Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th January 2008, 22:03   #1
BHPian
 
rajivanoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 398
Thanked: 45 Times
Default Pioneer Head Unit Errors. Error 11 and error 17 in pioneer MP3

i bought a car which had pioneer Mp3 player. it was working fine. but now when i inserted a cd , it says ' format read' and after somtime, it says error 11

i thought its cd problem, and got another cd and played. it recognised it , i think. and the time duration of song started counter, but no audio. the speaker was intact. then i ejected and re inserted cd. then it said error 17 and sumtimes error 11..what must be the problem?

is it cd's fault or head unit fault? i have checked with two cds which i burnt the cd in MP3 format and another in data disc format. but both gives prob. the same cd is working fine in home DVD..
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2008, 10:26   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivanoj View Post
i bought a car which had pioneer Mp3 player. it was working fine. but now when i inserted a cd , it says ' format read' and after somtime, it says error 11

i thought its cd problem, and got another cd and played. it recognised it , i think. and the time duration of song started counter, but no audio. the speaker was intact. then i ejected and re inserted cd. then it said error 17 and sumtimes error 11..what must be the problem?

is it cd's fault or head unit fault? i have checked with two cds which i burnt the cd in MP3 format and another in data disc format. but both gives prob. the same cd is working fine in home DVD..
Not very clear from your description whether the second CD that you played was another data CD containing MP3 songs or it was an audio CD.

First, check if your HU (Pioneer MP3 player) plays a conventional audio CD properly. This will establish whether CD reading mechanism is OK or not. If not, take the HU to a repair shop - they can replace the lens or the mechanism, whichever is faulty.

If the audio CD plays OK, buy an MP3 compilation CD from a music store and check if that plays properly. If it does, then your CD burning is suspect.

There is nothing called "cd in MP3 format" - what exactly did you do?

Home DVD players support many CD formats (Joliet, ISO9660, etc.), so playing on that player or PC will not prove anything.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2008, 10:38   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Dippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7,269
Thanked: 164 Times
Default

I had this problem in my earlier Pioneer HU. Your lens is gone. You need to get it replaced.
Dippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2008, 19:30   #4
BHPian
 
rajivanoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 398
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

i have used other data cd which played once today....and once i switch off and on again..it shows error 17 and after several tries like eject and reload, and switch off and on again etc...sumtimes its detected and plays....

what prob it might be??

disc is also not that much bad scratched...it may be the dust on lens??? or any other prob???
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2008, 21:51   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,975
Thanked: 16,772 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivanoj View Post
i have used other data cd which played once today....and once i switch off and on again..it shows error 17 and after several tries like eject and reload, and switch off and on again etc...sumtimes its detected and plays....

what prob it might be??

disc is also not that much bad scratched...it may be the dust on lens??? or any other prob???
I'm having same problem and getting fed up with it! Please help.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 14th January 2008 at 21:52.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2008, 22:11   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR View Post
I'm having same problem and getting fed up with it! Please help.
This is with your brand new 4050 ?

s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2008, 22:56   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,975
Thanked: 16,772 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
This is with your brand new 4050 ?

I bought a brand new 4050? Cool, i never knew!

Its actually a 1- year old pioneer HU (Got to check the model)
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 10:19   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR View Post
I bought a brand new 4050? Cool, i never knew!

Its actually a 1- year old pioneer HU (Got to check the model)
Sorry that was BaCkSeAtDrIVeR.

Similar names and sImILaR sTyLeS sO I kInD oF gOt CoNfUsEd
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 13:37   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

The lens also stop working when dust settles on it. Try getting your HU service it might help.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 16:58   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

Check the Pio manual for the description of these error codes(My manual is at home) But error 11 is something that I encounter with some of my CDs Also I face this especially with my re-writable CD.

Dont think anything is wrong with the player but rather with the way the cd has been recorded(speed etc) & yes even in my case the error-11 cds run fine with home/pc CD/DVD players
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 19:48   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Hyd
Posts: 1,235
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

its the loading problem.

read this thread:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...h-p7450mp.html
kkr2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 11:20   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default



Get your HU serviced.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 10:00   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Check the Pio manual for the description of these error codes(My manual is at home) But error 11 is something that I encounter with some of my CDs Also I face this especially with my re-writable CD.

Dont think anything is wrong with the player but rather with the way the cd has been recorded(speed etc) & yes even in my case the error-11 cds run fine with home/pc CD/DVD players
I agree. I used to get Error 11/13/17 with RW CDs and when I checked the manual, it seems that these problems arise if the CD is not finalized (There is an option in Nero CD Burning to finalize CDRWs. Use that).
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 22:22   #14
BHPian
 
rajivanoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 398
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Hi friendss, my HU is working now..i gave it for service, and he said there might be dust on lens, and he cleaned and charged me Rs.400/- and i gave 350... but he was frank that he didnt change any spares, he told he jus cleaned the unit..

he advised me to be careful in future , since pioneer lens costs around Rs.1300/- that too chinese make . and wont give that much output as original. so...i hav to be careful...
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 00:10   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivanoj View Post
he advised me to be careful in future , since pioneer lens costs around Rs.1300/- that too chinese make . and wont give that much output as original. so...i hav to be careful...

From what ? Lens change
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help in installing the Pioneer head unit(5950) in the dashboard(ac contols) Pras_gethigh In-Car Entertainment 3 27th February 2009 00:38
Front detachable face plate of Pioneer head unit stolen bkm In-Car Entertainment 4 1st December 2008 21:02
Pioneer 5750 Head Unit neverclever In-Car Entertainment 4 14th June 2005 07:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks