Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th August 2008, 12:12   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bangalore
Posts: 2
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Need help in configuring and installing a car pc

hey i have a honda civic and i want to install a car pc in it.I saw the Iride technologies computer i somehow dont like the way the touchscreen looks and all so i am planning to configure my own computer and install some other touchscreen which looks good so i want u guys to help me out in this thing
my cpu will go below my front passenger seat and the touch screen will go into my dash
The things i want to use my car pc for are:
1.listen to songs
2.play videos and watch movies
3.internet browsing
4.GPS Receiver
5.OBD Scantool to connect to my engine
so could u please suggest me a good configuration for my computer and it would be better if u could give the price of the individual items and the place where i can get these in bangalore. I asked a guy about installing a car pc he said that the mother board has an onboard sound card and said something like the computer sound signal is a flat signal and the signal which the head units send to a speaker in a car are RC signals so he said that the quality of the sound might not be that good so could someone tell me what i can do regarding this like can i put a external sound card and will this solve the issue if yes which sound card should i put or else what can i do regarding this.I wanted to know which OBD Scantool to buy which is suitable for the honda civic and which gps reciver should i buy which can fit into my computer preferably a usb gps reciver and from whom should i buy the maps i am from bangalore so if u could give me the details regarding all the things i asked and a place in bangalore with the price of the items from where i can get these stuff it would be good
sandeeprao_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 00:36   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

@sandeep, there are at least 2 other threads discussing this subject already. Please do take time to read those threads.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 10:08   #3
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 295
Thanked: 57 Times
Thumbs up idea

look bro there are already two threads and i respect what mr DerAlte has to say. but here's an idea if you have about 1.5 to spend you could do this. i wanted to do this project but don have the funding. go to SP road and get the following...
1) ASUS M3 series motherboard for about 4k. has an onboard audio setup far better than most others along with major support for audio and video coz its an AMD-NVIDIA-ASUS motherboard.
2) AMD tricore for about 6k.
(these two are keeping in mind the nature of your usage AMD is far better with graphics and video and misuse)
3)2GB RAM ddr800 or 1066 for about 2k.
4) 360GB sata Seagate for 3k.
5) nvidia 8500 1gb for 5k.
7) cabinet smps and wire harnesses will be 1k.

next i was thinking instead of a head you can get this audiobahn ADD51T the link is here.. Audiobahn :: Accessories :: its the last one in the list so here you can connect everything. a touchscreen is given here which you can use as your front panel. all video connects half din audiobahn will take along with an optical in which the motherboard provides. so no need for a head. it also has 6 9v preouts which is more than enough for your amps.
the speakers can be deicded later
i was thinking of a 4 amp setup. 2 amps of two channel to manage front and back seperately. it is a dolby capable system you know. so you need two separate amps. then one amp for the sub. now your gonna be slightly short on the mid bass. so one amp will be a 4 channel. one channel will take pure bass in a 2ohm config for an 8 or 6 inch woofer and the other will power your center channel. it will be a lot of panelling work but this is one crazy *** system. in case you decide for some reason to not put on the system you can connect an i pod to it via the RCA. best o luck. i would love to see this setup i have PM you my number in case you wanna know more.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2008, 11:13   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

have a look at this config:
a touch screen of your choice
jetway motherboard NC62K-LF (Prior J6C2) from newegg.com
this board has dual display and dual audio support and blueray capable.
AMD 4850 processor from newegg.com
2gb ram ddr 800 or 1066
cabinet of your choice. from iride
dc-dc power supply 160w or 250w(recommended)
80gb sata hard disk
5.1 channel amplifier with speaker setup.
minikeyboard with touchpad.
pinnacle usb tv tuner with fm radio and video input for cameras.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2008, 12:45   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Does any one know which OBD interface is there on Civic? I guess it should be ISO 9141 protocol. Can someone confirm?
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2008, 15:40   #6
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default odb

hey i have the OBD ELM 327 multiprotocol scanner, it works fine with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Does any one know which OBD interface is there on Civic? I guess it should be ISO 9141 protocol. Can someone confirm?
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2010, 13:24   #7
Newbie
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Smile CarPC Installers in Bangalore

The Gurus,
Please direct me to the right Guy to get my CarPC installed in Bangalore. I just want it done perfectly. I have got everything ready, the touchscreen, the computer. I jus need someone to install it.

Also I am looking for a 4.1 Channel Amp for around 6K. I own a swift, Please suggest.

Though I know this is like , but really could not find a single thread directing me to a specific guy.

Last edited by Jaggu : 4th March 2010 at 14:27. Reason: Please use Search and continue in an existing thread, Thanks
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2010, 00:02   #8
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylem View Post
The Gurus,
Please direct me to the right Guy to get my CarPC installed in Bangalore.
see, this is most of the time DIY. you need atleast little bit knowledge of computer wiring and rest can be done my any good setero installer. you just need to give him directions how to do the wiring for your carpc.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2010, 21:20   #9
Newbie
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I have got it installed onto my swift. The entire setup rocks!! Will soon post into my garage.. Thank you all for the guidance. really appreciate all the effort.
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 15:07   #10
BHPian
 
@400Kph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 146
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi xylem , From where did you get it installed ? Place and price of installation ?
@400Kph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 15:32   #11
Newbie
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I got the Complete ICE setup with DLS Components in the front, DLS 6 x9 on the rear, & DLS 10" Sub. This is powered by JBL GT5 S644 Amp and a Pioneer 7250 HU. Paid 37K for the entire hardware.

Spent 10K for Damping, & 7K for the installation. The Monitor is installed on the Center Console where the old HU used to be. The work is astounding!!!

Got it done from ANWAR. He has a shop (Top Gear) near JNC.
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 16:15   #12
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylem View Post
I got the Complete ICE setup with DLS Components in the front, DLS 6 x9 on the rear, & DLS 10" Sub. This is powered by JBL GT5 S644 Amp and a Pioneer 7250 HU. Paid 37K for the entire hardware.

Spent 10K for Damping, & 7K for the installation. The Monitor is installed on the Center Console where the old HU used to be. The work is astounding!!!

Got it done from ANWAR. He has a shop (Top Gear) near JNC.
congrats. start the new thread about your setup with pics.
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2010, 14:02   #13
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

congrates buddy..
india is growing on the carpc setups..
now you are aligible to wirte your name in the thread i started http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...rpc-india.html
lets see whats the number on the list.
waiting for the pics..

Last edited by monty9991 : 20th March 2010 at 14:06.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help in installing the Pioneer head unit(5950) in the dashboard(ac contols) Pras_gethigh In-Car Entertainment 3 27th February 2009 00:38
HELP-Configuring Limewire in a Proxy environment esteem_lover Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 27th May 2008 17:28
need help configuring my ICE rider60 In-Car Entertainment 31 2nd January 2008 23:12
HELP - configuring email on Nokia 7610. normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 4th August 2005 18:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks