Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th October 2008, 10:47   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Elegant ( the one in Lajpat Nagar) quoted my friend 8000 for damping ( in honda city)
But the prices of the speakers et all were acceptable and quite at par with many shops.

But the installation / damping and wiring charges were too high
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 11:34   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Thanks Gunbir jee
Any such system or maybe usability in India ?
Not so far Abhinav. There have been rumors but I am not aware of any usable information that suggests XM availability in India anytime soon.
Theoretically, XM is the same as WorldSpace (derived technology, same platform). Has anyone tried whether the XM section receives WS signal? The UI might be different, but the radio section is expected to be the same.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 11:37   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

How can it be recieved. Do we need to install some recievers or something?
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 11:43   #64
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Thanks Gunbir jee
Any such system or maybe usability in India ?


@ LBM , SAM - What are the specs of the 2200.1?

BTW OT : My college - friend Sudeep has started his install at Driven and was pretty pleased with the way things were going
JBL amp is 2200 rms at 1-4 ohms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill View Post
abhinav,
waiting for pics of power cable and inline fuse holder!
No pics were taken while installation was done. It is a Finolex 50 mmsq (0awg) wire. Right now there is no fuse but will be added later on.

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 24th October 2008 at 11:47.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 11:53   #65
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
No pics were taken while installation was done. It is a Finolex 50 mmsq (0awg) wire. Right now there is no fuse but will be added later on.
So the entire run of 0ga cable from battery to the amps isn't fuse protected? And I assume like 99% of all installs, this cable is running under the carpet. I'm sorry but this is unacceptable by any standards. If the cable heats up / insulation melts in any spot, it will short to ground. And then you will have this:

I hope you saved enough money on the fuseholder / fuse to buy a LOT of fire extinguishers.

Disclaimer: Heck what do I know, I'm just a marketing guy!

Last edited by Technocrat : 24th October 2008 at 13:26. Reason: Posting externally hosted images is not allowed
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote Received Infraction
Old 24th October 2008, 11:57   #66
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
So the entire run of 0ga cable from battery to the amps isn't fuse protected?
Does it really makes a difference? The reason I'm asking is mine doesn't has one!
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 12:22   #67
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 699
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Thanks for the info LBM!
Do plug in the fuse at the earliest.
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:02   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill View Post
Thanks for the info LBM!
Do plug in the fuse at the earliest.

Will be doing tomm...he is coming for the same. Along with other tweaks and small little things.

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 24th October 2008 at 13:05.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:13   #69
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 699
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Do post the pics to!
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:27   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Well said Gunman sir,Proper fuse block/distribution block are a must gear for any hi-end installation,all these small components are darn darn expensive if bought in good quality and proper Ampere specs.

I take care if anything goes wrong the Power cables to the Amp/Accessories is cut-off before it reaches inside the cabin area.

ICE installs gets expensive only when installation is done in details with all the possible plug n play wire harness/crimps/Horn clips/Brass clips/splitters/connectors are installed.

Infact sometimes the installations + Labour comes nearly half the price of the entire ICE,but its an advantage that you wont have any power draining issues,no excessive load on Headlight/Wipers no tripping/clipping of amplifiers.And nothing will go wrong with the complete ICE equipments for years.

Ramie
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:46   #71
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
How can it be recieved. Do we need to install some recievers or something?
To qualify for the "XM Ready" tag, the receiver / decoder is supposed to be built-in, along with the User Interface for channel selection and the Channel information display abilities - . One needs to only add the antenna (like the WS antenna box, but much smaller).
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 13:59   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
I take care if anything goes wrong the Power cables to the Amp/Accessories is cut-off before it reaches inside the cabin area.
Well that's the difference between a good installer and a bad one. Safety First!
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 15:42   #73
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
So the entire run of 0ga cable from battery to the amps isn't fuse protected?
Absolutely true,I second that.Not even the extra lighting/show-off accessories are sometimes fuse protected

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Does it really makes a difference? The reason I'm asking is mine doesn't has one!
Just my 2cents.

Panky Paaji it makes alot difference,sometimes the amplifier main-board fries without even damaging the Fuse(s) over it my personal experience.

Last edited by ramie2400 : 24th October 2008 at 15:44.
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 16:07   #74
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
Panky Paaji it makes alot difference,sometimes the amplifier main-board fries without even damaging the Fuse(s) over it my personal experience.
Ohh! Thanks so much ramie! It wasn't your 2 cents, rather a very useful info that I was unaware of. Thanks again!
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 16:24   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Does it really makes a difference? The reason I'm asking is mine doesn't has one!
Engine compartment fuse is an absolute must. One shouldnt have a car audio system without that little piece of equipment.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice Needed for Drawing Room Stereo: Harman/Kardon and Infinity vs. Bose manveet Gadgets, Computers & Software 137 28th October 2017 07:01
Fiesta 1.6 S(Q) V2.0™ - Harman/Kardon | Illusion Audio | Boston Accoustics | Alpine sathee46 In-Car Entertainment 239 1st June 2010 16:01
Harman Kardon CA470 or ? slayer87 In-Car Entertainment 17 18th May 2010 12:12
Frankmehta’s eS(Q)teem®: Eclipse| Illusion Audio| DLS| Genesis| Monster|Hermit frankmehta In-Car Entertainment 888 11th September 2009 12:19
Drive+Play from harman Kardon, problem voice calls a4_attitude In-Car Entertainment 2 13th September 2008 15:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:12.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks