Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2009, 14:45   #1
BHPian
 
zacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 39 Times
Default Locked Headunit - KENWOOD

Hi All, I am facing a problem with my head unit in belano. The head unit is a kenwood make. It was all working well and good. But when i did the gas conversion, the battery has been removed and the head unit got locked. I have tried the default password, but didnt work. I really dont remember setting a password for it. Is there any way i can unlock it?
zacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 16:10   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 283 Times
Default

Sigh !
Same thing happened to my stock Kenwood HU. It was removed to test another HU. When it was re-installed we discovered it was locked. This is apparently a security feature. If I recall correctly (this happened in 2007), the FM still plays, but CD's cannot be played unless it's unlocked.

The dealership where the install was taking place, called up Kenwood service. They said, the passcode must have been provided in a small barcode-type sticker along with the HU manual provided by Maruti. I'm sure I did not receive any such passcode. Maruti dealership had no clue. Was forced to buy a new HU.

There must be some way for Kenwood to dig up the code based on the serial number? I never followed up though.

What default code did you try to use?
shuvc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 17:37   #3
BHPian
 
zacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

i dont remember the default code. It was given by one of my friend who works in MAS which was of no use. You were lucky that your FM worked. In my case the head unit is good for nothing as of now. Is it possible to decode it? I dont want to go for a new one unless and otherwise there is no other go. The model no: is KDC-MP 5029V.
zacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 18:30   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,452 Times
Default

That is completely weird. Do other HUs have the same issue? If so, Kenwood should be a nono for all of us. Who bothers with HU passwords, anyways?
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 19:19   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Locked HU.
Damn thats sad.
I wouldn't prefer a HU with password which autolocks if battery is removed or something.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 21:14   #6
BHPian
 
stefanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goa
Posts: 212
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

You can try one thing, put your head unit in a deep freezer, for 30mins to 1hour, this sometimes unlocks head unit codes and allows you to enter a new code, it doesn't always work but definatly worth a try. I had done this a few years ago on a blaupunkt h/u.

Good luck, if that fails try google maybe an alternative solution could be found.
stefanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 07:43   #7
BHPian
 
zacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

stefanm, even i have heard of freezing the HU will unlock the code. But didnt belive coz it sounded that way. Now if the only option left out is to change the HU, then I think its worth a try. BTW what was the result in your case?
zacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 11:33   #8
BHPian
 
stefanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goa
Posts: 212
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zacs View Post
stefanm, even i have heard of freezing the HU will unlock the code. But didnt belive coz it sounded that way. Now if the only option left out is to change the HU, then I think its worth a try. BTW what was the result in your case?
It worked for me, but make sure you keep it well sealed in a couple of plastic bags to avoid moisture, once removed from the freezer( i would recommend 1 hour) leave in for a time to get to room temperature, then give it a try.
stefanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 12:14   #9
BHPian
 
zacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

will do it tomorrow. Will update on it. Thanks
zacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 12:54   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

never heard that putting it in a deep freezer can help sounds petty weird and i am surprised that it worked for you (stefen),i hope this will works for zacs also.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 13:01   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

My guess it that freezing may be erasing some data stored on permanent memories (flash), not so sure. But if that is true, it may clear some other data/settings as well, other than password thingy!
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 13:19   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

@zacs you can try this Security unlock code KENWOOD most models - FixYa

don't know whether this will work or not but found it so.

Last edited by karankapoor : 21st March 2009 at 13:21.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 14:28   #13
BHPian
 
zacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

thanks karan for the web link. Hope it works for me. Let me try out this and hence the freezing part is kept on hold. thanks once again
zacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 21:43   #14
BHPian
 
ankit_chd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 262
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanm View Post
You can try one thing, put your head unit in a deep freezer, for 30mins to 1hour, this sometimes unlocks head unit codes and allows you to enter a new code, it doesn't always work but definatly worth a try. I had done this a few years ago on a blaupunkt h/u.

Good luck, if that fails try google maybe an alternative solution could be found.


Shocking , never heard any such thing ever . Though i would never try such thing ever .
ankit_chd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 23:57   #15
JPL
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: XXXXX
Posts: 241
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Seems like breaking the ICE!
JPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10K Bluetooth Headunit - Pioneer vs Blaupunkt vs Kenwood jinu_joseph In-Car Entertainment 54 8th April 2016 22:14
Help - Kenwood KDC - 4028 - locked pin code madan80 In-Car Entertainment 12 13th July 2008 12:29
Safari 2.2 Ad - Why/how is the front wheel locked? Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 38 26th October 2007 12:53
Locked the keys in the car bruce Technical Stuff 40 24th October 2005 01:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:11.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks