Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th April 2009, 19:07   #91
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4ugr8 View Post
Looks great Smokkin, Another DIY job to your credit. The screen looks much better now in its OE position. What are the other two upgrades??
One is the head lights. Other space navigator (like the i drive on the bmw.)
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2009, 23:25   #92
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,452 Times
Default

Awesome looking - much better than when we met up !
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2009, 22:32   #93
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Nice work, smokin! Looking good!
thanks man !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4ugr8 View Post
Looks great Smokkin, Another DIY job to your credit. The screen looks much better now in its OE position. What are the other two upgrades??
you got it !! yup i am waiting for the mmi to integrate with my car pc and it will be almost 98% completed


Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
Awesome looking - much better than when we met up !
yup definitely sir !! what's your update ? i hope it has been solved till now





now a small new upgrade or just say a small add on !!

got a powered usb hub and done the DIY to get it in working at DC power supply

but now need help from you all guys to get it fitted at the best place to fit the hub

i am thinking to place it just ahead of the gear knob where design has been made
any thing i can do to protect it from dust ?

pics laterz
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2009, 01:34   #94
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

smoking. You going to use that Griffin Power Knob ?
Also Please enlighten me more on Space navigator.
Why are you using Powered USB HUB ? For Sound Card ?
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2009, 08:39   #95
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
smoking. You going to use that Griffin Power Knob ?
Also Please enlighten me more on Space navigator.
Why are you using Powered USB HUB ? For Sound Card ?
no bro griffin just worked as a volume knob nothing else but this will work a lot you can search 3d connexion space navigator ,you will get the idea what is it!
if you have seen the mmi in audi or idrive in bmw ,you will see that they can do each and everything for the entertainments like switch between the apps,phone,navigation,radio,cd's volume etccc

i am over with my usb on -board ones so needed a hub but which can support 2.0 in each and every port ,tht's why i got this

this is cheaper than the logitech ones and work flawlessly and good speed.



P.S. If any mod see this i want you to shift the thread to the DIY section
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2009, 23:23   #96
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

few pics in day time of the screen


haven't go the time to click pics of the usb hub as the console doesn't arrived today too !
will work on it tomorrow
Attached Thumbnails
My Car Pc!-080420091099.jpg  

My Car Pc!-140420091116.jpg  

My Car Pc!-140420091119.jpg  

My Car Pc!-140420091117.jpg  

smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2009, 03:18   #97
BHPian
 
NomadVagabond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dilli Meri Jaan
Posts: 75
Thanked: Once
Default

I'd soon do something like this. Have been keeping an eye on SSD drives and sine they've come down pretty much would love to have one of these installed in my Gypsy very soon. Along with a Garmin bluetooth GPS receiver this would rock

Regards,

Anirban.
NomadVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2009, 20:56   #98
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Update on the console and Space Navigator!
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2009, 05:41   #99
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Smokin, We'll love to see recent pics of your carputer ?

was the USB hub fixed as desired ?
Iam very much inspired by your carputer and starting to build it as soon as i've the someone to help me modify my OEM bezel.

As its a Santro, i would like to call it San-puter
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2009, 08:45   #100
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Smokin, We'll love to see recent pics of your carputer ?

was the USB hub fixed as desired ?
Iam very much inspired by your carputer and starting to build it as soon as i've the someone to help me modify my OEM bezel.

As its a Santro, i would like to call it San-puter

sure will click it soon ..

Yes the usb hub was a powered one and i altered it to work with 12v battery (as it comes on 22v ac power adaptor)

sure anytime sir


Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Update on the console and Space Navigator!

you know console has been done but the space navigator giving problems on vista looking for a laptop on windows xp for few days ,anybody who is kind of enough for the same ,i will be thankful to him
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2009, 23:54   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Hey Smokin,
Congratulations on your excellent carputer setup.

How is Space Navigator working. Does it integrate with Centrafuse?
From what I have read around, while Griffin powermate has fewer movements, it can be very easily setup for any application.
While it is very difficult to setup Space Navigator for the same. It is only designed and useful for 3D based applications - like Google earth and some 3D navigation games, that also provided somebody has written an interface between the two.

When I was searching, I could not find any interface for Centrafuse. So I was wondering how you are using it?
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2009, 12:36   #102
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Hey Smokin,
Congratulations on your excellent carputer setup.

How is Space Navigator working. Does it integrate with Centrafuse?
From what I have read around, while Griffin powermate has fewer movements, it can be very easily setup for any application.
While it is very difficult to setup Space Navigator for the same. It is only designed and useful for 3D based applications - like Google earth and some 3D navigation games, that also provided somebody has written an interface between the two.

When I was searching, I could not find any interface for Centrafuse. So I was wondering how you are using it?

I am using the rbc9 driver for the same ,search it ..

but i tried on my friend's laptop(xp) it was working but i have the vista one and it's not working on it ,i am still looking for a laptop which has the xp in it ..few of the people uses it and it's working flawlessly

for car pc ,do find the exe file for 800*600 resolution one otherwise it will be big for the screen
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2009, 12:46   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

But isn't it also too sensitive for a car PC environment. I have heard that minor unintended movements (while car is moving) trigger commands which makes this very unusable on move.
It looks a wonderful controller on paper, I would love to use it, I hope it can be made to work (practically) in a car environment also and does not end up being an expensive paper weight.

BTW why aren't you running XP. Support for VISTA with most of the drivers is very poor and you might face lot of compatibility issue, plus the system resources that Vista consumes is another pain.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2009, 20:31   #104
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
But isn't it also too sensitive for a car PC environment. I have heard that minor unintended movements (while car is moving) trigger commands which makes this very unusable on move.
It looks a wonderful controller on paper, I would love to use it, I hope it can be made to work (practically) in a car environment also and does not end up being an expensive paper weight.

BTW why aren't you running XP. Support for VISTA with most of the drivers is very poor and you might face lot of compatibility issue, plus the system resources that Vista consumes is another pain.

I agree with you here but the driver i am talking about here has the feature called DEAD ZONE you can setup the value that until that value crosses on that axis the function will not activate ( i hope you got my point)

On car pc i am running the xp but due to a pend rive the virus came and i dont have the cd -rom withme it's lying with my friend and his house is under renovation

so waiting for a formatting of windows

i was talking about my laptop on which i will try run the SN
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 22:13   #105
BHPian
 
3danikesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 51
Thanked: 44 Times
Default

Amazing Project
I have 3dconnexionís Space Pilot with me and as far as I know space navigator is of no use for you as it will only work on specific applications like 3dsmax and Maya. Space navigator is a entry level product form 3dconnexion and they might have added support for regular windows navigation.
Check out this link
3Dconnexion
Attached Images
   
3danikesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:09.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks