Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th July 2009, 17:48   #106
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srikant View Post
Guys me and my friends are planning to install a carputer for my friends swift petrol. I have some questions on that.
1. Can we use his existing desktop for the project?
2. The existing SMPS shows 400 watts, isn't it on the higher side for carputer?
3. What modification should i do to drive the desktop CPU from car and what change should be made to SMPS?

Thanks
Srikant
You'll Need a DC - DC power supply to run a PC in Car.

Modifying a AC SMPS to fit and serve a carputer is a Horrible Idea, cause it will not work the way DC-DC Power supply are designed.

You can use your desktop pc, but it will have multiple drawbacks
Size, Power consumption etc
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2009, 18:16   #107
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
GIGY. it is ON/OFF switch. have connected it directly to battery's + and -
It is the master power switch to on the PC.
As everybody pointed out two big pins are for "+" in from battery and "+" out to load. those two are not interchangeable. a smaller one will be for led "-".
A desktop pc can be used with a DC-DC psu if you make sufficient space available. A 2.5 hard disk is more shock proof. a solid state one is recommended. dont use smps, i have wasted lot of time and money on it, not practical.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2009, 18:17   #108
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srikant View Post
Guys me and my friends are planning to install a carputer for my friends swift petrol. I have some questions on that.
1. Can we use his existing desktop for the project? ...
A desktop PC will not be energy-efficient when used in a car, though it will definitely work the way it is supposed to. The SMPS rating is an indicative maximum, but need not consume that all the time. The easiest would be to minimise the hardware complement - throw out anything and everything that is not necessary

* get a car inverter of moderate rating to drive it OR
* modify the SMPS to accept 12V as input, instead of the usual 230V (this is not a simple modification) OR
* buy a higher power DC-DC converter for use in the car
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 00:08   #109
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
I am sure the "+ve and -ve" are going into switch only for L.E.D.

The circuit which switch will ON/OFF will have only one wire i.e. +ve.

there should be only two Large Points (connectors) on the switch which will toggle connectivity with switch position on/off.


EDIT: How many pins you have at the back of switch ?

If it has 3 in all, 2 goes to LED (+ve and -ve )and one goes to output taking current from One Terminal shared from L.E.D.
Yes . it has 3 pins on the switch.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 00:27   #110
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Since led is working you have got two pins connected right. the third one remaining will power the pc.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 00:29   #111
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

yes. 2 pins connected.
and 3rd one should be connection to ignition wire ? right ?
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 00:52   #112
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

One "+" is connected to battery (must go through a fuse). second "-"one is grounded to car body. Led is glowing when switched on now.
The third pin of switch is to be connected to hot "+" pin of PSU(dc-dc power supply) to make it the master on/off switch for carputer.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 08:46   #113
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Gigy got it exactly what i was trying to say.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 09:06   #114
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

thanx ghpk and gigy. will post the pic.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2009, 11:57   #115
BHPian
 
srikant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 488
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
As everybody pointed out two big pins are for "+" in from battery and "+" out to load. those two are not interchangeable. a smaller one will be for led "-".
A desktop pc can be used with a DC-DC psu if you make sufficient space available. A 2.5 hard disk is more shock proof. a solid state one is recommended. dont use smps, i have wasted lot of time and money on it, not practical.
What alternative can i use for SMPS in the CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
A desktop PC will not be energy-efficient when used in a car, though it will definitely work the way it is supposed to. The SMPS rating is an indicative maximum, but need not consume that all the time. The easiest would be to minimise the hardware complement - throw out anything and everything that is not necessary

* get a car inverter of moderate rating to drive it OR
* modify the SMPS to accept 12V as input, instead of the usual 230V (this is not a simple modification) OR
* buy a higher power DC-DC converter for use in the car
I did plan for a car inverter and have ordered for a 300 watts Axiom car inverter. Things are just in planning stage as of now. Looking out for alternatives too. Any suggestions are welcome.

I am not an expert in Electrical and electronics. So would be great if someone could explain the procedure.

Thanks

Sri
srikant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 03:52   #116
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

A touch screen and a dc-dc psu are a must for trouble free integration to car. you can look at dual core atom for 5k in miniitx form.Put in a list of items you have presently, it will help in planning.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 17:59   #117
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

New location of my GPS. Locked the position quite fast now.
Attached Images
 
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 11:48   #118
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore/London
Posts: 126
Thanked: Once
Default

Nice.. Whats the GPS receiver make and model. Also did u integrate it with CF2.0 or had to load different maps specific to India?
kiran1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 22:58   #119
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Kiran. GPS Receiver is GlobalSAt BU-353. And yes i have purchased the Satguide Map.
all you have to do is copy the Map Folder into CF Dir. and load the MAP in CF.
nisarg86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2009, 23:23   #120
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore/London
Posts: 126
Thanked: Once
Default

Thanks Nisarg. Now is there any way that I can use the GPS receiver of Nokia N97/iPhone 3G/Blackberry Bold.

All of them have Bluetooth but its the question of using their receiver to transmit the data to the Car PC. Also I understand that it will drain the battery at an alarming rate.

btw I see the GlobalSat BY-353 is available for approx 3k. Hope its the right price?
kiran1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maruti Swift : DIY Carputer And ICE'D! ACMohan In-Car Entertainment 10 14th August 2012 19:39
Clarion, Alpine, Illusions, JBL & Sony and a Carputer too (trying to add) esteem_lover In-Car Entertainment 71 29th April 2011 23:00
Carputer for Swift - ROAD KING VS SSAS-SUZUKI1003 - Need Advice!!! johnruben In-Car Entertainment 10 12th November 2010 15:46
Carputer/LCD installation required varunj In-Car Entertainment 1 25th September 2009 07:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks