Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:41   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Ouch, @neel12345, that was an experience that shouldn't happen to anyone. Perhaps you should write to the Blaupunkt service HO in Bangalore and tell them you are really really khafa with their lemon and the attitude of the Kolkata service setup?

Anyhow, what has it got to do with lack of bass in Raj ka Scorpio?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:41   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neel12345 View Post
Whatever you do, if you are intending to change the HU, never, ever go for blaupunkt. I am a Blaupunkt user for 3.5 years. It is only for the brand name you are paying. Blaupunkt HU sound great, I admit(there are other units from other manufacturers at the same price that sound even better). But, wha happens to the Blaupunkt HUs is that, they work fine for say 6 months or may be for even 2.5 years, after which they just don't read the discs. A particular CD may be playing fine in the morning. In the evening, it might not read the CD even after ejecting and inserting it for 50 odd time. A cheap Sony XPLOD of 2500 bucks is even better than this. Blaupunkt's service is also so pathetic.

This problem first occurred when my unit was 9 months old. I gave it to SAMIR Agencies - the only authorized Blaupunkt service center in a metro city like Kolkata. They repaired it. Everything was fine till 3 months passed. The unit again started giving problems. This time, the warranty was just over by 6 days. I requested SAMIR several times, but they did not give any warranty support and instead set me back by telling this problem requires a lens change which will cost around Rs.1800 for an original Blaupunkt lens. They asked me to contact Blaupunkt sales and support center near Ice Skating Ring. The people at the Blaupunkt office told me that they can not provide warranty support. I requested them several times but in vain.While I was still there at the office, a Blaupunkt technician came to me. I am a doctor, and the Blaupunkt techy happened to be my patient. In an instance he took me to a room there and closed the door. He then opened my unit, took out the internals. Then he took a brand new unit out of the box, opened it, took out the internals and fixed the new units main components into mine. Then he carefully removed the stickers from the unit and placed them on the old internals of my unit which he has taken out. And on the new internals of my unit he placed the original stickers that were in my unit for so long. My unit was fine for an year after that, now it has again started giving problems. The guy told that Blaupunkt is good, but Blaupunkt in India cheats people and I might have got an old unit - just like this. And several others might have been cheated like this.

Unfortunately, the man no longer works at Blaupunkt. I called him the other day and he said that he now works ar XLUSIV and he services Pioneer units.

So at the end of the day, it is up to you to decide whether you want to shell out atleast 7.5 K for sleep less nights.

Oh yes ! Now what am I to do with my Blaupunkt ??
thanks a ton buddy. i shall keep that in mind. anyways, i'll always prefer pioneer or JVC!
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:42   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@DerAlte Raj was looking for a HU upgrade. So i advised him not to go for Blaupunkt after my miserable experience.

"Ouch, @neel12345, that was an experience that shouldn't happen to anyone."

For your information, I'm not the only one ! There was a thread in this forum a few days ago named "My Blaupunkt stopped reading discs " or something like that. He too had the same problem and he did not post any update to the thread. And there were some others who said that most Blaupunkts have this problem. I am just fed up with the unit. Looks like I will have to shell out another 6 to 8K for a new HU.
neel12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:44   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Ouch, @neel12345, that was an experience that shouldn't happen to anyone. Perhaps you should write to the Blaupunkt service HO in Bangalore and tell them you are really really khafa with their lemon and the attitude of the Kolkata service setup?

Anyhow, what has it got to do with lack of bass in Raj ka Scorpio?
hey buddy, the bass problem in my car has been sloved. read my last post. neel's post is because of the fact that i was planning to upgrade my HU too!
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2008, 09:40   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

sorry for the delay in response guys, here are the pics of my new ICE setup:
Attached Thumbnails
Increasing Bass...-dsc00304.jpg  

Increasing Bass...-dsc00305.jpg  

raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2008, 17:34   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

problems never seem to end on my side!!! after the installation of the basstube, it ran fine for two weeks. but then suddenly the bass tube and the 2 sony speakers stopped working (these two are connected to the sony amp). this happened only at high volume and they ran fine on low volume. as soon as the volume is incresed, they would stop. on inspection, the shop owner told me that the amp is tripping to "safe mode" due to overload. he replaced my current amp with a new amp for no cost. then i noticed that when the new amp was connected, the rear right sony speaker was not working. again on inspection, i found that the wire contact was fully melted and the wire burnt!!! so finally the tripping of the amp was traced to this reason and it was not the fault of the amp but just a safety feature. nevertheless, i got a new amp!
what i wondered was, how come the wire burnt and the contact melted just after two weeks of the installation of the bass tube and new 4 ch amp? before that, it ran fine for 5 months with the older setup. while installation of the bass tube, the wiring of the speakers were not touched. is it the extra power of the new amp???
now touch wood, everything is working fine!
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2014, 13:40   #37
Newbie
 
saurabh0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 16
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Issue regarding bass in verna fluidic

Hi folks

My current setup in a fludic verna

HU: Stock
Hi - Low Converter: Rockford Fosgate 4 Channel
Front Stage - Hertz DSK 165 (2 Way Component)
Rear Hertz - Hertz DCX 165.3 (2 way Coaxial)
Amplifier - V12 (4 Channel)
Subwoofer - JBL 1250W Bass Tube
Damping - Ballistic (4 Doors + Boot)
Installation Done at: Global Kars, Lajpat Nagar, New Delhi

As recommended by my installer i am using the V12 4 channel amp to drive all 4 speakers plus the subwoofer. I am satisfied with the output after listening to tracks from different genres. My amp has been tuned as per my needs and it can go louder but i did not want the sub-woofer to over power the speakers, i need a balance between bass and treble hence the tube woofer is not running on its full potential. However i am not satisfied with way the bass tube sounds, i listen to dubstep and psychedelic trance and i want the bass drops to be very clear but at the same time i don't want loud bass at low volumes while listening to a hindi song on radio. Even with the current tuning of the amp, the bass and treble match at higher volumes but at lower volumes its very boomy.

I got a chance to speak with an installer working at Driven, East of Kailash while my cousin was getting his install done in his swift. He recommended me to pull out the woofer from the tube and put it into custom MDF sealed enclosure. This would help produce tighter and clean bass with good SQ. If the sub feels under powered after changing the enclosure i can increase the output from the amp. Also this would solve the problem of having excess bass at lower volumes.

MY PROBLEM:

I am not sure but isn't a sub woofer that has been designed to work in a tube, should work best in the tube? I am also scared that since it has been made for a ported tube enclosure, i'll spoil it by putting it into a sealed.


Limitation: I have recently purchased all the equipment and i can't get rid of it or buy a new sub, but please tell me if doing so will help.

Brothers i need help. Please advise

Tube or Box?
Sealed or Ported?
Any other solution?
saurabh0110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2014, 11:43   #38
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 133
Thanked: 22 Times
Default Re: Issue regarding bass in verna fluidic

Hi Saurabh, the most important thing for any setup is the tuning. As long as the tuning is done to your taste it should be fine. First thing you may want to try is getting the tuning done with a good installer. The other option will be to audition the jbl sub which has similar config as your bass tube just so that you can gauge the sound stage. i have seen some of my friends remove the bass tube and port it in a sealed mdf box. To enhance the effect, you may want to get a good custom box with air flow so that the punch is smooth.
sparsh is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2014, 15:01   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: Issue regarding bass in verna fluidic

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... As recommended by my installer i am using the V12 4 channel amp to drive all 4 speakers plus the subwoofer. ...
Err ... how did he connect the speakers AND the sub to the 4-channel amp?

He recommended the "V12" amp? That is the "most reputed, made in Lajpat Rai Market" amp in Delhi (the original *used to be* an Alpine amp)!!!
AND he recommended the Tube sub? <Sigh>

Tube subs are boomy, and unless one goes through the Thiele Small parameters of the subwoofer, one cannot be certain it will work well in a sealed box. Sealed boxes are quite tolerant of sub parameters though, so one can at a pinch put a sub designed for free air operation, put it in a sealed box - and get decent bass output. One has to qualify that, though:
- The apparent loudness would be half (ported v/s sealed)
- The sub would still sound a bit boomy, though much less than in the tube

Is this a JBL manufactured tube? Or is it a JBL sub in a 'local' tube?

A good way of knowing sealed box response would be to completely seal off the port - difficult. Try stuffing some rolled up old socks in the port, and see how the response changes. But ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... but i did not want the sub-woofer to over power the speakers, i need a balance between bass and treble hence the tube woofer is not running on its full potential. However i am not satisfied with way the bass tube sounds, i listen to dubstep and psychedelic trance and i want the bass drops to be very clear but at the same time i don't want loud bass at low volumes while listening to a hindi song on radio. Even with the current tuning of the amp, the bass and treble match at higher volumes but at lower volumes its very boomy. ...
One first has to know HOW the installer has connected the rear *and* the sub to the amp rear channel. The solution is switch the rear speakers to the HU. With this, you will gain control of the sub tuning independently, and play around with the amp gain till you get the sub to sound right.

Coupled with some sock-stuffing in the port of the tube, you *just may* be able to make your system sound satisfactory without incurring further cost.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2014, 23:15   #40
Newbie
 
saurabh0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 16
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

@Sparsh: Thanks a lot brother but that particular model of bass tube JBL T-1250W comes only as a tube and there is a JBL GTO series subwoofer that is sold without an enclosure. So the specs wouldn't match with my sub woofer

@DerAlte: Firstly I thank you for your advice and I was using a 4 Channel JBL GT Series X-646 Amplifier which was under warranty and wasn't functioning properly so my dealer got it replaced.

Now i had the new boxed amplifier which started tripping during the installation because as i mentioned my dealer suggested to mount the front components and the rear coaxials on 2 channels and used the remaining 2 channels bridged to drive the sub. To solve the problem he took the amp and suggested a V12 amplifier (not alpine ) for no extra cost, that delivers more output per channel and would sustain the load of all 4 speakers + the sub. The output was decent but the only drawback is a little sound distortion at higher volumes which i am assuming can be solved with perfect tuning.

I still have the option of returning the V12 and getting back my JBL GT X646. However since i am using the OEM Head Unit and a 4 channel High Low converter which is connected to the amp so there is no empty slot on the HU to drive the rear coaxials.

Any suggestions?

The tube i am using is manufactured by JBL
http://shopping.indiatimes.com/elect...182/p_B1010553
saurabh0110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2014, 10:34   #41
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
Now i had the new boxed amplifier which started tripping during the installation because as i mentioned my dealer suggested to mount the front components and the rear coaxials on 2 channels and used the remaining 2 channels bridged to drive the sub.

I still have the option of returning the V12 and getting back my JBL GT X646. However since i am using the OEM Head Unit and a 4 channel High Low converter which is connected to the amp so there is no empty slot on the HU to drive the rear coaxials.
if you have 4 channels of speakers connected to 2 channels of an amplifier you loose the ability to fade from rear to front.

Hence IF i were in your shoes this is what I would do...

Connect the front channels of the HU to the amplifier (via a converter) and then to the front speakers.

Spilt the rear channels of the HU. Connect one leg of the split to the amplifer (via the converter) and the other leg of the split to the rear speaker. The easiest way to do this is connect the converter and rear speaker to the rear channel of the amplifier (so for example the left rear speaker and left rear channel of the converter will both be connected to the left rear channel of the HU).

Dont worry about overloading any amplifer this way. The converter is basically a voltge divider (see link below) and will not put any significant load on the HU.
https://www.termpro.com/articles/images/image13.gif

Now this means you will have to set the gains on the subwoofer channel of the amplifier (the channels where the converter is connected to) carefully. If you do this the fader will then fade both rear channels and subwoofer together. It is not perfect or ideal but at least you have some control over the front - rear fader.

Last edited by navin : 12th March 2014 at 10:39.
navin is offline   (3) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2014, 16:41   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... for no extra cost, that delivers more output per channel and would sustain the load of all 4 speakers + the sub. The output was decent but the only drawback is a little sound distortion at higher volumes which i am assuming can be solved with perfect tuning.

I still have the option of returning the V12 and getting back my JBL GT X646. ...
Bhai, first get your original amp back. There is no comparison (the V12 costs <2K, and is a lousy amp). And no, that "little sound distortion" will never go away with tuning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... However since i am using the OEM Head Unit and a 4 channel High Low converter which is connected to the amp so there is no empty slot on the HU to drive the rear coaxials. ...
Please have the connections done on the HU output the way Navin has described above. It will work properly.

Did you buy the JBL tube sub online? Or with the dealer? If with the dealer, ask for the JBL box sub (CS1215B) instead. It is cheaper than the tube sub. Funnily, the tube is substantially cheaper on Snapdeal (5990) than on Indiatimes (7719)!
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2014, 00:11   #43
Newbie
 
saurabh0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 16
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

@Navin: Thanks a lot brother will surely get the wiring changed as per your suggestion.Thank you

@DelAlte: I got the tube with warranty from a dealer last year for Rs 4500 and as per your suggestion i'll surely get my JBL amp back and the wiring changed.

Thanks for solving my query and i tried to seal off the bass tube port as per your suggestion but it sounded exactly the same to me.
Do you suggest getting a new sealed enclosure?

Also suppose if i need to amplify my rear speakers as well. I have 2 options

1) Return V12 amp and retain JBL 4 Channel amp and get a new 2 channel amp that i can use in bridged mode for the sub
Any suggestions for, Not So Expensive 2 channel amps? (I have a basic sub so i am not looking for those expensive mono blocks)

2) Return V12 amp and ask my dealer for a new 5 channel amp that gives out more power for sub in the 5th channel
Any suggestions for a VFM 5 channel amp?

I am in desperate need for some serious help here, I think i have gone totally wrong with my ICE upgrade? Anyone out there who lives in Delhi and wants to take a look at my system and help me out a little?
saurabh0110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014, 17:34   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... i tried to seal off the bass tube port as per your suggestion but it sounded exactly the same to me.
Do you suggest getting a new sealed enclosure? ...
Your installer should have empty readymade boxes. Disconnect and takeout just the subwoofer from the tube, mount it in the box, connect it and check the response. If you like it, use the box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0110 View Post
... Also suppose if i need to amplify my rear speakers as well. ...
You really don't need to, unless you are taking revenge on your rear seat passenger(s)!

Anyhow, the 5-channel amps are not VFM in India - will cost you ~16K. I have a feeling just changing the wiring and the sub to a box will make your system much better.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2014, 15:51   #45
Newbie
 
saurabh0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 16
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Increasing Bass...

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
if you have 4 channels of speakers connected to 2 channels of an amplifier you loose the ability to fade from rear to front.

Hence IF i were in your shoes this is what I would do...

Connect the front channels of the HU to the amplifier (via a converter) and then to the front speakers.

Spilt the rear channels of the HU. Connect one leg of the split to the amplifer (via the converter) and the other leg of the split to the rear speaker. The easiest way to do this is connect the converter and rear speaker to the rear channel of the amplifier (so for example the left rear speaker and left rear channel of the converter will both be connected to the left rear channel of the HU).

Dont worry about overloading any amplifer this way. The converter is basically a voltge divider (see link below) and will not put any significant load on the HU.
https://www.termpro.com/articles/images/image13.gif

Now this means you will have to set the gains on the subwoofer channel of the amplifier (the channels where the converter is connected to) carefully. If you do this the fader will then fade both rear channels and subwoofer together. It is not perfect or ideal but at least you have some control over the front - rear fader.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Your installer should have empty readymade boxes. Disconnect and takeout just the subwoofer from the tube, mount it in the box, connect it and check the response. If you like it, use the box.

You really don't need to, unless you are taking revenge on your rear seat passenger(s)!

Anyhow, the 5-channel amps are not VFM in India - will cost you ~16K. I have a feeling just changing the wiring and the sub to a box will make your system much better.

@Mods: I am sorry it took me a while to reply. Actually now i have stretched my budget and my dealer is offering me a combination of JBL GT5 2402BR (http://www.jbl.com/EN-EU/Products/Pa...PID=GT5-2402BR)

Plus a JBL GT5 monoblock amplifier for 22.5K plus 2.2K for Focal 8AWG amp wiring kit so comes out to approx 24K

I am selling my JBL GT-1250T for around 3K and getting my JBL amp back for the 4 speakers

Please tell me if it is appropriate!

I have a number of queries. Kindly help

1) I have a stock HU and a Rockford Fosgate 4 channel hi low converter which is connected to the amp so how do I connect the monoblock to the HU? do i need another 2 channel converter? I guess my dealer is planning to put Y cables on 2 of the channels on the converter.
I am not sure if connecting Y cables is a good idea.

2) Is it a good idea to connect a Rockford Fosgate power distribution block? I guess i can use the wiring of my existing amp which has a fuse upfront near the battery and is coming all the way to the boot and connect the distribution block. Is it of any help or should i connect the mono block via battery too?

3) I Received 1 meter of ground cable with the Focal amp kit and not sure if my dealer used it or not? how do i check and is it of any help? I know it has the same purpose like any other earthing cable but since i have it there is no harm getting it installed.
saurabh0110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increasing the fuel efficiency of a Yamaha RX100 badboy Motorbikes 13 28th December 2010 10:09
Increasing torque at lower rpms swathyd Modifications & Accessories 43 20th July 2009 15:25
EDIT: My Experience Of Increasing compression & Grooving a Pulsar 150 finetuning Technical Stuff 20 27th June 2007 22:22
Hyundai increasing price by 15k? udit78 The Indian Car Scene 4 23rd June 2006 17:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks