Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2009, 12:33   #241
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Which sub are you currently using ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 12:45   #242
Senior - BHPian
 
chiragh_bir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In front of you :P
Posts: 1,123
Thanked: 69 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Which sub are you currently using ?
bhool gaya?
Am using the same Blaupunkt
chiragh_bir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 13:16   #243
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiragh_bir View Post
bhool gaya?
Am using the same Blaupunkt
I thought you sold that one. Well 2 x SPL in ported that too in getz i don't think they will fit, but i could be wrong. Have to check the box specs.

Also if you are going to use 1004 to power 2 subs then you have set gains perfectly on both channels else 1 sub will play louder than the other.

And i don't know why you want 2 subs ? You are already feeding the sub 300W RMS and its capable of 600W RMS. Get a MONO of atleast 500W RMS @ 4 ohm and feed the sub with it.

BTW yours is 2 OHM DVC. Is there a model with 4 ohm DVC ? If there is a 4 OHM DVC the ask Puri to swap this with 4 OHM DVC. Then u can power both the coils in bridged mode and feed the single sub with 600W+ RMS from 1004 and get a new amp for components.

- Buying MONO will set you back by 12K appx.

- Buying a SUB + new BOX + JBL A604/664 = 10K for sub & box + 5-6K for AMP that is 15-16K.

Better buy a MONO i would say

Last edited by abhibh : 26th April 2009 at 13:17.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 17:13   #244
Senior - BHPian
 
chiragh_bir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In front of you :P
Posts: 1,123
Thanked: 69 Times
Default

how about JBL 75.4?

any problems with that amp?
chiragh_bir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:24   #245
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

There isnt any problem with the amp.
What are you planning to power off the 75.4?
The subs/the compos.

I liked Abhibh's suggestion.
If you can get it replaced by a D4, you can power it at 2 ohms and play the subs at nearly full potential.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:41   #246
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

@ abhibh: its a 4 ohm DVC.

so one can power one coil with 2 channels each. hence the 1004 can be given to the sub totally.
and you can get a good 2 channel or 4 channel for the fronts
Attached Thumbnails
Getzy ICED !-blpsubvspl155fd2.jpg  


Last edited by frankmehta : 26th April 2009 at 19:43.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:47   #247
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Now why u want 75.4 ? For compos or sub.

Frank the sub Chirag is using is 2 OHM DVC. If he can swap for the 4 OHM DVC then he can use 1004 to power both the coils of 4 ohm DVC.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:48   #248
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

are there more varieties? i thought there is only a 4ohm available
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:57   #249
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
are there more varieties? i thought there is only a 4ohm available
Well chirag told me his sub is 2 OHM DVC. The same is available in 4 OHM DVC as you have posted the pic below. We also have 8 OHM DVC in the market.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 19:59   #250
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

chiragh can we have some confirmation on this? check the rear of the sub and tell us soon.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 20:06   #251
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: panchkula
Posts: 362
Thanked: Once
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

sorry posted in reply to an old post.

Last edited by bharti22shresth : 26th April 2009 at 20:08.
bharti22shresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:48   #252
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Now why u want 75.4 ? For compos or sub.

Frank the sub Chirag is using is 2 OHM DVC. If he can swap for the 4 OHM DVC then he can use 1004 to power both the coils of 4 ohm DVC.
I think the 1004 is 2 ohms stable in bridged mode. And he can run a single sub with his 1004 like I mentioned when he first inquire how to wire the sub. But instead of running two subs on two 1004`s it is better to go for a minimum 1000-1500 watts rms mono amp.

And I think Chiragh has a 2 ohms DVC.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:53   #253
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

Chiragh just confirmed to me that its 4Ohms. he went down and opened the sub.
LBM paaji, are you sure GTO1004 is stable @ 2 ohms when bridged? I really doubt that, since the specs on the JBL site dont mention 2 ohms bridged power anywhere
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 00:08   #254
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Chiragh just confirmed to me that its 4Ohms. he went down and opened the sub.
LBM paaji, are you sure GTO1004 is stable @ 2 ohms when bridged? I really doubt that, since the specs on the JBL site dont mention 2 ohms bridged power anywhere
Hmm...my bad...was confused with the older 75.4 .as it was 2 ohms stable..

Ok then it is 4 ohms DVC. then it is good
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 00:10   #255
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

yea, good no? i suggested he should use all 4 channels of the amp for one sub. 600+ watts of power will make his desire to get 2 subs vanish (for some time, its chiragh, nothing lasts for too long ;-P
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Once upon a time, a Qualis was ICED. (Again!) speedzak In-Car Entertainment 106 3rd April 2009 03:31
Damn, a good install makes a difference!! My OHC Vtec ICED again GTO In-Car Entertainment 60 17th July 2008 12:39
Esteem ICEd...Work begins.. FATAL3RROR In-Car Entertainment 30 14th October 2007 14:33
Old Model Beetle being modded and ICED blueraven316 Super-Cars & Imports in India 47 9th August 2007 18:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:26.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks