Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2009, 21:26   #1
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Running Power wire under the chassis

Friends,

Is it good or bad to run the 4 GA Power wire from battery to boot (dist. block) thru under the chassis.

My Car is a safari, so good ground clearance and I will use a good tube/heatshrink sleeve.

Is it has any advantage or is it acceptable to run 150 amp current under the chassis?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 21:40   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

under the chassis means outside the car if yes,then no its not recommended.
why you want run the wire from outside.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 21:48   #3
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Yes, its outside the chassis.

The advantages of running the cables outside of the car, the chance of fire will be reduced. And there will be no sound and video interference.

But I am asking you for the drawbacks.

The wire is not normal PVC and it has Nylon and Fibreglass coating. So it will not be scratched easily. Again we are going to run the wire inside a PVC Tube. There is no possibility of the wire to touch the road as there is a Sub frame in Safari under this wire.

I am worrying about heat. Will there any heat under the chassis? Will the wire affected in rainy season?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:09   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

as i said before, running the wire inside the cabin is recommended that's the safest way to do and every one follows this you can use a spring pipe over the wire to be sure that it well protected.

and for running it from the outside never heard/seen anyone doing it this way. i think rain/heat/dust can cause some problem to the wire over the period, not sure though others can confirm.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:15   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
vinaydas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 1,362
Thanked: 85 Times
Default

always possibilities of Rats chewing through.Try running them through side door panels etc
vinaydas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:24   #6
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

But is it safe if I omit the rat chewing drawback. Because I am not going to run PVC wires, its some fibreglass wire, I cant even cut the wire with ordinary knife. its actually made by glass and very strong than PVC.

but i am worrying about heat. Will there any heat under the chassis?

Is it true that I have advantages like less fire and less sound interfere?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:40   #7
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

One drawback can be if at all the power wire gets heated due to the current flowing,
won't water (during rains or in case car goes over water) cause the wire insulation to burn or something? I may be wrong though.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:46   #8
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

So I hope its not a common practice. Thanks friends, I dropped my stupid idea and I will try to install under the carpet as usual. Any more suggestions welcome.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:48   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

I'am unable to understand, why do you want to do the unusual way? It is only because of fire hazard or...
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:57   #10
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

No, Actually I dont have any space in left & right side foot panels(under the carpet) for this 4GA wire. Its all filled up by RCA, VGA, USB cables.

Is there any alternative like roof?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:57   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

don't lay it under the carpet, run it through the side panel as shown in the pic.
Attached Images
 
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:01   #12
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Exactly. This place is already almost full(?). Any alternative?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:06   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
karankapoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in the car!!!
Posts: 1,679
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

hmmm, how many cables are you running through the side panels that it is almost full.
try and transfer some cables from left to right to accommodate the power cable.
karankapoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:19   #14
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

More than 10 cables. Anyway I will tag them all and try insert this power cable. Thanks friends for your suggestions.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 23:44   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

I have seen one install on the net which was using the power cable from outside the chassis. But he cover the power cable with iron cover so that any mishap cannot occur.

But I would suggest to run it from inside the car cabin. As a lots of effort will go if you go from outside. Route the power from one side and rca and speaker from another.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dupont Under Chassis coating in chennai knownstrangerr Technical Stuff 7 4th August 2011 22:51
DIY : Swift + Electra comps + Electra sub + havells power wire jithudigitised In-Car Entertainment 17 26th October 2009 16:38
power v/s chassis and the importance of handling normally_crazy Technical Stuff 17 8th March 2006 20:51
Teflon, Under chassis treatment etc sonic Modifications & Accessories 12 23rd February 2005 15:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks