Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th July 2009, 14:12   #136
BHPian
 
pradster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 283
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Alrighty, time for me to step into the ring now that I have joined the Linea club as well

@prnvaa : any luck with the aux in/USB cable install? I have most of my music on my zune and I am in no mood of having to burn CD's One route for me is to install the aux in cable the other being to order the microsoft zune car pack.


What say fellas?
pradster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 16:55   #137
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 739
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@pradster,
If you connect the zune to the USB, does it not detect it as a storage device?
Has anybody connected a zen/iPod etc in thsi way successfully?

It seems a new Blue and me update is released. maybe this has better support for zune/iPod/zen etc.
neotraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 21:28   #138
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

What is the connection between 'Blue and me' and Zune etc. connectivity?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 22:03   #139
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default Update

The jl audio cleansweep cl441dsp has arrived . Now the wait's on for the amp.


Blue&Me
: Where can the B&M updates for the Linea be downloaded from?
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2009, 23:35   #140
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 739
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Lineas with Blue&me system have a USB slot.

BTW I tried out 3 MP3 players by connecting to the Linea's USB slot.
ipod nano 2gb - worked
creative zen 8gb - Didn't work
Dell DJ 15gb - Didn't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
What is the connection between 'Blue and me' and Zune etc. connectivity?
The new update to Blue&me is here in international Fiat forums:
(My Fiat Linea MJD E+ Arrived!)http://www.fiatforum.com/blue-me/200...or-review.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post

Blue&Me
: Where can the B&M updates for the Linea be downloaded from?
neotraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 00:02   #141
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,309
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
Blue&Me : Where can the B&M updates for the Linea be downloaded from?
check this out for B&M tech info- Blue & Me - Tech Info and questions and answers - The FIAT Forum
VahanPujari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 00:12   #142
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

@Vahan , Neo - Have either of you updated your Blue & Me?

EDIT: Was reading up on calibrating the JL audio cleansweep.Wondering if the calibration will work even on the USB source? Did not think about this earlier..

Last edited by pranava999 : 15th July 2009 at 00:16.
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 10:03   #143
BHPian
 
ghost_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NEW DELHI
Posts: 148
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
The jl audio cleansweep cl441dsp has arrived .
Hey! So u went and splurged on the cleansweep.How much did it cost ?
I assume u'r going for a front stage sound set up ??
ghost_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 10:53   #144
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Yes I finally did. Was not in town when it was dropped off by my cousin, so have to find out.Once the amp is here, I'm pretty sure my pay cheque for this month will be exhausted. God help me...

Options are wide open on the setup. Have options for either a 2.1 setup or a 4.1 setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_rider View Post
Hey! So u went and splurged on the cleansweep.How much did it cost ?
I assume u'r going for a front stage sound set up ??

Last edited by pranava999 : 15th July 2009 at 10:54.
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 12:50   #145
BHPian
 
ghost_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NEW DELHI
Posts: 148
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
Options are wide open on the setup. Have options for either a 2.1 setup or a 4.1 setup.
How are you going to do a 4.1 setup? The cleansweep has 4 output channels, according to this image .
Attached Images
 
ghost_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 13:01   #146
BHPian
 
ghost_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NEW DELHI
Posts: 148
Thanked: Once
Default

Also, what happens when you try and change the EQ settings on the HU ? Will cleansweep flatten that as well? If so, then the in built 7 band EQ in factory fitted HU will become redundant. What about bass and trebel settings? Will they be rendered useless too?
ghost_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 14:50   #147
BHPian
 
pradster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 283
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
What is the connection between 'Blue and me' and Zune etc. connectivity?

While blue & me seems to have built in support for iPods it lacks zune connectivity. This is partly because the zune cannot be accessed as a storage drive and partly because of MS oversight. You cant beat the irony that a MS product will work super with an Apple product but not another MS product!

The blue and Me issue is unfortunate as the zune does with the SYNC system that MS produces for ford ( I checked)
pradster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 16:20   #148
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_rider View Post
How are you going to do a 4.1 setup? The cleansweep has 4 output channels, according to this image .
Thanks for bringing that up. Will have to figure out a way. From what I understand the front and rear outputs go into the inputs of the amp.

What I have understood so far is that the cleansweep will basically produce a flat freq response for all four channels.If this is fed into the amp inputs wouldn't the high and low pass filters on the amp then come into play ?

Last edited by pranava999 : 15th July 2009 at 16:22.
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 18:08   #149
BHPian
 
ghost_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NEW DELHI
Posts: 148
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
Thanks for bringing that up. Will have to figure out a way. From what I understand the front and rear outputs go into the inputs of the amp.
That's correct, but u will choose between powering
1)the front speakers and the sub
2)the front speakers and the rear speakers
3)the rear speakers and the sub.

I think you have already the 6.5 inch illusion EL6.1 component for the front and EL52 coaxials for the rear, so options1 and 3 not valid in your case. Even if you decide to add a sub later, where is the signal to power it ? I don't think you'll be interested in splitting rear channel signal and feeding another mono amp to power the sub(considering you took the "cleansweep" route rather than LOC).
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
What I have understood so far is that the cleansweep will basically produce a flat freq response for all four channels.If this is fed into the amp inputs wouldn't the high and low pass filters on the amp then come into play ?
The X-overs in the amp will just filter the sound frequency(read cutoff and not enhance or suppress), so that the correct frequencies are sent to the speakers. The X-overs with your front speakers will take care of this. I've disabled the X-over in the amp in my car and use only the X-over that came with my front components. You have coaxials for the rear and here again, do you really need a X-over since u want to be playing out all the frequencies?
ghost_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 18:37   #150
BHPian
 
pranava999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 820
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Now I am seriously confused and lost . I intend to use a 5 channel amp. I don't think the stock HU speaker level outputs have a dedicated sub level output.

So basically, wouldn't the cleansweep also function as an LOC as it can accept speaker level inputs and then digitally re-eq the stock system output to return a flat signal range across the spectrum to all four channels? Any help would be appreciated.
Gurus


BTW did you get the Linea ICEd, and if you did what did you do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_rider View Post
That's correct, but u will choose between powering
1)the front speakers and the sub
2)the front speakers and the rear speakers
3)the rear speakers and the sub.

I think you have already the 6.5 inch illusion EL6.1 component for the front and EL52 coaxials for the rear, so options1 and 3 not valid in your case. Even if you decide to add a sub later, where is the signal to power it ? I don't think you'll be interested in splitting rear channel signal and feeding another mono amp to power the sub(considering you took the "cleansweep" route rather than LOC).

The X-overs in the amp will just filter the sound frequency(read cutoff and not enhance or suppress), so that the correct frequencies are sent to the speakers. The X-overs with your front speakers will take care of this. I've disabled the X-over in the amp in my car and use only the X-over that came with my front components. You have coaxials for the rear and here again, do you really need a X-over since u want to be playing out all the frequencies?
pranava999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE ICE baby. Punto"ICE"fied Soccerfan In-Car Entertainment 45 10th March 2012 21:40
ICE ICE Baby!!!!!!!!(Swift ICE) scarlet.fever In-Car Entertainment 21 23rd September 2009 20:25
Ooty - my first on MY LINEA, probably the first LINEA TO CLIMB famous 36 hairpin bent vinay.pillai Travelogues 56 13th September 2009 21:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:00.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks