Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd December 2008, 10:19   #31
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,500
Thanked: 3,878 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOne® View Post
Hope to see you again soon. I heard you had a great time in India.
Sam always does this. He invites his friends when I am not around, I am begining to suspect something...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Now to think of an excuse to drag him back here...Sir Andrew, bring on the knowledge.
maybe he'll come back to give us lessons!

Last edited by navin : 2nd December 2008 at 10:21.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 00:43   #32
BHPian
 
TheOne®'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 217
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
maybe he'll come back to give us lessons!
Andy is great in giving lessons, believe me.

The very first time I met him Harman had appointed me his translator for the training sessions with the promotors at IFA 2007. I was absolutely nervous because even though my English is very good I wasn't familiar with all the car audio and all the technical terms (just started at Harman 3-4 weeks before). So I went through all kinds of papers, catalogues and specification sheets to have some idea what to expect - just imagine I am to translate something and don't have a clue what it is about lol.

Anyways, Andy did such a brilliant job that I hardly had to translate at all AND understood all the technical aspects and differences between the products and systems myself. Something I thought to be impossible!
TheOne® is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 10:44   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,500
Thanked: 3,878 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOne® View Post
Something I thought to be impossible!
Dont worry TheOne, a few of my posts and I'll undo all what Andy's done!
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2008, 01:07   #34
BHPian
 
muneemmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 809
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Still some 75.4 available in the grey for about 12K so would it be better to go for a 75.4 or 1004 , what say ? which would be a better SQ amplifier ?
muneemmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2008, 10:12   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

75.4's official price was 13K. so how come 12K in grey? law of demand applied in luxury?
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 00:13   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default

"""The GTO1004 is 4 X 100W, each channel at 4 ohms.

It is 4 X 150W, each channel at 2 ohms.

Bridged, it is 280W X2, each channel at 4 ohms."""

sorry for bumping an old thread... but i would like to know the answer to the value -

bridged it is abcW x2, each channel at 2 ohms.

what is abc? is it 560?

i am looking for picking one up to match the velcoity vxs12 which 1500W/500W rms DVC with 2ohms per coil.
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 00:41   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

most of the amp when bridged are stable at 4 Ω so its 280 wrms x 2 @4Ω.

edit: as for the sub rated 500 wrms this will be a good bet @4 Ω

Last edited by karankapoor : 13th April 2009 at 00:43.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 00:52   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default

but how do i wire the damn thing? i need to wire the sub in series to get 4ohms. but how to get close to 500wrms from the amp at 4 ohms?
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 00:58   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by govigov View Post
but how do i wire the damn thing? i need to wire the sub in series to get 4ohms. but how to get close to 500wrms from the amp at 4 ohms?
The amp is 320W RMS @ 4 ohm BRIDGED.

Well you cannot until and unless the amp is stable in bridge mode at 2 ohm.

Are you running any speakers from the amp ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 01:03   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by govigov View Post
but how do i wire the damn thing? i need to wire the sub in series to get 4ohms. but how to get close to 500wrms from the amp at 4 ohms?
well you can't if you are using other 2 channels of the amp.
if you can give all the 4 channels to the sub then yes

Last edited by karankapoor : 13th April 2009 at 01:04.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 01:08   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default

have another amp for speakers. just looking to power all the four channels of the 1004 to the sub. the thing is its a DVC at 2 ohms per coil. if i bridge channels 1&2 and channels 3&4 seperately to run the 2 coils, the question i am confused with is :

1. what power can i expect from channels 1&2, 3&4 @ 2 ohm each ? (both must be the same obviously)

2. the amp should be stable at 2 ohms. if not can i make this amp to work @ 2 ohms, can i bridge all the four channels together (am i asking something stupid here?) to power the sub in series at 4 ohms? if so what is the power?

Last edited by govigov : 13th April 2009 at 01:09.
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 01:17   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by govigov View Post
have another amp for speakers. just looking to power all the four channels of the 1004 to the sub. the thing is its a DVC at 2 ohms per coil. if i bridge channels 1&2 and channels 3&4 seperately to run the 2 coils, the question i am confused with is :

1. what power can i expect from channels 1&2, 3&4 @ 2 ohm each ? (both must be the same obviously)

2. the amp should be stable at 2 ohms. if not can i make this amp to work @ 2 ohms, can i bridge all the four channels together (am i asking something stupid here?) to power the sub in series at 4 ohms? if so what is the power?
Well I don't think the amp is stable at 2 OHM bridged. So you can not feed more than 320W RMS rated.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 01:29   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default

just found out that for stereo operations, the amp is stable at 2 ohms, but for bridged it has to be at 4 ohm, i.e that amp is not stable at 2 ohms bridged. i did not know that for bridged and stereo mode that the impedances are different.

(what abhib said is very very true)
sadly i dont think this amp will serve my purpose. had got a good bargain on it though.
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 09:45   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

One small question in this regards. When 1004 is bridged for running front comps and a Sub, what is the RMS which the each comps would be getting and what would be the RMS Sub would be getting??
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 09:53   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

For the comps: 100@ 4 ohms & 150 @ 2 ohms
For the sub : 320W RMS @ 4 ohms
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renault to launch a small car to compete with alto dZired The Indian Car Scene 36 13th April 2015 10:29
Lets compete on XBox Live... harmon_bro Gadgets, Computers & Software 44 10th March 2012 12:41
Indian driver to compete for place in FIA Institute Young Driver Excellence Academy jalsa777 Int'l Motorsport 3 10th November 2011 10:09
Tata not to compete with Fiat in same segment sridhga The Indian Car Scene 17 26th August 2008 19:01
Singhania/Sorabjee to compete in Supercar Rally! Rtech Indian Motorsport 15 20th January 2005 03:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:27.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks