Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2009, 11:28   #61
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
I am greedy.... for me 3 screens would be perfect. One child can watch a video, another can play a PC based game while you drive.

Ok ok I know I am dreaming. Here is a guy who does not have twitter or blackberry or any of that stuff. For me a PC in the car will most probably be a challenging concept unless they can "dumbify" the technology.

The kids can watch the scenery.
Navinji... It is entirely possible and easier than you may think! All you need is corresponding number of Video Adapters/Video cards and physical expansion slots to add those video adapters. I've practically tested it on my Kontron 986LCD motherboard with one LCD connected to the inbuilt LVDS port (it can take upto 2 independent LVDS screens on this port) and another standard LCD connected to the VGA terminal. Though I've tested it on only 2 screens, there is absolutely no reason why I cant extend it to 3 (or more) screens playing different content. In fact multi-monitor support was one of the reasons for me investing heavily on the Kontron 986LCD-M board.

This can be achieved on cheaper boards also with additional PCI slots loaded with basic video cards and even USB VGA solution are available for motherboards without PCI/LVDS expansion capabilities. But I guess you may need more juice than the ATOM boards can currently provide. I'm not really sure about the capabilities of the low power Atom boards to do all this 3 monitor wizardry.
I remember someone from this forum itself have completed Dual Monitor, Dual Zone installs on his Safari. IIRC it was IBM_Jennifer.

Centrafuse currently support basic multi-zoning, but the implementation is expected to be even better in the upcoming CF3

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 13th August 2009 at 11:46.
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 11:40   #62
BHPian
 
ashwinsid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Thats a fantastic setup! Congrats
ashwinsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 18:52   #63
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navin
I am greedy.... for me 3 screens would be perfect. One child can watch a video, another can play a PC based game while you drive.


Yes that is what I intend to do. I have Zotac 9300 Mini itx motherboard which supports 3 different videos at the same time.


Quote:
I remember someone from this forum itself have completed Dual Monitor, Dual Zone installs on his Safari. IIRC it was IBM_Jennifer.
Yes
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 19:05   #64
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,576
Thanked: 816 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post


Yes that is what I intend to do. I have Zotac 9300 Mini itx motherboard which supports 3 different videos at the same time.

what processor does it have(CPU) and what the price would be? Its positioned I think for home theater systems and should be great of cars.

Last edited by srishiva : 13th August 2009 at 19:18.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 19:16   #65
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

you really did a nice job.
yesterday only i was thinking about a ANHC in march next year, and was wondring how can i install a carputer in it.
i was thinking about where to get the consol from as i will buy A/T which comes loaded.
i may change my mind if new lancer comes in by then.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 19:55   #66
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malapuram
Posts: 102
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

A neatly done job. so how much was the time and money spent on this? looks like a factory fitted one. congrats.
infinitewheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 13:43   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

do post pictures of rest of the setup
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 14:40   #68
BHPian
 
netarchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 397
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
you really did a nice job.
yesterday only i was thinking about a ANHC in march next year, and was wondring how can i install a carputer in it.
i was thinking about where to get the consol from as i will buy A/T which comes loaded.
i may change my mind if new lancer comes in by then.
Thanks!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinitewheel View Post
A neatly done job. so how much was the time and money spent on this? looks like a factory fitted one. congrats.
Thanks!! time was more than 2 months and about cost , will post a proper part by part cost soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
do post pictures of rest of the setup
I will soon, just tied up in some other work at the moment!
netarchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 09:11   #69
BHPian
 
netarchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 397
Thanked: 8 Times
Default Project Pics

pics of wiring for the carpc.
pics of the pc and the amp uder the rear passenger seat and
pics once the seat is back into its place!

Also posted pics of the steering remote unit and the Fuse holder.
Attached Images
                 
netarchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 12:38   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Fantastic, this is really an inspirational effort, @netarchie!:
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 15:19   #71
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 57
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Awesome piece of job dude ! I must say really neatly done. How did you manage without cutting wirings and voiding warranty.

Anyways can you please let me know the price break up. I have a Honda city SMT, if it fits in my budget then would need your help to source and install the same.

Have fun !
mailmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 20:04   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,891
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Hi netarchie

i do not know how many times i should praise you.
indeed a very professional installation, it is worth being in a Honda car.
for sure it meets Man Maximum, Machine Minimum ideology of Honda.
you have hidden the machine so well that man feels he is absolute control.
Touch screen display is well integrated with the dashboard.

only thing you need now is a 3G modem into it so that you can download everything what you need straight into your car PC.


StarVegabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 21:05   #73
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Thats a neat little place to install all the components. Whats the indash kit used? bybyte?
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 09:23   #74
BHPian
 
netarchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 397
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Fantastic, this is really an inspirational effort, @netarchie!:
Thank you very much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailmishra View Post
Awesome piece of job dude ! I must say really neatly done. How did you manage without cutting wirings and voiding warranty.

Anyways can you please let me know the price break up. I have a Honda city SMT, if it fits in my budget then would need your help to source and install the same.

Have fun !
Thanks! will be putting down costs by end of day today.
Sure, I will help you ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarVegabond View Post
Hi netarchie

i do not know how many times i should praise you.
indeed a very professional installation, it is worth being in a Honda car.
for sure it meets Man Maximum, Machine Minimum ideology of Honda.
you have hidden the machine so well that man feels he is absolute control.
Touch screen display is well integrated with the dashboard.

only thing you need now is a 3G modem into it so that you can download everything what you need straight into your car PC.


Thanks Star, again ;-) . I do use a reliance usb data card as of now for internet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Thats a neat little place to install all the components. Whats the indash kit used? bybyte?
Thanks, yes, it is a bybyte frame, I had initially purchased it for my Fusion, but it was small for the double din size, luckily for me, it was perfect size for the honda double din.
netarchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 22:35   #75
BHPian
 
shubhodeepdas@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 249
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

It's a mind blowing job. Absolutely fabulous.
shubhodeepdas@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The CarPC / Carputer Thread gigy In-Car Entertainment 851 21st January 2014 09:18
ANHC SMT or ANHC EMT with Caska HU alam86 Sedans 19 16th September 2013 15:59
ANHC and DIY CarPC monty9991 In-Car Entertainment 54 26th March 2010 20:36
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Honda Civic VTI - CarPC + PowerBass/JBL ICE stapi In-Car Entertainment 17 20th October 2008 10:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks