Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th February 2009, 12:15   #31
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

I am going to add another amp thats for sure. But maybe it'll be a mono or another 4 ch.

This is another point of confusion because If i add a 4ch amp later, a 2 x 4 ohm DVC would be ideal, but that would mean i would be underpowering the sub with just 120W from the 8401 until i upgrade again.
For a 2 x 2ohm or a 4 ohm SVC, i'd have to get a high power 2 ch or an overkill mono which would drive up the cost significantly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
anyways, listen, do you plan to upgrade to a mono or something?
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:19   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

honest suggestion. if the friend can lug in a powerful 2 channel amp and ONE sub, you are set.
something like one of the pana 2 channel amps which XetaGLG just bought, or like the RF amp that i bought. cost us about $99. why not think that way. you wont need 2 subs, and mono for one sub is slight overkill nah?


OR
just the 2 channel amp from usa and sub from india.. thats an even better option, whatsay?

Last edited by frankmehta : 11th February 2009 at 12:22.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 13:02   #33
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Since the budget is 6K for now. Buying both the amp and the sub wont be possible.

However the GZ sub is still at the top of my list, and i'll buy from US only if im getting a much better sub for the same (or slightly more) price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
honest suggestion. if the friend can lug in a powerful 2 channel amp and ONE sub, you are set.
something like one of the pana 2 channel amps which XetaGLG just bought, or like the RF amp that i bought. cost us about $99. why not think that way. you wont need 2 subs, and mono for one sub is slight overkill nah?


OR
just the 2 channel amp from usa and sub from india.. thats an even better option, whatsay?
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 17:33   #34
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Finally ive decided to buy a Ground Zero GZ TW MK2.

What is the ideal enclosure size (sealed) ?
And where do i get a Neutrik speakon connector from?
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 18:04   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adityamunshi View Post
Finally ive decided to buy a Ground Zero GZ TW MK2.

What is the ideal enclosure size (sealed) ?
And where do i get a Neutrik speakon connector from?
Finally - you decided on the right choice

Did you audition it on your kind of music?

Speak to Zohir/Boom for procuring the Neutrik speakon connector
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 19:03   #36
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

I havent auditioned it yet, but i'll do that if i happen to come to Bombay. Still have a few weeks coz I'll get the sub only after i complete the enclosure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Finally - you decided on the right choice

Did you audition it on your kind of music?

Speak to Zohir/Boom for procuring the Neutrik speakon connector
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 19:56   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adityamunshi View Post
Finally ive decided to buy a Ground Zero GZ TW MK2.

What is the ideal enclosure size (sealed) ?
And where do i get a Neutrik speakon connector from?

good boy! just go to the GZ site and get the enclosure specs. or PM ajay and ask him to make you the enclosure while you're buying the sub from him. he himself will put in the neutrik speakon connectors and make it ready to use
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 10:33   #38
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
good boy! just go to the GZ site and get the enclosure specs. or PM ajay and ask him to make you the enclosure while you're buying the sub from him. he himself will put in the neutrik speakon connectors and make it ready to use
Nah, DIY is more fun .

EDIT : The GZ site has specs for a 'bandpass' closed enclosure. Is this the correct one ?

Last edited by adityamunshi : 6th March 2009 at 10:35.
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 10:39   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

if you want to DIY, then just see a couple of threads where someone has mounted the GZ in a sealed box. the dimensions are in this PDF. yes, aditya, i think the closed box is what you should be looking at. why not pm ajay for the dimensions. im sure he is going to help you out with them..
Attached Files
File Type: pdf gh_gztw12mk.pdf (53.9 KB, 254 views)
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 21:49   #40
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Whats the difference between GZ TW 12 MK2 and GZ TW 30T ?
One is 5490 and the other is 7990. Specs are almost the same.
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 21:52   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

Tw30T is not 7990 man!
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 21:57   #42
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

It is, atleast according to the latest pricelist sent by B&T.
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 22:01   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

ooops. i'd say mk2 then
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 22:06   #44
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Ive got some bad bad news. B&T just told me that the MK2 has been disconned. And its just the 30T now. There goes my decision
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
ooops. i'd say mk2 then
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 11:40   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,870
Thanked: 2,260 Times
Default

The mk2 is discountinued? Thats bad news! And quite weird. Is there a new product in the same range in the offing?
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which one: Dual 8" sub V/s Single 10" sub? Invinsible In-Car Entertainment 53 28th May 2009 13:33
ground zero Sub vs image dynamics Sub rohanGT In-Car Entertainment 105 29th March 2009 05:01
Suggestion to choose SUB-Woofer Sowmya In-Car Entertainment 43 18th January 2009 23:45
Hyundai owners help me choose a remote locking system... neverclever Modifications & Accessories 12 28th July 2008 20:51
Help Me choose between a Baleno & NHC shobhit15 Sedans 47 9th August 2005 09:40


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks