Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment

Old 1st June 2008, 23:39   #1
BHPian

Default ICE for Palio MultiJet SDX

Hi,
I am asking my friend to get ICE components for a palio multijet sdx that I am planning to buy next week.
Kindly suggest the best possible combination in the range of 20-25 k.
As per general perception, I was thinking of an Alpine headunit and 4 jbl speakers. I am a novice and dont know much about these. Also ad don whether I might have to have an amp as well as any special cables.
I generally listen to soft music.
Cheers,
Praful.
prafulasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 10:29   #2
Senior - BHPian

Where have you asked your friend to get the ICE components from?

1. An Alpine HU will cost you upwards of 12K. There are good HUs from Pioneer, Blaupunkt, JVC, Kenwood etc. also - depending on the features (USB, iPod support, Bluetooth, multiple pre-amp outputs, Aux-in etc.) the price will vary from 5K (bare-bones) to 22K (almost everything you can think of)
2. You need to check out the size of speakers and mounting location in this car. If you want to put 6x9 ovals in the rear (better bass than 6.5"), then you have to get an MDF plank to mount them on. In front, consider 6.5" components (mid-bass + tweeters). 6-8K for front, 4-5K for rear.
3. Apart from JBL, there are Blaupunkt, Illusion etc. Audition the speakers (there are quite a few good ICE installations in the cars of Pune TBHPians - PM and meet them to get a feel) before making up your mind. Remember, you are the best judge
4. You will need to damp the doors (front at least) and the hatch if you like it loud or if you are putting in a sub-woofer. This will need 5K at least
5. An amp will set you back by 6K at least. A decent sub in a sealed box will need 6-7K

You can put in an amp and a sub later, if you want. These cannot make a bad system better, so get the basics right first.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2008, 10:56   #3