Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th May 2009, 11:00   #76
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
D4 => 2 ohm

Alpine MRP M500 (500W at 2)
Alpine MRP M1000 (phew!)
MRP1000 should be too much!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
The 1600A will put out 600w at 2 ohms, according to the specs at Crutchfield. That looks really good. Guess you want to keep the ICE all in the same family huh?

As JK said, since you have a D4, you'll be wiring it to present a 2 ohm load to the amp. 600w to the IDQ will rock! No use pushing any more to it anyway. With this much power, I'd suggest a 0.75 cu.ft. sealed box itself. IMHO the sub will sound the best that way.
Nothing like that, i shall get the amplifier which suits my needs the best. I have not seen much of 1600a on the forum, so was just asking. If i had to go with the same family i should be looking at Harman Kardon CA1500, I'm not sure if i can get it here!

I already made my box to .9 Cuft, should i go ahead or change it?

Last edited by sathee46 : 14th May 2009 at 11:07. Reason: Typo
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 11:20   #77
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

^^ 0.9 is also quite fine, it is within the IDQ's enclosure requirements. (0.55cu.ft - 0.75cu.ft - 1cu.ft.).

The reason I mentioned a smaller box volume is that I've felt that the sub sounds a bit better in a box with 0.75cu.ft. volume. I use the same sub, and I used to run it in a 1 to 1.1cu.ft. (just a shade above 1 cu.ft.) box at first. Then I moved it into a 0.75 cu.ft. box and liked the improvement.

Since you have already made the box, don't bother. If you get into the mood for some experimentation later (or now), you can try fixing a wooden block that displaces (right usage?) about 0.15cu.ft. or so in the box. If you don't like it, just remove the block.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 11:32   #78
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I think i shall reduce the size of the box, as the box is yet to be carpeted. Should i take anything else into considration as mine is a sedan?

The IDQ enclosure recommendations say that the speakers displacement is .07 CuFt? should the box be made cosidering this displacement? or should i just make a box for .75 CuFt

Last edited by sathee46 : 14th May 2009 at 11:35.
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 12:44   #79
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

^^ ID don't mention that we need to account for the driver's displacement also, when we build a box. Generally all manufacturers mention enclosure specs after taking the driver displacement into account. So, we just need to build the box to the volume they've recommended (and disregard the driver's displacement).

It would be nice if JB could comment on this, since he would know exactly how it is, in the case of the IDQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
...the IDQ's enclosure requirements. (0.55cu.ft - 0.75cu.ft - 1cu.ft.).
I made a boo-boo here. The enclosure suggestion ("Normal" size) is 0.85cu.ft & not 0.75cu.ft. I just checked the manual.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 13:35   #80
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
^^ 0.9 is also quite fine, it is within the IDQ's enclosure requirements. (0.55cu.ft - 0.75cu.ft - 1cu.ft.).

The reason I mentioned a smaller box volume is that I've felt that the sub sounds a bit better in a box with 0.75cu.ft. volume. I use the same sub, and I used to run it in a 1 to 1.1cu.ft. (just a shade above 1 cu.ft.) box at first. Then I moved it into a 0.75 cu.ft. box and liked the improvement.

Since you have already made the box, don't bother. If you get into the mood for some experimentation later (or now), you can try fixing a wooden block that displaces (right usage?) about 0.15cu.ft. or so in the box. If you don't like it, just remove the block.
Just adding a block will of course decrease the volume but wont it hamper the waves ?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 13:50   #81
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I'm reducing the Box size a bit to .8 CuFt!! as it's also within the IDQ's enclosure requirements.

There is a possibility to get the Harman Kardon CA1500M, the MRP of the AMP is 30K (With B&W). What do you guys think about this? the spec of the AMP is below

* MONO 1-channel BASS amplifier
* CLASS-D Technology
* Power Output (4 Ohms): 360W RMS x 1
* Power Output (2 Ohms): 600W RMS x 1
* Power Output (1 Ohm): 900W RMS x 1
* Crossovers:
* Low Pass - 12dB/Oct
* Variable Subsonic (12dB/Oct.) incl EQ.
* Phase Shift (Variable 0-180)
* Subwoofer Level Remote Control included (wired)
* Auxiliary Line-Level Outputs (direct-through)
* Signal-to-Noise (dBA) 106dBA (reference rated power into 4 ohms)
* THD 0.05% (rated power at 4 ohms)
* Frequency Response 14Hz - 100kHz
* Dimensions (L x W x H) 234mm x 404mm x 62mm

http://www.harmankardon.com/product_detail.aspx?Region=EUROPE&Country=GB&Langu age=ENG&cat=AMP∏=CA1500M&sType=C

Last edited by sathee46 : 14th May 2009 at 13:54.
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 14:21   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

the specs look quite good! 900W @ 1 ohm is good.
you could also try out the JBL 14001 which costs around the same, but gives out more power.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 14:33   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Just adding a block will of course decrease the volume but wont it hamper the waves ?
Not really. Some boxes also use braces inside to make them stronger, but even this does not affect things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathee46 View Post
I'm reducing the Box size a bit to .8 CuFt!! as it's also within the IDQ's enclosure requirements.

There is a possibility to get the Harman Kardon CA1500M, the MRP of the AMP is 30K (With B&W). What do you guys think about this? the spec of the AMP is below
0.8cu.ft. should be good!

The H-K amp looks good. 600w at 2 ohms is more than you'll really need, so lots of headroom right there. It will go with your current 4-channel too! Since it is stable to 1 ohm, it takes care of future upgrades in the sub-section, if needed *evil smiley*.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 14:59   #84
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
the specs look quite good! 900W @ 1 ohm is good.
you could also try out the JBL 14001 which costs around the same, but gives out more power.
But 1500 watts @ 2Ohm?? wont that be too much for the IDQ. It's rated at 350/700 - RMS/MAX

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
0.8cu.ft. should be good!
I'm going ahead!! it's about to be finished

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
The H-K amp looks good. 600w at 2 ohms is more than you'll really need, so lots of headroom right there. It will go with your current 4-channel too! Since it is stable to 1 ohm, it takes care of future upgrades in the sub-section, if needed *evil smiley*.
Yeah it sure is looking great, but sourcing this one could be a problem. And I need to extend my budget for this one. I could not even find a single review for this AMP, But I can trust it would do a great job by seeing the CA470's perfomance. If i'm not getting any other options I will go for this!!
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:02   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,229 Times
Default

jbl gto70001 <15k is a good option. why i said 14001 was because i meant you get much more power for the price!
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:04   #86
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

I think 7001 should help. As long as you dont mind Class AB.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:11   #87
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I had used the GTO1004 before the CA470, and I felt the 1004 was a bit harsh on the components(It was mighty powerfull though). How well would the 7001 go with the existing setup? How well with the IDQ?

I would be happy if the budget comes down but I do not want to end up with another upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
I think 7001 should help. As long as you dont mind Class AB.
I really do not mind.. you know me, i'm not an audiophile to know the deference between the Class D & AB just by listening, All i want is it should blend well with my existing setup, to be pleasant & get low at the same time

Last edited by sathee46 : 14th May 2009 at 15:18.
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:12   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

sathee46 congrats. You are lucky you got your hands on IDQV2

IMHO get the HK amp
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:16   #89
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathee
I would be happy if the budget comes down but I do not want to end up with another upgrade.
Maybe Sam could arrange for a demo of the 7001.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2009, 15:23   #90
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
sathee46 congrats. You are lucky you got your hands on IDQV2

IMHO get the HK amp
Same opinion. Get HK.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice Needed for Drawing Room Stereo: Harman/Kardon and Infinity vs. Bose manveet Gadgets, Computers & Software 137 28th October 2017 07:01
Harman Kardon Drive Play Display z klasse In-Car Entertainment 4 9th June 2010 13:08
Harman Kardon CA470 or ? slayer87 In-Car Entertainment 17 18th May 2010 12:12
vRs(q) Monster : Eclipse | Illusion Audio | Harman Kardon | Stereo Integrity abhinav.gupta88 In-Car Entertainment 691 11th October 2009 04:02
Drive+Play from harman Kardon, problem voice calls a4_attitude In-Car Entertainment 2 13th September 2008 15:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:11.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks