Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th April 2009, 21:00   #1
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Finolux FlameGuard in Chennai

Guys,

Anybody know where I can buy Finolux Flameguard 2/4 Gauge wire in Chennai?

I have inquired some shops in Parrys, but they are not selling in loose, I have to buy 90 meters bundle.(????)

Any idea? or any other cheap options for 100Amp DC Power cables?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2009, 22:46   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

finolux cables are easily available in almost in all cities try and search other shops inlocal market.
what amps are you planning to hook with this.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2009, 22:54   #3
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

my current setup needs around 1000w RMS. Two 2 Class-D amps and one PC)


Will finolux 4 gauge wire can handle this power for 4-5 meters.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2009, 23:11   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...ick-wires.html

I'd say atleast 2 gauge.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 00:53   #5
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

But as per this site, I can run a 4 gauge wire, if i have only Class-D Amps, isn't it?

http://bcae1.com/images/swfs/systemdesignassistant.swf

Is a PC considered as Class-D or Class-AB?

I can get a 2 Gauge wire, but isnt it too big to run from battery to boot?

Also, instead of a single 2 gauge wire can I run two 4 gauge wires thru a distribution block?

And should I get flameguard or Finolex Automotive cables? http://www.finolex.com/pdfs/battery-cable.pdf

Last edited by ibm_jennifer : 7th April 2009 at 01:09.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 09:22   #6
BHPian
 
sathee46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Did you try the finolex distributor, a small shop in kasi chetty street? he might be able to help you. If you enquire you should be able to locate the shop easily. You could also try some other brands, even i tried for finolex and settled for L&T.
sathee46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 10:07   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 703
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

You can try moore market . Infact you can even buy better industrial wires with teflon insulation .There are only 2 shops in moore market which deal with wires and both are shops are opp to metro water .
greatmana2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 19:08   #8
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

I went to moore market and I have bought a 4 gauge wire called FIBRECLASS, Is it ok to use it in car? They charged me some 500 Rs. per kg. (They dont have teflon)
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 19:14   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

why 4 gauge ?

hmmm wire at 500 a kg this is something very weird.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 19:19   #10
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 703
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Well 4 gaugue should work . But I never thought you would be going today . I could have guided you to the right shop there . May be you can PM me , if you want speaker wire or anything else . I can guide you to the right shop .

Disclaimer : Apart from buying wire for my needs I am in no way associated with the shops there .
greatmana2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 19:38   #11
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 703
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
I went to moore market and I have bought a 4 gauge wire called FIBRECLASS, Is it ok to use it in car? They charged me some 500 Rs. per kg. (They dont have teflon)

I guess you would have bought a industrial wire , and Yes they sell in Kilos there .

Cost of copper is around 350-400 per KG ,Dunno the exact price .

So when the coppr is drawn as wire and insulation is used it works out to that price .

I remember buying a copper flat for a heat sink and It cost around 400 per KG for a flat strip
greatmana2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 20:08   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Wire sold in kgs? A brand called "FibreCLASS"?
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 20:58   #13
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

The cable I bought was "polyflex uninyvin". They have shown me Finolex also, but they dont recommend it.

As per the shop people(!), this 4 gauge wire can handle upto 200 Amp current. And it will work inside the fire also(??????????). it will not heat up like PVC and it will withstand at 105"c too. They are calling it as FibreGlass, but its actually a NYVIN Cable. Nyvin cable are actually used to connect industrial UPS systems to Batteries.

Quote:
Nyvin-Cable has a copper conductor and an insulation of PVC compound and glass braid with an outer protective covering of Nylon.
Its made by a company at: Miracle Cables (India) Pvt. Ltd., Index
  • These Cables are used for Air Craft Wiring, Panel of UPS systems. The Cables are suitable for use where, in continuous service, no combination of ambient temperature and conductor current produces a stabilized conductor temperature in excess of 105șC.
    Standard As per KSD-07-73.
Quote:
I could have guided you to the right shop there . May be you can PM me
Is it in the old moore market exactly opposite to metro water? The street has all used iron products, am i right?

Last edited by ibm_jennifer : 7th April 2009 at 21:16.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 21:21   #14
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Here is the product link: Uninyvin Cables,Uninyvin Aircraft Cables,Uninyvin Cables Manufacturer,Uninyvin Aircraft Cables Supplier


Quote:
Conventional Cables are made out of Bare Copper bunched together with Normal PVC Insulation capable of withstanding 70.c. As per Indian Standard (IS 694) the cable size is increased to get the required rating. There is no risk of conductor heating but the increased size means increase in cost and cable weight. The increasing trend in the metal cost also attributes to its share in the cost factor. Resistence is comparatively low in Normal PVC cables. The more conductors mean more investment and additional weight for the equipments. Using aluminium conductor is never suggested as a solution because bending the cable will break the conductors and there is always to take once size higher than copper cable to get the required ratings.

Uninyvin Cables are made out of Annealed Tin Copper Conductor laid up uniformly with Heat Resistant PVC insulation capable of withstanding 105.c conductor temperature during the continuous operation. To get more fire retardancy Nylon and Fiber Glass braiding is provided in the outer layers. Nylon and Fibre Glass is known for high temperature withstanding properties and the heat generated in the conductor due to continuous operation will not be felt in or outside the UPS system and thereby no heat effect to the installation and surrounding areas. Fibre Glass braiding is also resistance to Fluids, Acids and Chemicals since the UPS installations are mainly in the commercial or industrial premises where oils. Chemicals, and solvents are being used as in put materials for manufacturing.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2009, 22:31   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
I remember buying a copper flat for a heat sink and It cost around 400 per KG for a flat strip
this is called copper strip and is used for grounding purpose,this is sold at per kg rate but not wires.

ibm you should have gone for 2 gauge wire
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chennai - Theni - Munnar - Dharmapuri - Chennai Round Trip Marlon Travelogues 18 9th March 2012 10:38
Chennai-Rameswaram-Kodaikanal-Chennai ram2004 Travelogues 25 9th February 2011 10:22
Road conditions needed- Chennai to Trichy / Chennai to Tiruvannamalai sanand_81 Route / Travel Queries 17 19th December 2008 09:29
Weekend Trip - Chennai - Bangalore - Chennai vij4all Travelogues 0 18th November 2008 23:00
Chennai-Thalaivasal-Chennai:500km:One day trip.. Ford_madhan Travelogues 2 3rd December 2007 20:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:31.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks