Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th August 2009, 12:05   #31
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore/London
Posts: 126
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxtechie View Post
Hmmm can you please be more explicit? Is it 270 or 330 else? Cause the last I enquired D45GCLF2 was about 3.3k.


BTW great cage for the PC, but please put in some ventilation, I am sure it will fry soon even with the AC on.


~LT
Yes I have drilled holes and one side of the case has 1 cm gap both top and bottom. Also am planning to get a 60mm cooler fan and fix a laptop cooler and place is underneath it.

Not sure abt the price but this is Atom 330 one and got it for 4.5k.

Last edited by kiran1103 : 16th August 2009 at 12:07. Reason: Added abt Atom 330
kiran1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2009, 12:09   #32
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore/London
Posts: 126
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
nice setup with the plexigalss.
i like it, can you get some closer pics to the plexigalss enclouser plz.

@wildo:- this is Lilliput EBY-701
This is self made acrylic case. Made out of 2ft X 2ft Acrylic sheet. Many thanks to Sameer (my friend) who came out with this brilliant idea and made it too. For closer pics will have to remove the seat which I wil do when I get the OBD Scanner. Wil post the pics shortly..
kiran1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2009, 12:26   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,271
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

Nice install of CAR PC.

Well many of stuff you get from Indian itself. Check Car PC Systems | Vehicle Infotainment Solutions | iRide Technologies, Mumbai, India website. Many people quoting Atom board worth Rs. 4.5K in this website It is available around 3.6K.

I am also planning to put car PC. I yet to source all components. I will bring LCD from abroad when I will be there.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2009, 12:56   #34
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdh View Post
Hyundai cars are OBD2 compliant. Have tested elm scan 327 in my i10 and it is working. I could never make it work in swift of my brother in law.

SDH can you help me out that if the scanner will work on 2002 hyundai santro or not ?

smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2009, 20:36   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Kiran, Please check the CPU temperatures you are running on full processor load. CF has a screen which shows the temperatures.
With AC on, I don;t think there would be too much problems even without the fan with a well ventilated case. ATOM processor hardly generates much heat after all, but it is better to take decision based on your temp readings.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2009, 20:46   #36
BHPian
 
aneeshanand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 122
Thanked: 5 Times
Smile i noticed tht!!!!

hi kiran..
thts really cool to see the windows loading screen on the dash of a verna...

and i noticed.... man you have 6 fingers on the right hand!! We take 6-fingers extremely lucky and powerful!! I bet that you are

well, i got my verna recently, and will definitely try a car-puter after some time...
i will keep your thread bookmarked ..
aneeshanand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2009, 08:49   #37
BHPian
 
linuxtechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 45
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiran1103 View Post
This is self made acrylic case. Made out of 2ft X 2ft Acrylic sheet. Many thanks to Sameer (my friend) who came out with this brilliant idea and made it too. For closer pics will have to remove the seat which I wil do when I get the OBD Scanner. Wil post the pics shortly..
Hmm Kiran,

Can you please post some information as how Sameer did it? I have a drill machine and some other tool kit but no dremel.

I have M2-ATX 160W Intelligent DC-DC PSU PSU and the monitor is on its way. Disk, RAM is already there with me, just need to get the atom.

I would appreciate the help.

Thanks
~LT
linuxtechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 14:34   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Under cut the acrlyic sheet lengthwise for the side so that there remains a gap for air to enter, on opposite side use small quite fans like those used in ram coolers, or better use a ram cooler itself to push air out. its more than enough cooling for atoms.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 18:54   #39
sdh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 143
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiran1103 View Post
Board : D945GCLF2 with Atom processor. : Rs. 4500
RAM : Transcend 2 GB : Rs. 1050
HDD : Seagate 320 GB laptop hard drive. Rs. 2300
PSU : 250W M4-ATX : 89$
Screen : Lilliput 7 in : 179$
Wiring, Cables etc : Rs. 2500
Bluetooth and Wi-Fi adapter : Rs. 1000

Let me know if i missed anything
Can you tell me the brand of bluetooth and wifi adapter and where you bought it. Have you already tested handsfree working with this dongle. Can you comment on audio quality as well.
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 19:10   #40
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 73
Thanked: Once
Default

Kiran thats a neat setup, and a very nice set up of the board and powersupply. are you satisfied with the sound quality a atom board put's out???

if any of you guys can put the drawing for that enclosure in Acad then I can help you folks cutting it out on my cnc. I need cast acrylic sheet to cut it out on the cnc though - flame polishing it would be so nice on the edges.

RGDS
IRfan
Irfanulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 19:30   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore/London
Posts: 126
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irfanulla View Post
Kiran thats a neat setup, and a very nice set up of the board and powersupply. are you satisfied with the sound quality a atom board put's out???

if any of you guys can put the drawing for that enclosure in Acad then I can help you folks cutting it out on my cnc. I need cast acrylic sheet to cut it out on the cnc though - flame polishing it would be so nice on the edges.

RGDS
IRfan
Wow, flame polishing would be really nice. Ok about the audio quality, I first used a normal 3.5mm to stereo RCA with 2 Monstor Y cables. The sound was awful, then I bought a Monster 3.5mm to RCA cord and connected it to the JBL GTO 504, I could hear the difference and the quality is very good. The only problem is that Y cable is splitting the 2 channels to 4 channels.

Also heard that the Realtec audio drivers/application would let you configure the Mic/Line in to a secondary channel. I am yet to test that. Wil do over this weekend and let you know. Have heard many issues with Creative external USB sound cards. Please let me know if anyone used a Asus Zonar and hows the quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdh View Post
Can you tell me the brand of bluetooth and wifi adapter and where you bought it. Have you already tested handsfree working with this dongle. Can you comment on audio quality as well.

Bluetooth is Bluesoil and Wifi card is Netgear. I havent yet configured the bluetooth to mobile the N97 came with a free car handsfree. Will try to configure it over the weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxtechie View Post
Hmm Kiran,

Can you please post some information as how Sameer did it? I have a drill machine and some other tool kit but no dremel.

I have M2-ATX 160W Intelligent DC-DC PSU PSU and the monitor is on its way. Disk, RAM is already there with me, just need to get the atom.

I would appreciate the help.

Thanks
~LT
Actually a rectangular slot was marked on the acrylic sheet and then we took it to the nearby plywood/glass store where they used their tools to cut the slot.



Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Please use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts, instead of creating another back-to-back post.

Last edited by Technocrat : 20th August 2009 at 19:48. Reason: Please read the note in post, thanks
kiran1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2009, 14:59   #42
BHPian
 
S.I.N.G.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: new delhi
Posts: 365
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

hi folks.
i am intrested in installing a carputer in my car. can anyone tell me that what is the price of the atom chipset/processor and touch screen in nehru place, delhi?

regards
SINGH
S.I.N.G.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2009, 15:18   #43
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.I.N.G.H View Post
hi folks.
i am intrested in installing a carputer in my car. can anyone tell me that what is the price of the atom chipset/processor and touch screen in nehru place, delhi?

regards
SINGH
for nehru place not sure. but you might wanna visit this web site.
Car PC Systems | Vehicle Infotainment Solutions | iRide Technologies, Mumbai, India you get everything you need for carpc here.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2009, 15:28   #44
BHPian
 
S.I.N.G.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: new delhi
Posts: 365
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

thanks monty for the link,
but the point is that we'll get the mini CPU assembled in nehru place in a very reasonable price, so that we can spend on other ICE also! i am sure about getting the cpu studd from nehru place but i am uncertain about the screen.

regards
SINGH
S.I.N.G.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2009, 02:21   #45
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

I don't think Nehru Place would be having readily available touch screen which can fit for carputer, but if someone is able to manage a vendor and a price tag do share it, I've all the parts for my carputer except for a touch screen and a amplifier.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carputer Install-Tata Indigo techfreak In-Car Entertainment 82 13th February 2016 17:54
Predator gets some SQ ICE: Hyundai Verna Install predatorwheelz In-Car Entertainment 17 12th August 2013 15:38
M-800 carputer install kingofmyworld In-Car Entertainment 98 8th August 2013 23:20
My Baleno (I)ride - CarPC / Carputer install spadival In-Car Entertainment 40 21st March 2009 03:04
Yay- My Carputer project just got off the ground abhi182 In-Car Entertainment 31 16th February 2009 13:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks