Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th September 2008, 09:05   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default Increasing Bass...

i have a scorpio VLX in which i have 4 standard kenwood speakers, two 400W sony speakers in boxes and a 1000 W sony subwoofer. the amp is sony too, 2 channel. but somehow i am not getting the desired bass level. a friend told me that the standard kenwood head unit is not good enough and i have to change it. is it true? i want a good bass effect at minimum cost now!

which brand of head unit should i opt for considering i need a good power output. which brand and which model has the best looks, features and power o/p at the lowest price?

i will prefer upgrading the head unit and i have a budget of 7000-8000 for the same. i can also exchange or trade-in the current head unit to replace a new one. kindly suggest a good brand of head unit with good power output.
also, is there anything wrong with the sub and amp (in terms of power or compatibility). the amp runs both the subwoofer as well as the 2 sony 400W speakers, is this ok?

i wont prefer changing the sub or speakers as that would require a bigger budget! i am happy with the sound quality, only wish much more bass effect.

here are some pics of the same:

the front speaker in the front door, standard kenwood:
Increasing Bass...-14092008672.jpg

the head unit, standard kenwood unit (NDC-MP6009UC):
Increasing Bass...-14092008674.jpg

the subwoofer, Sony Xplod 1000W 16 inch sub:
Increasing Bass...-14092008675.jpg

two additional speakers, Sony Xplod 400W in speaker boxes:
Increasing Bass...-14092008678.jpg

placement of the sub and the speakers, in between the middle row and the jump seats:
Increasing Bass...-14092008677.jpg
Increasing Bass...-dsc00160.jpg
Increasing Bass...-dsc00161.jpg

standard kenwood speakers on the boot door:
Increasing Bass...-14092008679.jpg
Increasing Bass...-14092008680.jpg


the sony ampllifier is a 2 channel unit (XM-ZR602) placed under the front seat.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 12:38   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Major problem is the Enclosure in which your equipment is installed. And second major tuning issue like speakers running out of phase in refer to the sub which is canceling all the bass. Try going to a good installer. You can try BOOM
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 13:19   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

u mean i have to change the amp?
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 13:21   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

NO not until now. Get the stuff reinstalled and get it tuned to extract the max out of it.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 10:35   #5
BHPian
 
sonic_boom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 135
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
the amp is sony too, 2 channel

the amp runs both the subwoofer as well as the 2 sony 400W speakers, is this ok?
How can the two channel amp run both the sub and speakers ??

Tri-Mode ??
sonic_boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 11:02   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic_boom View Post
How can the two channel amp run both the sub and speakers ??

Tri-Mode ??
Yes. The sub will be producing vocal if a inductor or we can say crossover is not used.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 11:08   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Yes the sub box is too small. Sony woofers are not known to be great anyway.
Use the HU to drive front and rear speakers and the 2 ch amp for the sub.

Like LBM said, get a good installer and first extract the best out of your current components then think about upgrades.

you have 6 speakers and a sub. you need 7 channels of amplification. so after you are done with 'extracting the best' these are the upgrades youd have to keep in mind...
1. 4 ch amp for 4 (front and rear) speakers
2. new sub
3. replace 2 ch. amp with second 4 ch. amp to drive sub and 2 speakers
4. front speaker upgrade
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 11:11   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic_boom View Post
How can the two channel amp run both the sub and speakers ??

Tri-Mode ??
I think that is where he lost out on the bass.

You got to bridge the 2 channels in your amp & give the brridged output to the sub woofer & run the rear speakers off the HU.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 11:15   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Sony amps hardly have any tunning switches,which gives lesser flexibility,seems he is running both the speakers parallel and sony amp in bridge mode over the same amp,as LBM stated the subwoofer is also producing vocals.I dont think there is a need for changing the Head Unit.

Where do you put up??meet me i'll help you out in tunning your existing setup..cheers

Ramie

Last edited by ramie2400 : 16th September 2008 at 11:16.
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 12:33   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,078
Thanked: 2,031 Times
Default

hey ramie, i am from mumbai, powai. i needed a cost effective solution. as per your recommendaations, i will try powering the sub with the amp alone and the 6 speakers from the HU. i hope it makes a difference to the bass level.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 12:40   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
hey ramie, i am from mumbai, powai. i needed a cost effective solution. as per your recommendaations, i will try powering the sub with the amp alone and the 6 speakers from the HU. i hope it makes a difference to the bass level.
I stay in andheri east,since you have already put on so much Vitam M,its better you dont change anything,just get the things sorted out and tunned properly and get rid of the extra speakers which creates distortion.
We can meet up sometimes.. cheers

ramie
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 14:29   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
chiragh_bir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In front of you :P
Posts: 1,123
Thanked: 69 Times
Default

for the starting add 4 channel amp may be blaupunkt + add pioneer 307 sub.. You will be happy !!
chiragh_bir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 16:17   #13
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 379
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Honestly, your set up is not bad at all. I have a strong hunch that the enclosure of the sub is too small and the sub is not beind fed properly.
nitin.dangayach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2008, 00:01   #14
BHPian
 
FeelTheBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palwal
Posts: 91
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiragh_bir View Post
for the starting add 4 channel amp may be blaupunkt + add pioneer 307 sub.. You will be happy !!
Hi! Friends!! even i would suggest you the same.
FeelTheBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2008, 00:28   #15
BHPian
 
maxj2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cary NC USA
Posts: 112
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I suggest you should go for a pioneer subwoof 307 and a 8 channel 5600 watt amp. Also the box you are using does it have a small hole to let the air out?

It feels to me that the amp u are using is not powerfull enough.
maxj2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increasing the fuel efficiency of a Yamaha RX100 badboy Motorbikes 13 28th December 2010 10:09
Increasing torque at lower rpms swathyd Modifications & Accessories 43 20th July 2009 15:25
EDIT: My Experience Of Increasing compression & Grooving a Pulsar 150 finetuning Technical Stuff 20 27th June 2007 22:22
Hyundai increasing price by 15k? udit78 The Indian Car Scene 4 23rd June 2006 17:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks