Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th September 2008, 19:14   #31
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 379
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
so panty finally installs the JBL mono amp

rattling to hoegi.. taxi jo hai
Try reading the above stuff again
nitin.dangayach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:19   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Seems everone in the Pic is an installer congrts panky,hope your enjoying your ride
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:30   #33
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

Congrats panky! another Bass making sq setup .Whats the individual pricing for the equipment? Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:33   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Congrats panky! another Bass making sq setup .Whats the individual pricing for the equipment? Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
Here is the post by Navin Ji on ports hope it will clarify your doubts..


http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/245408-post3666.html

The article is a bit technical but I think you will understand the idea.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:42   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
What is the conventional way for ports to fire?
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:49   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

OT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrivz
Our plain ol aJay is busy explaining 3-way positions to MF!

Im sorry but I just can't stop.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 19:51   #37
BHPian
 
shrivz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pune, MH12
Posts: 603
Thanked: 92 Times
Default

no kidding.. i promise.. check the "2-way or 3-way" thread
shrivz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 20:13   #38
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
What is the conventional way for ports to fire?
Umm.. this way i think.

I have seen this way in a lot of installs.
Attached Images
 
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 20:15   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Umm.. this way i think.

I have seen this way in a lot of installs.
Doesn't make it a convention. Ports can be on any side of the box. In any shape. Depends on the placement etc.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 21:53   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Umm.. this way i think.

I have seen this way in a lot of installs.
I think you did not read the Link I posted or you read it and did not understand a single thing in it.

Anyways here is another one...


Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post







.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 22:27   #41
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

when i had knowledge, i learnt from a known enclosure builder that port placement matters, but not to so much of an extent that it would make any difference to the humar ear. ports can be placed firing forward, upward, backward or sideways, it is all about getting your calculations right.

when i was making my enclosure tuned at 34hz i presume i needed a 30 inch long 4" port which could only be placed sideways to acheive this frequency. eventually, i did with a slot port for the same port volume.

building ported enclosures is a science..an expertise, and i'd say LBM is pretty good at it...
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2008, 23:53   #42
BHPian
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

LBM sir
can you please post the following information which can help us get an idea of how to tune and build a ported box
Box volume ( vb) ?
Port dia chosen ?
Tuning freq ?

also why was the above frequency selected?

also is there a way to decide port placement?
the link that you posted that was highlighted by navinji mentions that the port can be on any face as long as the 1/4 th wavelenght rule is satisfied.
it doesnt say anything about the placement on any face of the box.
Can we place it anywhere on any face?

please dont say "depends"
please give a working example

Last edited by Magma : 16th September 2008 at 23:54.
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2008, 07:39   #43
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

^^ IMHO.. it depends!!!
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2008, 11:46   #44
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,622
Thanked: 6,144 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
Please straighten out my concept! from the basics if necessary!
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
Our plain ol aJay is busy explaining 3-way positions to MF!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
OT:

Im sorry but I just can't stop.

Yes, to explain the same to you he'll need a cow and an elephant. Both won't fit in your car. Try a pair of nitrous, that should work may be. Or read LBM's comment below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It is the temporary position soon to be changed
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2008, 12:03   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Yes, to explain the same to you he'll need a cow and an elephant. Both won't fit in your car. Try a pair of nitrous, that should work may be. Or read LBM's comment below:
I think you forgot dogs...lol

PS :- Dogs can hear very high freq.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major ICE Upgrade in my Palio (EDIT: Car upgraded.) hydrashok In-Car Entertainment 352 13th April 2008 22:47
Upgraded Maruti Baleno up for review among roster agencies askicode The Indian Car Scene 29 3rd March 2007 08:37
upgraded version version of unicorn or pulsar150 dtsi sujit007 Motorbikes 6 5th January 2007 09:34
Vernacular - 2043 Vernas in five days, upgraded to 5000/month now adarsh76 The Indian Car Scene 113 14th November 2006 00:02
Inquiry about Baleno Upgraded Tyre pressure Puffdamgcdragon Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 14 16th January 2006 19:41


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks