Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th September 2008, 00:53   #1
BHPian
 
CaliforniaKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IND + DXB
Posts: 938
Thanked: 35 Times
Default MYGIG unit.Can this be retro fitted to another car?

I have just borrowed this MYGIG REZ unit from a dodge durango 5.7L.The unit has all the features one would look for like a 20 GB hard disc, DVD player,mp3,wma, jpeg, CD,USB port in front and an AUX in.
However what I need to know is if this can be retrofiited to any other car.I am not sure if this has an amplifier built in,but hey thats not a big deal I can buy what i need to from the market here. The rear of the HU has connectors which confuses me so if the gurus can shed some light on this it will be of great help.Thank.
Attached Thumbnails
MYGIG unit.Can this be retro fitted to another car?-mygig-front.jpg  

MYGIG unit.Can this be retro fitted to another car?-mygig-rear-panel.jpg  

CaliforniaKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 02:16   #2
BHPian
 
lucifer919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 240
Thanked: 307 Times
Default

the head unit generally does come with a plug in unit in the back so that the wires can just be matched to the harness in you car. check if you will be able to get hold of that unit coz without it i really dont think you will be able to figure out the connectors avan if you had a detailed wiring instructions for the unit.
lucifer919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 10:51   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: goa
Posts: 1,066
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

From what I see in the pics, You will need to find out the pin configuration of the back plat, second find out if the system has any coded locks system where in it requires a digital code form the ECM [this was a anti theft system introduced on many cars].
And third is what ever car you want to us it in should have the space to accommodate this unit.
I think this system has a built in amp.
dinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2008, 18:21   #4
BHPian
 
CaliforniaKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IND + DXB
Posts: 938
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Do you think the wires to connect can be bought from elsewhere?
CaliforniaKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2008, 18:43   #5
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

This is one of the HUnit i would love to have as it has almost all the things i was looking for !! phone,usb,etcc

now for the topic you can look for the wiring connectors at :

Wiring harnesses, car wiring harness, car stereo wires, metra, best harness, into car, into radio, harness, car stereo, factory radio, pioneer, kenwood, clarion, eclipse

Crutchfield: LCD TV, Car Audio, Home Theater, Speakers, Plasma TV

If i have seen the connectors point and the model i would have given you the direct link for the harness ,you can search these sites and definitely you will get something ..

DO keep us updated
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 00:51   #6
BHPian
 
CaliforniaKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IND + DXB
Posts: 938
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

The units still at home awaiting the necessary plugins.However if I were to source these cables http://www.installer.com/pdf/allgig-hs.pdf what are my chances to get it started.The connection shown in page 6 is what I am referring to.Thank you.
CaliforniaKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OH NO!! Another Ferrari Enzo crashed.. and another... and another (w/ video) GTO The International Automotive Scene 72 26th May 2007 14:09
Another crash, another fire, another death in Delhi suman Street Experiences 7 15th December 2006 15:30
Can the Cup Console in Newer Zens be fitted onto the Old ones raghuram.cg Modifications & Accessories 11 17th June 2006 16:40
can 32-bit ecu's be fitted in e-2 cars speedsatya Technical Stuff 4 12th March 2005 10:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks