Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th July 2009, 11:17   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,451 Times
Lightbulb Pio 5050 FM Auto scan problem

My pio 5050 is moody.

50% of the time it gets into an endless auto scan loop for stations (tried in various part of del/gurgaon , indoor/main road, 0/120 kph etc). Manual tuning gives impeccable sound, so no issue with the antenna there (so I think).

What to do? What to check?

PS: Installer will check it in 3 hours, but don't trust him one bit. Will go by TBHPians' advice
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 11:36   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default

That happens with at least two other HU I know in areas where there is low radio signal. (one Pio and one Sony).

I am sure it happens in Gurgaon (especially near your home) / Airport wala area.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 19:29   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,451 Times
Default

On your advice i turned back at the last moment!!

Have set it up with saved stations - let's see how the 20k service treats it!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 01:19   #4
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

does time on HU also gets reset when your saved stations get erased ?
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2009, 09:26   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 143 Times
Default

Ditto for my 4050. Scan simply never works, manual tuning works fine. But only AIR FM signals are fine here (two stations) - the 3 private stations are not good, and work often only when the vehicle is stationary or in slow traffic).

Advice I got on this forum was to check the antenna. I never bothered, since I use the USB dongle; FM is for the drivers!!!
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 09:29   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Ditto for my 4050. Scan simply never works, manual tuning works fine. But only AIR FM signals are fine here (two stations) - the 3 private stations are not good, and work often only when the vehicle is stationary or in slow traffic).

Advice I got on this forum was to check the antenna. I never bothered, since I use the USB dongle; FM is for the drivers!!!
The 3 private stations are very good when compared to AIR stations even at my home which is about 30 KMS from the Cochin city !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 12:22   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 143 Times
Default

@mithun - any clue where the 3 private stations' transmission towers are situated? Reception is actually better when I move towards east from the sea.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 12:37   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,898
Thanked: 2,490 Times
Default

Why dont you simply save the radio stations into the available presets?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 12:59   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

There is a setting to lower the tolerance for noise in auto tune. With that stations with lower S/N ratio will be detected by auto tuning.

Don't have Pio manual handy right now. Face this problem while entering Pune via Expressway, Signals are week and lowering the tolerance usually does the trick.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 17:28   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Check your antenna & its wire.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 21:52   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 143 Times
Default

@Technocrat - I have done that, but this thread is about the auto scan problems, right?

And the other 3 stations appear weaker / less volume on my other (home) radio sets too, as well as on the Samsung Mobile. That is why I have not bothered taking the car back to the installer.

Edit - will scan through the manual for the auto scan functionality. (no pun intended).
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 22:02   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,898
Thanked: 2,490 Times
Default

oh no no. my question was directed toward mr Phamilyman
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2009, 11:12   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
@mithun - any clue where the 3 private stations' transmission towers are situated? Reception is actually better when I move towards east from the sea.
No clue about the locations. But it's still clear up-to Muvattupuzha after that the signal fades !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2009, 13:03   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Check whether BSM works
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2009, 23:30   #15
BHPian
 
althaaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: thrissur, gorakhpur & nepal
Posts: 137
Thanked: 59 Times
Default

hey friends,
i had the same prob with my 5050. all i did is put the LOC setting to the lowest. i dont know how it helps, but after lowering its value, the sensitivity and auto scan sensitivity increased a lot. try this and let me know if it works for you
althaaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scan Gauge Kaizer Sozay Modifications & Accessories 160 23rd September 2013 10:31
Which Pioneer HU 4050\5050\6050 ? ddd08 In-Car Entertainment 187 22nd September 2011 22:02
Engine Scan! manishk83 Technical Stuff 2 28th August 2010 23:22
Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen & PRE-SCAN Technology hanmust The International Automotive Scene 8 17th December 2008 23:35
Problem with Pio HU anonymous In-Car Entertainment 19 20th December 2007 20:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks