Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th April 2009, 12:37   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...

Hello All,

I want to modify Indica Vista ICE to have thump. Basically I do not want to change stock head unit because it is made for vista and blends with its interiors. I know this head unit is very basic and do not have any pre outs.

Now I want to have some thump in my car. So I want to fit Subwoofer with Amplifier. Now starting problem is that, how can I proceed without preouts. So somewhere I read that "speaker to line out converters" and using "low pass filters" we can facilitate input for subwoofer unit. I do not know how good this solution is? Or to have good sound quality, Do I need to change my stock head unit?

If I do this modification to my current ICE then I will not have control over subwoofer. I have to fit extra button to control subwoofer and this would be wierd. Please give me your inputs.

One more thing, I do not want to spend much on this. For subwoofer I have budget of ~Rs.4k and for Amp ~Rs.3k.

Considering costing limits, I would like to change door speakers also. Please suggest me Value for money door speakers.

Awaiting your helpful suggestions...

Thanks in advance...
sushantr5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 14:15   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

are you sure the stock HU doesnt have pre outs? i think it has one pair
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 15:37   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

I am not sure about number of preouts. I just heard from one dealer. How can I check whether there is preout or not? If stock head unit has one preout then it would be very nice.
Please tell me how I can check whether there is pre out or not?
sushantr5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 16:34   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

just remove the stock HU and check behind it.

aternately, it might be mentioned in the manual
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 21:29   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

the oe clarion HU that comes in the vista is one of the worst head units ever given in a car. i would suggest against it. anyways, its not that well integrated into the center console. go for a pioneer double din like the 6050UB double din and be happy!
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 22:04   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Actually it is a single Din with a double din front.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 22:18   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

i didnt know that. thanks abhi. you could get a single din if you want better sound quality. the kenwood 6539 or the clarion dxz785USB
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 22:28   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

I'd say Clarion.
Have heard only appreciations about it.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2009, 22:30   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

hah, given his amp/sub budget, I'd doubt if he'd cough up the cash for the HU upgrade. And if the guy just needs some bass, let him have it and be happy with his current HU
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2009, 16:58   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Thrissur/Hyderabad
Posts: 77
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Actually it is a single Din with a double din front.
And it is worse than 6050.
ameenmaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2009, 17:43   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

But of course.
Stock HU's are generally not good.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 11:09   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

I know it's worst unit. Probably it is equivalent to Rs.3k HUs from other companies. May be as you all say I should change my HU. But first let me find some fool who will buy this second hand crap from me. May be my dealer will help me in this.

I know my budget is on tighter side. But I would request you to suggest me a good entry level Sub and amplifier with decent quality.
sushantr5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 23:13   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

To checkout whats behind stock ICE, I dismantled Central Console of Indica Vista. Here is the picture story...

Clarion Unit has four preouts..
front left and right
non fader Rear left and right.
Attached Thumbnails
Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170061.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170062.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170063.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170064.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170065.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170066.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170067.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170068.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170069.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170070.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170071.jpg  

Indica Vista Stock ICE modification...-p1170072.jpg  


Last edited by sushantr5 : 9th May 2009 at 23:17.
sushantr5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 23:39   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,866
Thanked: 2,231 Times
Default

oh its a single din HU with a facade of a 2 din HU!
clever clever tata.
buddy, there are 2 preouts, one for the front and the other for the rear speaker or the subwoofer.
id suggest you keep the unit for the time being, and add the amplifier/s and component speakers (front stage and sub stage)
just in case you DONT enjoy this head unit, then only should you change it.
2 preouts on a stock head unit is respectable. in fact commendable!
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 23:45   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

that's very rare to have preouts in a oe head unit, how come tata did this ?

Last edited by karankapoor : 10th May 2009 at 00:01.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Required Indica Vista Safire or Indica Vista TDI Logical Hatchbacks 63 30th October 2011 08:57
That's an Indica. Nope, Vista...Nah Indica!! SIGHHHH! GTO The Indian Car Scene 201 27th August 2010 17:40
First official pics: Indica Vista EV CVT, LHD Vista Interior for Euro markets sidindica The Indian Car Scene 30 5th June 2010 21:03
Indica Vista Official Brochure! EDIT: Vista Now Launched sidindica The Indian Car Scene 233 24th August 2008 18:49


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks