Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th September 2010, 16:00   #181
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Yes that is correct.
It is already placed to avoid catching attention. Here is a pic of it flipped down.

Quote:
Do you get analog video out through a dvi-d to vga converter? i could not figure it out.
I am really confused about it. I have ordered the converter to see if that works.

I am planning to use DVI-D to VGA using an adapter. (not sure if this will work)
VGA to Composite using a scaler.
One Composite to many using a splitter

Is there any other better way to do this without spending 200+USD for conversion?
Attached Thumbnails
ICEing the Honda Civic - Part II (Carputer)-img_4617.jpg  

ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 18:14   #182
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 412
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Yes that is correct.
It is already placed to avoid catching attention. Here is a pic of it flipped down.


I am really confused about it. I have ordered the converter to see if that works.

I am planning to use DVI-D to VGA using an adapter. (not sure if this will work)
VGA to Composite using a scaler.
One Composite to many using a splitter

Is there any other better way to do this without spending 200+USD for conversion?
If you're sure you want a composite output, then I think this is the only possible set up. Or else if the LCD can take component input, then direct DVI-D to component converters are available on market. No need of an intermediate step for VGA. Have found this link on net, DVI-ADAPTERS - DVI To Component Video Adapter for ATI Cards ATI 6140016400
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 20:35   #183
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Yes, Composite output is the only input that the LCDs will take! So no option there...
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 20:52   #184
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

DVI-D to VGA connectors work because a DVI-D port has connectors for analog signals that make up a VGA connection. If the DVI side is digital only, you won't get any signals on the other side of the connector.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 21:39   #185
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
DVI-D to VGA connectors work because a DVI-D port has connectors for analog signals that make up a VGA connection. If the DVI side is digital only, you won't get any signals on the other side of the connector.
DVI-D by definition cannot contain analog VGA signals. It is the DVI-I or DVI-A which carries analog VGA signals
Digital Vampire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 21:41   #186
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 139 Times
Default

Oops, I meant DVI-I actually. DVI-D to VGA need to be active DAC converters.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 23:03   #187
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

The connector which I bought says DVI-D to VGA explicitly.
That is why I have 5% hope that it might work! Else I am not sure :(

Is VGA analog? or Digital type also? I saw some VGA to composite cables which said that they will only work if HW can provide analog signal over VGA!
My Mobo does not do analog over VGA. So I bought a Scaler to covert VGA to Composite.

Is there any hope that using this scaler DVi-D to VGA to Scaler chain may work to give composite output?

There is lot of confusion every where related to these formats. Some places they say it works some they it doesn;t some say it requires certain hardware - what a mess they have created with all these incompatible formats!!!
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 02:13   #188
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: HYD
Posts: 226
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Another idea could be replacing mobo. I do not know if there are any C2D mobos with s-video out but I think ATOM (donno if it will suffice your needs) mobos with s-video are available. probably you cud use current processor + mobo somewhere else. just a thought.
Comrade is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 12:00   #189
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 105
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade View Post
Another idea could be replacing mobo ... but I think ATOM (donno if it will suffice your needs) mobos with s-video are available. probably you cud use current processor + mobo somewhere else. just a thought.

That combination is highly unlikely. Even the older discontinued D945GCLF2 which had a svideo out, was not capable of dual display, it only clones the display.

So the only possibility will be a new motherboard and a display adapter with VGA/DVI and S Video out.

@ ST7677 check out this thread @ mp3car, where a swift had vga to composite adapter and sunvisor display working. - VGA to COMPOSITE video incompatible? - MP3Car.com
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 15:25   #190
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,162
Thanked: 3,757 Times
Default

Slightly OT:

I have a standard 2010 Civic. Found an interesting problem. I have a freebie 2GB USB Pen Drive. Downloaded MP3 sets into it. When I switch on the Music system things are fine. Start the car (the music system loses power for the cranking) and it does not recognise the Pen Drive. Comes back with Unknown Format message.

Now I downloaded the same stuff into a 4GB Transcend Drive. Things are all Ok.

Maybe the freebie 2GB was USB 1.x only, and was not fast enough for the music system on a reboot.

Just a piece of warning/observation.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 22:29   #191
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Quote:
@ ST7677 check out this thread @ mp3car, where a swift had vga to composite adapter and sunvisor display working. - VGA to COMPOSITE video incompatible? - MP3Car.com
Hi Sun, I have VGA to composite already working fine. That's how you can see the working monitor.
My challenge is getting VGA/Composite output from DVI-D or HDMI
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 23:34   #192
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default Re: ICEing the Honda Civic - Part II (Carputer)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapilvgupta
Hi,

I believed that you ideally wanted to have 2+ video streams and 2+ audio streams from your carputer. Is this possible n if so can you shed some light on how you achieved it.

peace,
~kg
It is simple:
For multiple videos your Motherboard should be capable of it. If it is it will also come with the necessary drivers to run the same.

For audio
You can use an N channel card (depending on your need) and route the channels to multiple sources (players) using software.
You can also use multiple sound cards - eg. hi quality soundcard for main sound and on motherboard for another stream.
Of course in both the cases you would need a software to do necessary routings.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2011, 10:40   #193
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default Re: ICEing the Honda Civic - Part II (Carputer)

Quote:
Originally Posted by [B
kapilvgupta[/b]]I understand that for multiple (simultaneous) audio streams one would need multiple sound cards (internal or external) and the sound streams would have to be routed to a specific output device by the software controller.

As far as multiple video streams are concerned, if a motherboard has multiple video outputs (VGA+DVI+HDMI) does it garuntee that it will be able to simultaneoulsy output different video streams on different outputs (i.e 1st stream on DVI and 2nd on HDMi simulatenously). Am I understandign this correctly or is there some other motherbaord spec that I need to look at?

Would appreciate your advice on the same. I ideally would like to use centrafuse on the main dashboard touchscreen while allow the 2 rear screens to work independently for video or games.

peace,
~kg
On audio stream: you don't necessarily need multiple sound cards. Let's say you have an 8 channel sound card you can use 5 channels for main sound (4+1 sub), and 2 channels for the secondary stereo sound.

On multiple video stream, just having multiple video outputs is not sufficient, your motherboards GPU should be able to handle multiple video streams at the same time.
Like I have Zotac 9300 mobo, which has NVIDIA nView multi-display capability and can support up to 3 different video streams. However while planning do ensure compatibility between the physical output you would use on motherboard with the display device's input. As converting an DVI / HDMI to VGA/Composite can run very expensive.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Polaris Slingshot: Part car, part motorcycle, all excitement ashkamath The International Automotive Scene 0 2nd September 2014 17:12
ICEing Honda Accord Swift_ICE In-Car Entertainment 3 5th December 2010 17:33
Honda City Vs Honda Civic E Vs Honda Civic V (pre-owned) drkunaldas Sedans 4 31st October 2010 18:07
Yay- My Carputer project just got off the ground abhi182 In-Car Entertainment 31 16th February 2009 13:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks