Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th October 2008, 02:02   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Yes it does have a mono option as well.
Ok so if i add an ID sub 12" (dont know the model but the retail price was 10K) and add a mono or a 2chl amp, which do u think would be a better choice. IF both of them gives the same power (lets say 500Watts). Will a mono be a better option or a 2 chl?? as both are gving the same output.
Sorry i am new in this so dont know much in terms of the technical stuff.
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2008, 08:04   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

@ nitin : I would seriously advise you to audition a couple of brands BEFORE buying like JBL, GZ, Illusion, ID, Pio etc. Dont get biased based on recommendations only. Buy what YOU like.. Who knows you end up being happy with Pio only..

mono's are better but if the power is the same, why bother!
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2008, 21:16   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
@ nitin : I would seriously advise you to audition a couple of brands BEFORE buying like JBL, GZ, Illusion, ID, Pio etc. Dont get biased based on recommendations only. Buy what YOU like.. Who knows you end up being happy with Pio only..

mono's are better but if the power is the same, why bother!
Thanks panky. Yes i will try to audtion some if they let me do so cause most of the time shopkeepers dont let buyers audition them saying that its packed. Will see if Driven can let me do it.
I agree when a mono is giving the same output as a 2 chl amp, then there is no need to go for a mono.
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2008, 22:18   #19
BHPian
 
vishnuvijay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cochin
Posts: 173
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
No you're quite right about the price.

No I don't think the price is that low in the grey market.
sam bhai, as per your suggestion i had bought the JBL GT5 A3001 last week.
but i paid only rs 5500. . i don't think it's a fake, it came with full cover and booklet and not a second hand piece.
vishnuvijay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2008, 23:22   #20
BHPian
 
noidaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Noida
Posts: 994
Thanked: 260 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
Ok so if i add an ID sub 12" (dont know the model but the retail price was 10K) and add a mono or a 2chl amp, which do u think would be a better choice. IF both of them gives the same power (lets say 500Watts). Will a mono be a better option or a 2 chl?? as both are gving the same output.
Sorry i am new in this so dont know much in terms of the technical stuff.
Is that a IDV3 you are referring to? Costs around 11,500 now.

The option of 2CH or MONO should vary from which amp you are going to choose as price would vary. Please dont go by the peak rating of a amp.Look at the RMS it gives.
noidaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 00:01   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Hey Nitinralli

I too am getting my install done pretty soon.

I'd recommend you to audition some rides before you finalize

I'd say get a mono for driving a sub


Audition the following cars for the following combos

For JBL/GZ - Audition Panky12345's ride
For ID/ ID combination - Audition Hellspawns ride

Contact LBM and Gunbir , they can help you with more auditions.

One more thing , be very sure about how much you want to spend , because if later you want to exceed it , you will have to start the auditioning process again.

Cheers
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 00:53   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Is that a IDV3 you are referring to? Costs around 11,500 now.

The option of 2CH or MONO should vary from which amp you are going to choose as price would vary. Please dont go by the peak rating of a amp.Look at the RMS it gives.
Yes i think that's the one, damm if the price has increased .
Sure, infact that's what i wanted to say that if both the mono and 2 chl amp are giving (e.g 500 RMS W) then which one would be the better option. In this case will it make sense to spend extra for a mono??

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Hey Nitinralli

I too am getting my install done pretty soon.

I'd recommend you to audition some rides before you finalize

I'd say get a mono for driving a sub


Audition the following cars for the following combos

For JBL/GZ - Audition Panky12345's ride
For ID/ ID combination - Audition Hellspawns ride

Contact LBM and Gunbir , they can help you with more auditions.

One more thing , be very sure about how much you want to spend , because if later you want to exceed it , you will have to start the auditioning process again.

Cheers
From where are you getting it done and when.

Will try getting in touch with them for audition. I have so many doubts for this upgarde that i cant even think properly now. Another problem is that should i change the rear parcel tray of Fiesta with MDF tray as i am getting the cranking noise rightnow with my Pio VCCS sub powered with Sony 4chl amp. So if i add a new sub with a mono, that rear tray will be ripped apart. Problem is that in Fiesta, the rear seatbelts are coming from the tray so dont know if a MDF tray can be fitted. If not then i might have to get that tray heavily damped.
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 01:12   #23
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
Thanks panky. Yes i will try to audtion some if they let me do so cause most of the time shopkeepers dont let buyers audition them saying that its packed. Will see if Driven can let me do it.
.
I am sure driven will let you audition the equipment provided they have it.
And pm me regarding auditiong my setup.

@abhinav.gupta88
:thanks buddy.feels good that you liked my setup enough to recommend it.Cheers!
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 00:22   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

Guys any idea about the JVC prices. Saw an ad in the newpaper few days back showing there latedt range. Anyone any idea where can i get to see these JVC products?? Would like to see the amp's and sub.
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 00:42   #25
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
Guys any idea about the JVC prices. Saw an ad in the newpaper few days back showing there latedt range. Anyone any idea where can i get to see these JVC products?? Would like to see the amp's and sub.
I would suggest you stay way from jvc unless and until its touch screen head units that you are after.
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 09:36   #26
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vishnuvijay View Post
sam bhai, as per your suggestion i had bought the JBL GT5 A3001 last week.
but i paid only rs 5500. . i don't think it's a fake, it came with full cover and booklet and not a second hand piece.
No, I don't think it is a fake either. At 5500/- that is a really good deal. God bless the grey market.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 09:53   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellspawn View Post
I am sure driven will let you audition the equipment provided they have it.
And pm me regarding auditiong my setup.

@abhinav.gupta88
:thanks buddy.feels good that you liked my setup enough to recommend it.Cheers!
Not a problem buddy.

Your install was quite good but maybe I like more kick that's why .
But i do tell all guys who ask me to audition rides like your's ,panky's , venkats


P.S : Even LBM's , just for a joy ride
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 19:06   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 634 Times
Default

Tech SpecsProduct Type - Car subwoofer driverDimensions (WxDxH) / Weight - Car subwoofer driver : 6.2 in Diameter 12.5 in / 9.7 lbsDimensions - Diameter - 12.5 inSpeaker Type - PassiveSpeaker Diameter - 12"Nominal (RMS) Output Power - 300 WattMax (RMS) Output Power - 600 WattResponse Bandwidth - 18 - 2000 HzInput Impedance - 4 OhmSensitivity - 90 dBConnectivity Technology - WiredSpeakers Included - Car subwoofer driver - 12" - 300 Watt - 18 - 2000 Hz - 4 Ohm - wiredDriver Details - Car subwoofer driver : 1 x subwoofer driver - 12" - polypropyleneConnector Type - 1 x subwoofer input ( banana/spade x 2 )

Can this Sub handle a Mono or a 2chl amp giving him 500+ RMS. or will it be too much for this sub?
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2008, 19:49   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

500 watt wont be an issue for this sub.
Because this is 600 watts peak rms

Means the maximum this sub will run on is 500 watts ( due to amp being of 500 watts only)
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2008, 06:42   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
Nominal (RMS) Output Power - 300 Watt
Can this Sub handle a Mono or a 2chl amp giving him 500+ RMS. or will it be too much for this sub?
If you supply 500+ RMS to a 300W sub, you're going to fry it!

BTW: There are better options than Pio 304F.. some better models take 400W!

Last edited by panky12345 : 10th October 2008 at 06:45.
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion to choose SUB-Woofer Sowmya In-Car Entertainment 43 18th January 2009 23:45
Upgrade Suggestion for Sub and HU Nandan In-Car Entertainment 4 9th December 2008 18:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:08.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks