Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th November 2008, 11:40   #46
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

like what badboy said , cf and roadrunner are just software which uses touch screen interface. They have media players , nav , odb all integrated. To intergrate google earth , u need a plugin for the same
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIP View Post
i'm a newbie to the carputer scene. just wondering...how do windows apps like google earth work on 'centrafuse' ? is centrafuse a shell for windows ??
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2008, 12:18   #47
Senior - BHPian
 
smsrini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,003
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

nc1bad,

Where have you mounted the carpc display ?

thx

Never mind, I saw the pics in the earlier posts. Great Install BTW.

cheers

Last edited by smsrini : 9th November 2008 at 12:30.
smsrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 21:50   #48
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 116
Thanked: 13 Times
Default centrafuse

Did you install destinator separately for Centrafuse. I was just checking their website and the centrafuse std does not come with navigation support. and the Centrafuse navigation is $250 which is double of the standard version
suneet_ag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 12:13   #49
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default destinator standard

no,destinator engine is standard,comes for all versions. The 250 dollars one is with the maps of the entire country/region. U can buy the std edition and use maps of sat guide, they to use destinator as thier gps engine.
The best gps maps for india are from Mapmyindia,who use iguidance as their gps engine. CF has a plugin for iguidance but sadly mapmyindia do not have maps that run on pc platform.

Quote:
Originally Posted by suneet_ag View Post
Did you install destinator separately for Centrafuse. I was just checking their website and the centrafuse std does not come with navigation support. and the Centrafuse navigation is $250 which is double of the standard version
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 14:11   #50
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 19
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nc1bad View Post
Anyways the processor is Intel Atom ( dual core) with 1 gb DDR2 PC 667 ram, it plays games like GTA SA without any problems.
nc1bad

Are you sure that it is a dual core processor?

I think only D945GCLF2 board [with Atom 330 Processor] is dual core.
varma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 13:56   #51
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

hi,will have to check bro,uptill now i was under the impression that its dual core!
Quote:
Originally Posted by varma View Post
nc1bad

Are you sure that it is a dual core processor?

I think only D945GCLF2 board [with Atom 330 Processor] is dual core.
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 10:09   #52
sdh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 143
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

D945GCLF has Atom 230 which is single core
D945GCLF2 has Atom 330 which is dual core
Both Atoms run at 1.6 GHz

D945GCLF2 has a lower height heatsinK and fan on the 945 chipset and can fit in slimmer boxes.
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 10:44   #53
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 19
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Does anyone know whether D945GCLF2 is available anywhere in India. It is not available in Hyderabad.
varma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2010, 17:28   #54
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 196
Thanked: 33 Times
Default Need help with Touch sceen

Hi Guys,

I have been trying to buy a 7" VGA Touch Screen for my CarPC project. Can anybody point me to a place where I can buy one in India?

Thanks a ton.
gharika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 00:33   #55
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

You can buy it from iRide Technologies - Home Do post up the new thread for your car-pc project.
@mods. i think we should have Universal Thread for CAR-PC in DIY section. so people can post the query in that specific thread.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 12:08   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Nice DIY.
From your PC i am also going to make a car PC for my safari.
Just a few queries i had:
1) Did you used Harddisk of a PC, Does it works well even in bumps(bad roads.), I have heard that HDD are very sensible to jerks.
2) What is a centrifugal system as you have mentioned and where did i get it.
3)Where did you got the touch screen. and does it needed any specific software to work with Windows on car PC.
4) What was PC model.
5) Can you play games on it.

At the end a really astonishing job from you.
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 12:51   #57
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
Nice DIY.
From your PC i am also going to make a car PC for my safari.
Just a few queries i had:
1) Did you used Harddisk of a PC, Does it works well even in bumps(bad roads.), I have heard that HDD are very sensible to jerks.
2) What is a centrifugal system as you have mentioned and where did i get it.
3)Where did you got the touch screen. and does it needed any specific software to work with Windows on car PC.
4) What was PC model.
5) Can you play games on it.

At the end a really astonishing job from you.
hey thanks!,
1) well from the time of creating this thread till now, there hasnt been any issues regarding the hard disk. Nop skipping, failures etc.
2) Centrafuse is a all in one audio and video infotainment system. Google centrafuse or fluxmedia and it will take you to their website. Incase you dont want to shell out around 6k, you can use road runner software. Its free
3) Touch screen and power unit is best bought from iRide. The website is mentioned in posts above.
4) No PC model, it was assembled by me, stick to Atom based mother board for costs and low profile
5) Depends on type of games you want to play. My system can handle street fighter , nfs 3 type of games, did actually try more, but whatever works on entry level laptops should work on my pc. If you want high end games then change your config accordingly. Also iRide and complete built systems available , you can check with them.
hope this answers most of your doubts.
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 02:59   #58
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

nc1bad, NICE carputer, congrats man.

can you post pic taken in night when your In-Dash lights are on and shows the illuminated USB ports.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 12:03   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nc1bad View Post
hey thanks!,
1) well from the time of creating this thread till now, there hasnt been any issues regarding the hard disk. Nop skipping, failures etc.
2) Centrafuse is a all in one audio and video infotainment system. Google centrafuse or fluxmedia and it will take you to their website. Incase you dont want to shell out around 6k, you can use road runner software. Its free
3) Touch screen and power unit is best bought from iRide. The website is mentioned in posts above.
4) No PC model, it was assembled by me, stick to Atom based mother board for costs and low profile
5) Depends on type of games you want to play. My system can handle street fighter , nfs 3 type of games, did actually try more, but whatever works on entry level laptops should work on my pc. If you want high end games then change your config accordingly. Also iRide and complete built systems available , you can check with them.
hope this answers most of your doubts.

Thanks! my doubts above are cleared, except some more:

1) Did you carried all electrical wirind work in your car on your own. I am an electronice engg. should i do it on my own or take some electrician help.
2) Will i have to remove my HU for this purpose.
3)How did you connected car speaker's to PC sound card as both have different type of inputs and outputs.
4) How did you powered PC and by which power supply, Where did i get it.

Sorry if i am asking too much.
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 12:33   #60
BHPian
 
nc1bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Panjim
Posts: 166
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
Thanks! my doubts above are cleared, except some more:

1) Did you carried all electrical wirind work in your car on your own. I am an electronice engg. should i do it on my own or take some electrician help.
2) Will i have to remove my HU for this purpose.
3)How did you connected car speaker's to PC sound card as both have different type of inputs and outputs.
4) How did you powered PC and by which power supply, Where did i get it.

Sorry if i am asking too much.
hi no problem, glad to cater to your doubts:
1) The layout and procedure of wiring was done by me, but i did use a professional audio installer to get much cleaner and concealed job done. I had to remove seats, dash panel etc so i needed someone who knew how to do all this. You can do it on your own its not that difficult.
2 & 3) For audio from your PC , you can connect the pc either directly via amp, or using line in on your HU or if you have a pioneer HU , you can do what i did, mod the cd changer cable to allow AUX IN.
4) I used the SMPS from iRIDE, it switches on when the key is switched on and also shuts down when the key is removed, it has a lot of features which are beneficial.
nc1bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata Safari Dicor LX 4 X 2 or Safari Dicor EX 4 x 2 Digitalmafia SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 55 1st June 2009 17:31
When Safari lovers TD a Scorpio mHawk! EDIT:Its a Safari tsk1979 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 281 6th May 2009 10:46
New Safari or Used Safari-Help EDIT: Booked New LX now gops SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 92 7th April 2009 20:25
What to choose safari petrol or Safari diesel 2.2L 007 Bond SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 22 31st August 2007 21:56
Safari TCIC LX or Safari DICOR LX arindam SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 19 10th January 2007 17:42


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:00.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks