Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment

Old 27th January 2009, 16:45   #1
Senior - BHPian

Default Custom Sub Box - Your Views Please

The 10" sub I currently have(Philips 200WRMS) is in a sealed MDF wedge shaped box (don't have the recommended box enclosue for this sub)

Length 11"
Width 11"
Height1 6.5"
Height2 7.5"

Discounting the thickness of the MDF,that amounts to approx 0.35cu.ft

This box was custom made to be accommodated under the center seat of my Versa,but got made in a hurry esp when I was a novice in ICE.

It sounds decent with the engine in idle,but with the car in motion,some of the bass gets cut out.

Having tried all kinds of combinations and even moving the box upfront(I posted on this in the DIY forum),I am contemplating a revision as under:

Length 17"
Width 14"
Height1 6.5"
Height2 7.5"

That translates to 0.6cu.ft(after discounting the MDF thickness).

Please advise on the following so that I can take a call.

1.Will the sub sound better in this enclosure(I read that typically,sealed enclosure subs require 0.6-1.2cu.ft to perform best)?
2.In case it has to be ported, any special points to be noted?
3.This box will have the sub off center viz. the 10" opening will be created towards one end of the box and not in the center - that should not matter will it?

Request Help Sirs
vigsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 17:07   #2
Senior - BHPian

Make the bigger box. The efficiency should improve. Off-center sub is not a problem, in fact it's better that way.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 18:13   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

@Ajay, do you think specifying a volume will help vigsom better ?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 18:23   #4
Senior - BHPian