htpc to power this boards dual ram slot.
a octavia rear window heater switch 1.9k to power up/down carputer

old items
m3 power supply
reverse camera
5 channel amplifier
illusions el5.1 in rear
a slim pc cabinet
fm receiver
gps receiver
belkin usb hub( yet to be installed ,5v power supply to be made)

panel gaps remain even after installing trim ring. thinking of using black rtv and finishing it off.
Attached Images
      
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 21:43   #687
BHPian
 
COUGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 538
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

I am half-way through my own carputer build (detailed post on another thread next week).

I am using a ZOTAC MAG for the basic CPU and want to replace the stock 19V AC-DC Power Supply with a automotive DC-DC supply.

the 160W unit from iride says that it can provide a stable 160W over a range of voltages from 6-32v. Would this do the job?

The smaller 100W unit from iride does the same in a voltage range of 6-18v. Would this suffice?

Last edited by COUGAR : 5th September 2010 at 21:48.
COUGAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 09:52   #688
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

There is 19v output dc to dc converter for automobiles computer use, cant remember the brand. might be carnetix or something similar. it provides steady 19v in all conditions.

If your motherboard will accept 12v in then you can use those from iride. check the current rating of cpu and chose one with similar rated 12v rail.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2010, 21:43   #689
BHPian
 
bullboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 577
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

hi guys,
Considering that PSU is a bit expensive stuff here ,how about purchasing it from abroad and carrying it here .i did a quick search in ebay.uk and found that M2-atx is almost 45% cheaper. How about purchasing and carrrying it through a friend? But will this cause any security clearance issues (i,e carrying an electronic circuit in baggage) and any idea of customs duty to pay.
Car PC DC-DC 160W 8V-28V Mini-ITX M2 ATX Power PSU 12V on eBay (end time 01-Nov-10 18:20:06 GMT)
bullboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 00:32   #690
BHPian
 
StreetAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 195
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

So, bought the map upgrade from Satguide. Works like a charm. Only issue is that it does not have the voice prompts that I can add. Any idea fellas ?
StreetAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tablet or Smartphone as a CarPC (Carputer): Things to watch out for malgudi In-Car Entertainment 5 27th October 2014 17:42
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23
Streetaddict's CarPC/Carputer StreetAddict In-Car Entertainment 22 12th November 2010 01:50
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks