Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2008, 15:36   #31
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

I am going to put a Finolex subwoofer in my car. Then I'll show you silly fellows.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 16:05   #32
BHPian
 
vebmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 789
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
But if one got typical multistrand power cable that was as flexible and had the same grade of copper as the power cable used in audio it would work just as good.
How much would this cost? (i.e. for installing one 4 Ch amp, 60W x 4 RMS driving 2 front components and one 12" sub).
vebmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 17:17   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,221
Thanked: 1,167 Times
Default

Err pardon me but why is everyone recommending monster? Atleast for home audio, monster cable is overpriced generic crap. Are they any good for car audio?
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 17:29   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vebmetal View Post
How much would this cost? (i.e. for installing one 4 Ch amp, 60W x 4 RMS driving 2 front components and one 12" sub).
8 gauge is more than sufficient in your case(as long as you dont plan to do any serious amp upgrades). So you need to purchase 10sq mm of any good brand of household cable.

Do a search it's been discussed as much as Bhajji's supposed abuses.

Recommended Power and Ground Cable Sizes
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 22:58   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I am going to put a Finolex subwoofer in my car. Then I'll show you silly fellows.
where are the links Sam Bhai. We all at T-bhp wanna see.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 11:10   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I am going to put a Finolex subwoofer in my car. Then I'll show you silly fellows.
You mean bus-bar right?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 11:33   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reginofchaos
Err pardon me but why is everyone recommending monster? Atleast for home audio, monster cable is overpriced generic crap. Are they any good for car audio?
Cannot more agree with you. But I think the suggestions are based on the fact that if you can get it for the price of crap, get it.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 12:47   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I am going to put a Finolex subwoofer in my car. Then I'll show you silly fellows.
Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
You mean bus-bar right?
What a fitting reply!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2009, 18:06   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
Mi10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 974
Thanked: 1,455 Times
Default

First things first, the 3 page of gyan just refused to get into my head.

and now to my question

My Amp's (RF Prime 500.1) recommended Power wire Gauge are 4 AWG and Speaker wire gauge are 8 AWG.

Can i use a 1/0 AWG kit for the Power wire. (assuming that i use 8 AWG for speakers)

If yes, will it harm my Amp or Sub in any way ?

Thanks in advance
Mi10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2009, 21:39   #40
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 393
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi10 View Post

Can i use a 1/0 AWG kit for the Power wire. (assuming that i use 8 AWG for speakers)

If yes, will it harm my Amp or Sub in any way ?

Thanks in advance
Mi10, what you are asking is essentially this:

My wife's mother recommended a 18 karat gold necklace. Can I get a 22 carat necklace for my wife? If yes, will it harm her neck in any way?

Now go figure
greenh0rn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2009, 21:41   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

If the recommended wire gauge is 4 gauge then why you want to use a 0 gauge wire ?

If you are running more then 2 amps on the same cable say about 1kw load then 2 gauge wire will work you can use the 0 gauge cable also incase you are planning a bigger amp/amps in near future. Use this cable till the D.Block, From there you can use a 4 gauge cable to hook the amps.

For speaker and sub wiring use 14 gauge for speaker and 12 gauge for sub-woofer.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2009, 22:42   #42
BHPian
 
somebodystopme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 502
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenh0rn View Post
Mi10, what you are asking is essentially this:

My wife's mother recommended a 18 karat gold necklace. Can I get a 22 carat necklace for my wife? If yes, will it harm her neck in any way?

Now go figure

LOL nice one buddy. Howz you??

@mi10. You can use any 25sqmm cable in place of 4AWG (which is exactly 21sqmm) available in your local electrical market take 6-7 Meter of the cable should suffice. There shouldnt be no harm even if you use 0AWG which is approx 50sqmm. Just the cost of cable increases.
Cheers.
somebodystopme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 00:04   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenh0rn View Post
Mi10, what you are asking is essentially this:

My wife's mother recommended a 18 karat gold necklace. Can I get a 22 carat necklace for my wife? If yes, will it harm her neck in any way?

Now go figure
LOL nice one

Quote:
Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
For speaker and sub wiring use 14 gauge for speaker and 12 gauge for sub-woofer.
For speakers 14 (2 mmsq) gauge is good but for the sub I would not use anything below 10 (5 mmsq) gauge. I am using 8 gauge my self (8 mmsq) it help in keeping the damping factor high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by somebodystopme View Post
LOL nice one buddy. Howz you??

@mi10. You can use any 25sqmm cable in place of 4AWG (which is exactly 21sqmm) available in your local electrical market take 6-7 Meter of the cable should suffice. There shouldnt be no harm even if you use 0AWG which is approx 50sqmm. Just the cost of cable increases.
Cheers.
Very true.

I think he is saying 1/0 that is 70mmsq that would be overkill. 0 gauge (50 mmsq) that is more than enough for even three amps.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 00:27   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
but for the sub I would not use anything below 10 (5 mmsq) gauge. I am using 8 gauge my self (8 mmsq)......
I think you wanted to say use anything below 10 gauge.

Quote:
that is more than enough for even three amps.
What if the 3 amps are rated at 1000 to 1500 wrms each .

Last edited by karankapoor : 13th November 2009 at 00:28.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 01:11   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
I think you wanted to say use anything below 10 gauge.

Yes, In gauge lower is thick and in MM it is done via cross-section area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by karankapoor;
What if the 3 amps are rated at 1000 to 1500 wrms each .
If the amps are lets take 1250 rms and take them as d-class becasue class ab high wattage amps are rare so there final load would be 1250 / 0.9 -> 1388 watts and that woud be 1388 watts / 12 volts -> 115 amps. So for three amps it would be 346 amps...Hmm YES it can work very fine. Also in Car amps the current rating is not continous duty like in industrial applications. So the wires can be a bit overrated.

Here is a chart for the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
This will help:

In the above photos the 1/0 wire is take which is 53 mmsq which can take 350 amps so 70 mmsq would surely take much more. Also the amp taken above is a Class AB which are 50 % efficient. But Class D are more efficient in range of 80-90 %.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Interconnect cables. need help. clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 15 30th July 2007 16:45
Malfunctioning cables, help honda_dude Modifications & Accessories 1 12th March 2007 17:09
Start battery dead cars without jumper cables using static electricity revvedup Technical Stuff 23 25th February 2007 00:13
15" alloys & tyres, K&N conical filter, Iridium plugs and Splitfire cables for sale. karthik247 Shifting gears 9 24th January 2007 20:33
How to determine what size Power Cables for ICE? Answers inside... gunbir In-Car Entertainment 96 8th May 2006 11:34


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks