Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2010, 10:28   #181
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I have checked the output. it is not as loud compared to any HU. Currently my Gain Knob are set 70%. So after using preamp i can set it lower to put less stress on AMP and better sound quality.
No USB gigy. I am done with USB Soundcard in carputer.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 00:45   #182
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Its been long time since i updated this thread. though nothing has changed in setup. CAR-PC works smooth. Serviced my car today at MASS. SA told me that Cranking Volt. was showing 9.90. which is not good. You might need to change the battery soon.
I felt this in last moth when my car-pc was shut down itself couple of times due to low voltages.
Battery is around 2 and half years old. SA told me that it could be due to all the gears that you have installed.
Many times i had never cranked the engine while showing my car-pc stuffs to people or while at home configuring or updating few software. :( So now i have stopped using it without cranked up the engine.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 01:39   #183
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
Its been long time since i updated this thread. though nothing has changed in setup. CAR-PC works smooth. Serviced my car today at MASS. SA told me that Cranking Volt. was showing 9.90. which is not good. You might need to change the battery soon.
I felt this in last moth when my car-pc was shut down itself couple of times due to low voltages.
Battery is around 2 and half years old. SA told me that it could be due to all the gears that you have installed.
Many times i had never cranked the engine while showing my car-pc stuffs to people or while at home configuring or updating few software. :( So now i have stopped using it without cranked up the engine.
Is it your first battery or the second one.

Do you get the battery water level checked apart from normal servicing?
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 03:13   #184
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

ghpk. it is 1st battery . Yes water level checked every 2 month.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 21:13   #185
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Even i faced this and there after stopped running the setups without the engine on.

You crank and the carputer restarts, then you know time for new battery.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 23:09   #186
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
ghpk. it is 1st battery . Yes water level checked every 2 month.
Strange to see poor battery life, I think you should check with other swift owners who don't have carputer to check how long their battery lasted.

from my personal experience 2.5 yrs is too less for a battery to go exhausted, my santro is running on first battery for last 4.5 yrs. but i don't have capruter though.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 16:44   #187
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
... Yes water level checked every 2 month.
Why would one want to subject a sealed maintenance free battery (I am assuming you have that) to that so often? One risks introducing contaminants into the battery, which ultimately bring down the life of the battery. Unless the cranking is labored (you can make out by the sound of cranking), it is better to leave the battery alone.

It is unlikely that the CarPC will shutdown due to low-voltage conditions (other than cranking condition). The PSU should have an input tolerance of +/-20% over 12V (9.6-14.4V), outside of which - mostly on the lower side - it will cause the PC to shutdown. At other times, the voltage is unlikely to dip below 9.6V at all, even if you have used the PC with engine off for a long time. Better to check the wiring thoroughly.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2010, 02:22   #188
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

@DerAlte. As far as i know it is not maintenance free battery i have asked MASS about it. I have checked the wiring. it is perfectly fine.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 18:14   #189
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Carputer and ICE Installation : Swift

Knock Knock !!
Yesterday i enabled the bass boost to +6 db on my sub channel and the output and blend with front components is quite good now. i want to know does bass boosting put any extra load on AMP ?

Current setup is
GZRC 16x Front components
GZ 12 XD-AL Sub.
GZ 4 channel AMP.


currently above setup is running in bridge mode. So 12 XD-AL is not getting proper power.

i do have some moolah to upgrade on ICE.

All i want to do is now put the mono AMP for SUB to get the real kick of 12 XD-AL.
Suggest me some good Mono AMP for my 12 XD-AL. I have budgate around 8-10K.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 17:21   #190
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Carputer and ICE Installation : Swift

Update !!
I have moved my Zotac ION to HTPC and bought new MSI Amd Fusion E350 Motherboard. So far better performance and slightly faster resume and hibernate timings.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 18:14   #191
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default Re: Carputer and ICE Installation : Swift

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
Knock Knock !!
Yesterday i enabled the bass boost to +6 db on my sub channel and the output and blend with front components is quite good now. i want to know does bass boosting put any extra load on AMP ?
Yes bass boost will load both your woofer and your amp. However if the wofer does not exibhit any signs of stress this is safe to do.

Sings of stress may be bottomming out of the woofer, like the woofer is hitting something, and/or distorted sound doe the woofer's suspension being pushed way past it's linear excursion.

An amplifier's stress (clipping and producing harmonics) may also be heard.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 18:36   #192
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Carputer and ICE Installation : Swift

navin sir. I was just experimenting with bass booster and i have disabled it currently.
After few days of listening to it. it was making uncomfortable listening experience.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maruti Swift : DIY Carputer And ICE'D! ACMohan In-Car Entertainment 10 14th August 2012 19:39
Clarion, Alpine, Illusions, JBL & Sony and a Carputer too (trying to add) esteem_lover In-Car Entertainment 71 29th April 2011 23:00
Carputer for Swift - ROAD KING VS SSAS-SUZUKI1003 - Need Advice!!! johnruben In-Car Entertainment 10 12th November 2010 15:46
Carputer/LCD installation required varunj In-Car Entertainment 1 25th September 2009 07:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks