Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th July 2008, 17:29   #61
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,728
Thanked: 7,889 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Wont the remote at 10 O'Clock be better?
, 7'oclock is very uncomfortable.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 18:13   #62
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
, 7'oclock is very uncomfortable.
Practical problem, there is a hump at 10'o clock in the steering wheel for a sporty grip, so cannot mount the remote there. I agree the ideal position is 9 or 10, but this is quite fine as well. Anyway I don't have other options.
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 19:39   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

That's not for a sporty grip. That is a convention, much like the dimples on F and J keys on a keyboard: the 10 past 10 locations on the steering wheel are ergonomically and safety wise the best locations to grip the steering wheel.

Just below the left hump should be the best position for the remote.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 20:23   #64
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
That's not for a sporty grip. That is a convention, much like the dimples on F and J keys on a keyboard: the 10 past 10 locations on the steering wheel are ergonomically and safety wise the best locations to grip the steering wheel.

Just below the left hump should be the best position for the remote.
Sporty or not sporty, it sure feels like a sporty grip for me. Also the reason why the remote should not be mounted there at 10'o clock.

Have a close look at the Civic wheel, there is no space to mount below the left hump because the spoke comes there. 7'o clock or at the most 8'o clock is the only feasible position

And, am not alone, the Scorpio M Hawk audio controls are 7'o clock position as standard, yippee, I've got company

Last edited by dinu2506 : 7th July 2008 at 20:34. Reason: Addition
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2008, 23:35   #65
BHPian
 
kedarwalke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 438
Thanked: 459 Times
Default

How much did you pay for the console...I heard its quite expensive.Well very neat job...one of a kind.....
Cheers
kedarwalke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 01:46   #66
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,350
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Really neat setup. The remote is in the right location. The Civic steering is quite small and anywhere else will be a hinderance. You should get used to it in a few days.
csentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 13:45   #67
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kedarwalke View Post
How much did you pay for the console...I heard its quite expensive.Well very neat job...one of a kind.....
Cheers
Thanks. The console was Rs 9500 when I bought it. I guess it has come down now. I agree it is quite expensive, But I did not have a choice.
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 13:47   #68
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csentil View Post
Really neat setup. The remote is in the right location. The Civic steering is quite small and anywhere else will be a hinderance. You should get used to it in a few days.
Yes, I feel so as well. Its quite ergonomic
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 16:58   #69
BHPian
 
spider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 125
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

congrats fr ur set up.its neat and very nicely done. Good to see that u are very serious bout ur system.I would love to check it up some day..
Congrats again.
karan
spider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 17:21   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

The console/dash kit costs about 6k now.
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 19:24   #71
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider77 View Post
congrats fr ur set up.its neat and very nicely done. Good to see that u are very serious bout ur system.I would love to check it up some day..
Congrats again.
karan
Thanks Karan, give me a buzz anytime and you can check it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvd View Post
The console/dash kit costs about 6k now.
Don't make me sad. My 3.5K gone
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 19:34   #72
BHPian
 
GreenmachinE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Salem
Posts: 84
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

9500 for the console . Its looks like component made from ABS plastic with a layer of coat, which would cost around 200 - 500 to manufacture and max 40 k to tool. That's some milking.
GreenmachinE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008, 08:15   #73
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenmachinE View Post
9500 for the console . Its looks like component made from ABS plastic with a layer of coat, which would cost around 200 - 500 to manufacture and max 40 k to tool. That's some milking.
Bang on. Clear case of a sellers market. Thought of initially trying out a fibreglass mould, but there were too many curves and creases, I did not want to spoil the swooping look of the dash.
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2008, 16:42   #74
BHPian
 
kedarwalke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 438
Thanked: 459 Times
Default

But the double din in your civic stands out completely from the rest.Also the honda guys should fit a double din with their high end Sedans.
kedarwalke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2008, 16:17   #75
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kedarwalke View Post
But the double din in your civic stands out completely from the rest
Did that mean, it looks good or does it mean it looks out of place?
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda Civic - ICE upgrade advice dinu2506 In-Car Entertainment 65 18th February 2014 06:44
My Civic Mods + cool DIYs + Kiwi OBD tool + ICE upgrade = Awesomeness! dynomite DIY - Do it yourself 14 29th July 2012 13:43
Honda City Vs Honda Civic E Vs Honda Civic V (pre-owned) drkunaldas Sedans 4 31st October 2010 18:07
Arya Honda v. Apex Honda | Honda Manual v. Auto Civic Axe77 Indian Car Dealerships 12 21st July 2009 07:22
ICE upgrade for Honda Civic shenbag63 In-Car Entertainment 2 24th January 2008 15:43


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks