Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th January 2009, 23:16   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Its a stereo unit with analog/digital out. have a look here
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

Techgage - ASUS Xonar U1 USB Audio Station

Virtual-Hideout | ASUS Xonar U1 USB Audio Station Review

Last edited by gigy : 19th January 2009 at 23:18.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2009, 21:06   #17
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hey guys. I am going to Hermit for installation tomorrow morning. Will update the thread later with pics.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 18:22   #18
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
Hey guys. I am going to Hermit for installation tomorrow morning. Will update the thread later with pics.
oh kool.. hope everything comes out nice.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 14:10   #19
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Ok Guys. I am back to my home swet home.
Installation went smooth. Neat installation.
Currently Carputer is not working though. coz DC-DC power supply that I got from iRide went Kaput. We checked the voltages on multimeter. and it was all fine. after connecting it to power supply. some smoke came up from Power supply so we immediately disconnected it. I called Sheldon. Descibed my cable connectivity. All were fine. So it was Power Supply faluty. he said that he will send me the new on Monday.
I will upload the pics tonight.

On the ICE.
We tested it with Ajay's HU and Laptop with My Creative X-Fi Sound card. and i would say just one Word. Freaking Awesome Output. GZ produce damn good Sound.
more updates later.
SDH,Monty,Gigy and others if possible could you guys post your Power Supply connectivity Pics.
Thanx
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 14:36   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 73
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
Ok Guys. I am back to my home swet home.
On the ICE.
We tested it with Ajay's HU and Laptop with My Creative X-Fi Sound card. and i would say just one Word. Freaking Awesome Output. GZ produce damn good Sound.

Thanx

Hi Nisarg - how much did your pay for the USB Creative X-Fi ?

RGDS
IRfan
Irfanulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 17:07   #21
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irfanulla View Post
Hi Nisarg - how much did your pay for the USB Creative X-Fi ?

RGDS
IRfan
3100. bought it from Amazon.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 19:45   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 73
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
3100. bought it from Amazon.
do they ship to India ?

thanks for the price info

RGDS
Irfan
Irfanulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 22:27   #23
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I bought it via 3rd person from other forum . PM me for more details.
carputer Guys .. please give your inputs. I cant wait to turn on my carputer.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 00:59   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I have attached the connection diagram for your reference. did you reverse any of the positive wires with ground ones?
In my setup,
J1 is connected to battery through a guarded switch(to manually shut off in case of any hanging issue) and fuse
J3 is tapped from the acc wire.
J4 is grounded to structure.
J6 goes to amplifier through a switch( to shut off amp in emergency)
J8 goes to motherboard
J9 not in use.
J10 was not disturbed.
Last two days i am working overtime changing my ICE wirings. It was a stressful job pulling the 2g power wire around the car. i had to remove trims of my amplifier to fit it in boot.going for a 5 channel setup now. had i seen your post earlier would have clicked pictures of the power connector as it was all open. made the spacer rings today for components.left with the component installation for tomorrow and operation of 5 channels. i have a long drive planned day after tomorrow and my baby needs music.
Attached Thumbnails
Carputer and ICE Installation : Swift-clipboard01.jpg  


Last edited by gigy : 14th February 2009 at 01:10.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 01:30   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,546
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

@nisarg... congrats buddy!!!!
extreme_torque is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 02:06   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
badboyscad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,444
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post

J3 is tapped from the acc wire.
@ gigy : What does the "acc wire" mean? I've left J3 untouched in my setup, where should i connect it? please elaborate gigy.
badboyscad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 06:45   #27
sdh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 143
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

The ACC refers to the wire that carries 12 volt when ignition key is turned on. If you do not connect this wire from your PSU, the power supply will not come on.
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 10:19   #28
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Attaching the pics. will update later with details. bit busy at work.
Attached Images
          
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 10:51   #29
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

why not install the USB ports in that place below the AC controls? Also why expose the XO?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 11:07   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Neat install of amplifier there, is it fan cooled? I would also like to do it that way.
The crossover unit is not in a good place as it can be kicked by driver or co passenger and during rains wet shoes sprinkle water over it.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maruti Swift : DIY Carputer And ICE'D! ACMohan In-Car Entertainment 10 14th August 2012 19:39
Clarion, Alpine, Illusions, JBL & Sony and a Carputer too (trying to add) esteem_lover In-Car Entertainment 71 29th April 2011 23:00
Carputer for Swift - ROAD KING VS SSAS-SUZUKI1003 - Need Advice!!! johnruben In-Car Entertainment 10 12th November 2010 15:46
Carputer/LCD installation required varunj In-Car Entertainment 1 25th September 2009 07:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks