Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th March 2008, 03:47   #91
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk456 View Post
hx d2-------no mp3....for sure
OT.

Hi sk,


Sk, how much did you buy the HU for? does it have an xo and eq? iirc, your HU doesn't have an xo but im confused about the eq part. what about mp3? sorry for asking too many questions.

oh, i will google the info if i can find something.

cheers.

P.S. - A lengthy audition is due sk. im gonna visit delhi soon and it will be an audio only trip. No distractions lol. I did listen to your setup for a few minutes but it would have been great if i had the time.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 08:56   #92
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Angry Sir please take a look at my earlier post - 5 / 6 up....

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
Bhagwan,

The Alpine 9887, pioneer p880 can do 3 way active. i.e. High, Mid, low. you can do a 2 way front plus sub.

The clarion hU has 4 pairs of preouts. It can't play mp3 or any other compressed format. it only plays Audio cds. Plus it doesn't have a built in amp. I dont know if the pio has it. the 9887 has an internal amp which can be switched off.
You are partially correct;

The Alpines cannot do active.

The Clarion can.

If I may explain [try].
In any active set up, you need 2 things.
Individual Amplification for each driver & Active [veriable] X-Over.

This I think the Clarion offers. The Alpine does not.

I have posted what is needed, 5 to 6 posts above, please do take a look.

Thanks,

BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:00   #93
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
Hi sk,
Sk, how much did you buy the HU for? does it have an xo and eq? iirc, your HU doesn't have an xo but im confused about the eq part. what about mp3? sorry for asking too many questions.
Clip, I reckon you are asking about SKs HU, the Kenwood K-CD01. No, its doesn't do anything apart from playing audio CDs to the best of its capability. No MP3, No EQ, No XO. It does have 3 full range preouts, of which one pair is a sub out. It only does level control on the sub out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
You are partially correct;

The Alpines cannot do active.

The Clarion can.

This I think the Clarion offers. The Alpine does not.
Sir actually Clip is right. The Alpine 9887 CAN do 3way active. You have a switch (under the HU IIRC) that you have to select to the active position. Then when you power up, the menus will change to an active setup menu. The Pioneer P80 also does this in a similar fashion.

Last edited by gunbir : 28th March 2008 at 09:03.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:04   #94
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Unhappy Knew - but never used !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
You dont know about HX-D2..that is strange. Anyways here is some info about it...

Clarion India | HX-D2

Clarion HX-D2 Head Unit : Equal to McIntosh/Nakamichi/Pioneer P9 etc? - Talk Audio Forums

Ya with Steg amps the possibility are endless
Sir,

I knew about it, but had never used it.

Actually I was planning an 'active' re-install of my RS.

Things may be a bit 'stressed' financially.
If things get better, I will go active on the fronts of the RS.
The amplifier cost gets prohibitive.

Maybe, I will buy an Audison VX & replace a Steg from the I-10 & put that Steg in the RS & go active. However, I do not have plave for another amp in the RS. There are 3 of them & it is rather packed.

Actually, I have so much of car audio gear lying around, If I could just sell it all off -40 to 50 % off] I may be in a position to generate some funds.

Fingers are X-ed.

Truthfully my new CD Plaer has landed in ND - yesterday & I shall have to pay for it next week & that is robbing me of my sleep !!!
BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:16   #95
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Wink I will check this out !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Sir actually Clip is right. The Alpine 9887 CAN do 3way active. You have a switch (under the HU IIRC) that you have to select to the active position. Then when you power up, the menus will change to an active setup menu. The Pioneer P80 also does this in a similar fashion.
Thanks Gunbir;

I shall check this out.

This may sound stupid, off the hat, so please do pardon;
If the HU has only 3 rca pre outs, how can one send different signals to different power amps to drive different drive units ?

You see, in the Clarion HU, there are many RCA outs for the 'active config'
How is this done in the Alpine HU ?
Please do try and explain.

Mind you, I still have not checked the 9887 out 'completely' !
So there is room for improvement - for me i.e.

Thanks !
BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:25   #96
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
If the HU has only 3 rca pre outs, how can one send different signals to different power amps to drive different drive units ?

You see, in the Clarion HU, there are many RCA outs for the 'active config'
How is this done in the Alpine HU ?
Please do try and explain.
Sir, the main difference here being that the Clarion can do 4way active and the Alpine 9887, 3way. As you rightly pointed out, with the Clarion, you have 8 channels to play with. While in the Alpine, you only have 6 channels.

Clarion HX-D2 - High, Mid, Low, Sub (front 3way + sub)
In "Normal" mode, the Clarion is configured for Front + Rear + Sub + Full Range. When you select "Network" mode from the setup menu, it converts into 4way active as above. There is also a "Direct" mode for purists where the DSP is switched off and the HU goes full range on all preouts.

Alpine 9887 - High, Mid, Low (front 3way / front 2way + sub)
As mentioned earlier, select active at the switch, and your menus convert to active 3way.

Last edited by gunbir : 28th March 2008 at 09:32.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:35   #97
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Wink Small Clarification - Please............

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Alpine 9887 - High, Mid, Low (front 3way / front 2way + sub)
Sir,

Thanks.

Small clarification - please.

The Alpine HU has 3 RAC's out. i.e. 6 channels.
Now, suppose I have 1 set of components in the front & 1 set of components in the back & 2 subs. This will work.

However, what if I want to remove the passive x-over & make the set up active ?
I will need 2 RCA's for the front left & 2 RCA's for the front right. Correct ?
Same for the back componenets.
That means that my 2 components [front & back] will need 8 RCA outs. My Sub's will still be left.
Besides, I need to work on the X-Over for the components [without passive network] The frequency & the slope etc. Will the Alpine give me all this flexibility ? I am not so sure.

The Alpine HU is for an average to semi serious CAR AUDIO enthusiast. I feel. I like it, price to performance is great, but is not an out and out performer.

cheers:
BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 09:47   #98
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
However, what if I want to remove the passive x-over & make the set up active ?
I will need 2 RCA's for the front left & 2 RCA's for the front right. Correct ?
Same for the back componenets.
That means that my 2 components [front & back] will need 8 RCA outs. My Sub's will still be left.
Besides, I need to work on the X-Over for the components [without passive network] The frequency & the slope etc. Will the Alpine give me all this flexibility ? I am not so sure.
If you go active with this HU I'm afraid rear fill will have to be abandoned. The HU will only do fronts and sub. And though you can parallel the HUs preouts to multiple amps for a front and rear active setup (even if you you can live with front and rear having same xo, slopes), you will lose out on time alignment. Of course, you can always go active from your amps.

But, if you want to go active with your HU, pretty much forget active rear fill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
The Alpine HU is for an average to semi serious CAR AUDIO enthusiast. I feel. I like it, price to performance is great, but is not an out and out performer.
Exactly.

Last edited by gunbir : 28th March 2008 at 10:01.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 10:55   #99
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
I will go active on the fronts of the RS.
The amplifier cost gets prohibitive.
maybe if you use 5-6 channel amps you can manage. remember the tweeter amp need not be big power.

1 2 ch. amp 150-200W x 2 x 4 ohms for subs
1. 4 ch. amp 75-100W x 4 x 4 ohms for midbasses (front and rear)
1. 6 ch. amp 40-50W x 6 x 4 ohms for front mid and tweeter and rear tweeter

If your fronts are 2 way 2 x 5ch. amps can do the job. there are many 5 ch. amps that can drive a subs at 150-200W and 4 more channels at 50-75W.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Actually, I have so much of car audio gear lying around, If I could just sell it all off -40 to 50 % off] I may be in a position to generate some funds.
we have a section for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
The Alpine HU has 3 RAC's out. i.e. 6 channels.
Now, suppose I have 1 set of components in the front & 1 set of components in the back & 2 subs. This will work.

However, what if I want to remove the passive x-over & make the set up active ?
If you are using the Alpine you will have to go active at the amp end. however few multi channel amps (4-6 ch.) have TA built in. Gunbir and B&T might be able to list those that do.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 13:34   #100
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Gunbir, even the HX-D2 i think cannot do front, rear and sub active. Can you list any other Hu that can do 4-way active?

Navinji,

The Audison Vrx and the steg k series have optional Ta modules. Don't know about others.

cheers
clip

Last edited by clipto333 : 28th March 2008 at 13:37.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 14:02   #101
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Thumbs down T.A. Module ??? I am lost !!!

Dear Navin & Clipto,

I am lost;

What does a TA module have to do with set up a ICE in active mode ?
Can you please throw some light ? Please.

We are talking about HU's that can run speakers [components] in an active manner [without a passive x-over]. We do not need to run the components bi-amplified. We need to talk about HU's that can run the speakers through amplifiers and have active x-over in them.

TA is a funstion of tuning the bass in a car. The Arrival of different frequencies at a specified destination [location] !!

You guys have confused me; Please do shed some light.....

Thanks.

BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 15:57   #102
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
What does a TA module have to do with set up a ICE in active mode ?
Can you please throw some light ? Please.

We are talking about HU's that can run speakers [components] in an active manner [without a passive x-over].

TA is a funstion of tuning the bass in a car.
I think what you seem to be looking for is a HU that has LPF out and HPF out for front and rear as well as a sub out. so in effect you need 10 RCA outs (or atleast 9 if we consider a mono sub). To behonest I dont thik such a HU exists. I believe that if one really is looking for this level of funtionality one needs a 2 box solution with a HU having 5-6 RCA out and a processor that does the time alignment, x-crossover, and eq functions. Alpine, Pio and I am sure others have such solutions.

My contention is/was that if we can have 9-10 RCA outs why not have TA not only between the sub and the front speakers but also between the midbass and tweeter (sort of like a ladder network used to align tweeters with midwoofers in home audio 2 way speakers). The advantage of this would be that one could delay the tweeter (which is usually mounted closer to the ear) to be aligned with the woofer.

If however you are only looking for Xover funtionality (in the HU) I would do what Gunbir suggested: let the amp do this.

There are many amps (4-5-6 ch. amps) that can accept a fullrange (or almost full range) signal and XO it into a HPF and LPF before amplifiying the same and driving individual woofers and tweeters. I think Steg and Audison both do this. If Clip is right then you can do the TA at the amps too!
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 17:00   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
steg k series have optional Ta modules.
Steg K series does not have TA modules..
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 17:08   #104
BHPian
 
BHAGWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai - Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 7 Times
Exclamation Correct !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Steg K series does not have TA modules..
Spot on Sir !

I am still lost;
Why are we discussing TA on an Active Install thread ?

Most guys here are talking about Bi Amplification of Speakers, not Active Amplification of Components with Active X-Overs !!!!
BHAGWAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2008, 17:15   #105
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Spot on Sir !

I am still lost;
Why are we discussing TA on an Active Install thread ?

Most guys here are talking about Bi Amplification of Speakers, not Active Amplification of Components with Active X-Overs !!!!
I think they are presumming that if one is going active he or she will do TA.

I think this is what Godji is asking for.

Question about going *Active*-active-install.jpg
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going to Manali. Question on bike rentals xxaarraa Route / Travel Queries 20 7th April 2017 10:43
LML going up or going down??? devarshi84 Motorbikes 10 7th August 2009 01:32
Bugatti going crazy 275 mph 1250hp going Veyron GT.. 1Day The International Automotive Scene 24 4th March 2009 18:14
Connecting an active sub without Pre-amp out epyupc In-Car Entertainment 18 25th April 2006 21:27
Most active Bhp'ian Surprise Shifting gears 13 24th May 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks