Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th April 2009, 14:40   #1
BHPian
 
Archish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 87 Times
Default Innova ICE: EDIT: Looking for advice Pg 2

Hi guys.

I m planning to ICE my Innova. Its a G4 model and comes with a toyota casette cum radio. My mom likes it because she is a old timer and like to listen to radio and she like to turn the dail and tune FM or AM, she hates the new system in which it scans the station by itself and many of the systems does not recieve AM and MW.

Since this Innova has slot of 2 din, is it possible to install a new player below the existing player and use both of them. There is a shop opposite to my house who install ICE, i called the guy there, he said its possible and would try, he said he would have to install a switch.

Is it possible?
Archish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 15:10   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
chiragh_bir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In front of you :P
Posts: 1,123
Thanked: 69 Times
Default

yes it can be done

you will require a switch to change over from one HU to another
chiragh_bir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 17:28   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Sure, can be done - even without any switch. The second unit Pre-out (or via speaker-to-line_level converter) should feed the Aux-in of the first unit, and the first unit should be set to play Aux-in. I presume you have regular 1DIN HU (which one?) and 1 slot free. Also, you need to have another antenna for the second HU, especially if she wants to listen to AM.

Buuutttt - where do you intend to get an HU which allows direct tuning via knob (and I am not even referring to the dial scale to show the frequency)? The 'Store current setting for this channel' button is also likely to be ignored by your mum, which means she has to tune every time!

ALL HUs (whichever have a radio) receive AM (MW/SW) - alas most people don't listen to AM because of the traditional noise problem. Maybe even you didn't check since you don't listen to AM.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 23:03   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archish View Post
Its a G4 model and comes with a toyota casette cum radio.
she like to turn the dail and tune FM or AM, she hates the new system
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Sure, can be done - even without any switch. The second unit Pre-out (or via speaker-to-line_level converter) should feed the Aux-in of the first unit, and the first unit should be set to play Aux-in. I presume you have regular 1DIN HU (which one?) and 1 slot free. Also, you need to have another antenna for the second HU, especially if she wants to listen to AM.

Buuutttt - where do you intend to get an HU which allows direct tuning via knob (and I am not even referring to the dial scale to show the frequency)?
Exactly. Since Archish does not use FM he can forgo the antenna on the HU he prefers and only put an antenna on his mom's HU.

DA, I think this kewood has a rotary tuning knob as did the Alpine 9884/6 - I think.
KENWOOD (IN-CAR) KDC241SA 4 x 45W Car CD Tuner with Rotary Encoder & Control Knob - www.hiwayhifi.com
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 13:46   #5
BHPian
 
Archish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Mates,

Done. I got it done. Looks cool. Will post pic soon.
Archish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 14:27   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
... DA, I think this kewood has a rotary tuning knob as did the Alpine 9884/6 - I think. ...
No, the user manual (page 5) says the "control knob" (basically PB) is used for tuning!

The problem is that most basic HU control implementations cannot route the jogger-type input from the rotary knob to the tuner IC, which cannot handle pulse train as input. Instead they use PB inputs (dedicated up/down, even if via a key mux) routed to the IC. Simplistic design choice.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 17:38   #7
BHPian
 
jayakumarkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 147
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Archish,
Buddy post the pics
jayakumarkp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 13:50   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 167
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

Question: So a Singe-DIN HU can be fitted to Innova? I was under the impression that Innova owners have to go for 2-DIN!
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 21:16   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,760
Thanked: 6,669 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd View Post
Question: So a Singe-DIN HU can be fitted to Innova? I was under the impression that Innova owners have to go for 2-DIN!
of course single din can be fitted.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2009, 11:39   #10
BHPian
 
Archish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

I fixed 2 single DIN HU in the double DIN slot. Here's the before and after pics.

@ Flloyd: hope the pics answers ur question.
Attached Thumbnails
Innova ICE: EDIT: Looking for advice Pg 2-1.jpg  

Innova ICE: EDIT: Looking for advice Pg 2-2.jpg  

Archish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2009, 15:31   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
scopriobharath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,565
Thanked: 1,175 Times
Default

Hi,

I have a few questions on the new Innova. I could not find much inormation on this on the forum. If there is a thread, please guide me to that.

1) Will the Steering mounted Audio Controls work with a pioneer Head-Unit ?

2) If we decide to retain the stock Innova HU and go in for a Roof mounted DVD Player with screen, could we connect both the HUs to the same set of speakers ?

3) Has anybody used a "Box" for 6X9 speakers in the boot. (Box for 6X9 speaker). My thought is we could parallelly connect this to the rear speakers for added effect. We could remove the Box (and sub woofer) if we need to place luggage there.

Help please

OT: This is my first Post.
scopriobharath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 13:06   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

1. No, it won't
2. No, you cannot connect 2 sources to one set of speakers
3. No, it will overheat the amplifier in the HU. Yes, the subwoofer box can be removed when you need space - you have to use suitable connectors
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 13:26   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
scopriobharath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 3,565
Thanked: 1,175 Times
Default

DerAlte,

Thanks dude.

Please let me know how we could achieve this in an innova / similar.

A Pioneer DVH-P4190UB HU
A DEQ P7650 Multichannel Processor (for DTS and Dolby)
A Center Channel Speaker
Compos on the Front door
Compos on the Rear Door
6X9 behind the Thrid row (I dont want to leave out the Third Row. It is a must i provide some voice to all rows of seating, other than a sub-woofer)
Subwoofer behind the Rear Seat (in a Box).

Thoughts and suggestions please. Pics Most Welcome
scopriobharath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 20:41   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Yes steering mounted controls on the Toyota Innova V Model will work with the Pioneer Headunit with the steering remote interface from Skott Company.Interface is just plug & play very easy to install.
hihaneet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 14:57   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

@scopriobharath -

1. You need not put components on rear doors, a pair of co-ax will do. But, if you really want to do it just go ahead - put the tweeters of the rear components either on the rear doors or on the B-pillar
2. Having 2 sets of rear speakers will confuse the 5.1 setup you are planning. You will have to ensure tuning in a way that the ovals do not spoil the middle row image (should play lower than the middle row speakers)
3. You will need a 4-channel amp and a mono:
- The front channels from the DEQ-P7650 Pre-outs will connect to 2 channels of the 4-ch amp
- The center channel speaker connection from the DEQ-P7650 will connect to the center speaker
- The rear channel pre-out from the DEQ-P7650 to the other 2 channels of the amp, and feed the middle row speakers
- The rear speaker channels of the DEQ-P7650 will connect to the last row ovals (where do you intend to mount them???)
- Finally, the Sub-out of the DEQ-P7650 will connect with the mono amp
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing our 2 lakh km Innova - Toyota Innova Crysta vs Ford Endeavour icyspikey SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 31 16th May 2017 18:48
Innova'tive Interiors :D (My Mica Grey Innova with Refreshed Interiors) Bhushanrulz Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 45 26th July 2011 00:48
Looking for Pointers on Purchasing an Innova wolfinstein SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 29 25th December 2007 22:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks