Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2008, 11:58   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Thumbs up My alto ICED and amplifried

hello guys,
after a lot of R&D i have changed my ICE completely.

My earlier set-up:
1. JVC HU with ipod connected to it. ( no sub out, only one rear line out)
2. Front sony 4" speakers.
3. Rear Pio type japanese speakers ( had good bass earlier, but now its very weak)
4. Philips Dynamo series 2 channel amp ( 300 watts, 125 watts 2 ohms RMS)
5. Philips 12" woofer in ported enclosure ( 24" length, 13" height and 12" width, 2 X 45mm ports on the top on either side of the woofers)

Result : messed up and no crisp punch from the woofer. only loud bass.

My new Setup:
1. Pioneer 5050 UB Head unit.
2. JBL GTO 937 rear speakers.
3. Sony 2 channel amp XM-ZR602 to power my rear philips 12" sub.
4. Philips dyanamo 2 channel amp 300 watts to power my rear JBL speakers.
5. Going to put illusion electra 4.1 in the front.

gurus please suggest whether the setup is okay or i have messed up with something.

also please tell me what settings are supposed to be made on the HU and the Amp in detail to run this setup.
i am totally new to the HU menu.
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 12:00   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Another thread?

If you had the idea of getting a compo why did you get a 2 channel again?
jkdas is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 12:02   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default

Everything sounds good apart from point 3 and 4, go for good 4 channel amp to power all 4 spekers as components need amp and powering a sub should be from mono amp.
Ajaybiz is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 12:05   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

can the rear JBL GTO 937 run without the amp? then i can use the existing amp for the components.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Another thread?

If you had the idea of getting a compo why did you get a 2 channel again?
Cant the compo run on HU?? i spoke to bass and trouble, he said they can run on HU and better on amp.
now i already have 2 X 2 channel = 350 + 300 = 650 watts amps which dealer suggested me against going for a single 4 channel = 600 watts.

Last edited by Technocrat : 5th March 2008 at 15:39. Reason: please use edit instead of back to back posting
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:22   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

costing of my system:
1. Pioneer 5050ub with usb cable : 6300 Rs
2. JBL GTO937 : 2450 Rs (b&w)
3. Sony XM-ZR602 2 ch amp : 3500rs (b&w)
4. Wiring audiophile and soundstream mofset wiring :850 Rs.
5. Two boxes for rear speakers :500 Rs

installation free + 2 cds free.
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:41   #6
BHPian
 
shrivz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pune, MH12
Posts: 603
Thanked: 92 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
costing of my system:
2. JBL GTO937 : 2450 Rs (b&w)
You've got to be kidding me!

Which dealer did you goto?

Last edited by shrivz : 5th March 2008 at 14:42.
shrivz is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:43   #7
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Since components work best with an amp, I would suggest the following if you are not planning to get a 4 channel amp

Power the sub using the Sony 2 channel in bridged mode. Use the Philips amp to power the front Illusion components and let the JBL coax for the rear be powered by the HU. This will give you good sound staging.
dinu2506 is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:48   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
You've got to be kidding me!

Which dealer did you goto?
i know this is quite kidding. but he has filled the warranty card. even one othe buyer had come to him and asked him to replace the pio head unit which he had got from him 8 months ago. he replaced it within 10 min.
he is giving one year replacement warranty from his side.

for JBL he has given me 2 years warranty. even i am feeling he is kidding with me. i consider them as grey for myself. but i will enjoy the cream of warranty which he has given me for 2 years.
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:49   #9
BHPian
 
shrivz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pune, MH12
Posts: 603
Thanked: 92 Times
Default

which generous dealer is this?
shrivz is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 14:54   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
which generous dealer is this?
plaza car acessories in nana peth.
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 15:06   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Nice amit. Good to see that you changed the Pio to JBL and thinking of getting Electra 4.1.
As your dealer is very generous why not ask him to change the SUB to something better like JBL so that u can get a box with exact specifications ?
abhibh is offline  
Old 5th March 2008, 15:12   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Nice amit. Good to see that you changed the Pio to JBL and thinking of getting Electra 4.1.
As your dealer is very generous why not ask him to change the SUB to something better like JBL so that u can get a box with exact specifications ?
i some how managed to get the t-s data and the enclosure design from the Philips R&D people. please refer to the link below

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...se-help-2.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Nice amit. Good to see that you changed the Pio to JBL and thinking of getting Electra 4.1.
As your dealer is very generous why not ask him to change the SUB to something better like JBL so that u can get a box with exact specifications ?
i asked him to change my sub, but he is saying that its a very nice sub 250w rms and he has fitted lots of them. now i think Bass and Trouble will guide me where its wrong.

Last edited by Technocrat : 5th March 2008 at 15:36. Reason: Please use edit instead of posting back to back
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 7th March 2008, 17:14   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,406
Thanked: 1,539 Times
Default

hi gurus,
after a lot of R&D and trying out different subs in the same enclosure which i had i changed the enclosure.
when i put the sony 1000 watts sub in the box i felt that it was sounding exactly the same as the philips sub.
i then spoke to the PHILIPS R&D team in pune and i went to them. we tried their enclosures which were almost similar kind but smaller in sizes. dint find them much impressive.

then luckily i tried my sub in the JBL Base Reflex box copy made by local carpenters who make the enclosures. it was sounding great. the punch was more powerful and the clarity too. also did some settings on the HU and the level settings on the amp. now somehow the system is intact.
amit_mechengg is offline  
Old 7th March 2008, 17:36   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
can the rear JBL GTO 937 run without the amp? then i can use the existing amp for the components.



Cant the compo run on HU?? i spoke to bass and trouble, he said they can run on HU and better on amp.
now i already have 2 X 2 channel = 350 + 300 = 650 watts amps which dealer suggested me against going for a single 4 channel = 600 watts.
Yes it can.

the 2x2 story He said coz its 50W more its the better buy?
jkdas is offline  
Old 7th March 2008, 17:44   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,728
Thanked: 7,893 Times
Default

rear co-ax run purely on HU power sound pathetic. If you tune up the volume the sound is bound to break. Best is to match it to an amp.

Now you got an additional amp purchase pending ( we suggest you go for a mono to power the sub and use remaining for your rear and front comps). Welcome to the ice thread
mobike008 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Alto Iced NOTORIOUS In-Car Entertainment 61 4th May 2010 22:22
ALTO ICEd with Pioneer DEH-7950UB and JBL Speakers sabret00the In-Car Entertainment 74 28th April 2009 15:02
Alto: ICEd with POLK + JVC (56k Warning) nitin.dangayach In-Car Entertainment 11 11th December 2008 19:34
alto iced..... serioussound In-Car Entertainment 18 22nd August 2008 10:57
Alto ICEd with Pioneer, Kicker, JBL ddd08 In-Car Entertainment 18 9th June 2008 09:06


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks