Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th November 2010, 23:13   #61
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 313
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Thanks for the inputs, will check the bios settings.
Earlier the vagcom cable was connected directly to motherboard with extension usb cable. now i have put in a belikn 4 port usb hub after which the problem started.
Those hubs are notorious for conking of my friend and his brother conked two of them! Why do you require so many ports? What do you have connected?

Is this that little round black belkin hub? Or the silver-white in line quad one?
valhallen.282 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 13:27   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I have not posted the hub picture.

the black round thing is cpu fan in previous baleno setup. its not there now. all inside the new case.

the white one is FM receiver, location has changed in present setup.

There is no problem with belkin hub operation otherwise, with other things connected to it.
I use it to upload data(music/video) to the pc, connect the keyboard and mouse when require since it is conventionally located inside the cabin.

PS3 camera is not working with centrafuse. its usb phase array microphone works well though.

Checked BIOS and can't find the usb boot option in menu, it shows only one device, the hard disk. vagcom cable was not connected at that time.

Someone tried to break off the skoda fm antenna yestaerday i think. its all cracked up now. first logo now antenna, i think it will be wheel caps next.

Last edited by gigy : 19th November 2010 at 13:42.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 14:09   #63
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 313
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

No no I meant there are two kinds of belkin hubs I've seen one is a black and one is a white one. Anyway. If you think its not a problem maker sure.
valhallen.282 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 15:34   #64
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Its same as this one, have not yet powered it though
Attached Images
 
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 09:37   #65
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
... Checked BIOS and can't find the usb boot option in menu, it shows only one device, the hard disk. vagcom cable was not connected at that time. ...
Strange! Which motherboard and BIOS is that? Haven't heard of a BIOS that does not list possible boot devices even if some of them are archaic.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 12:50   #66
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Let me take the screen shot and post, may be i am missing something.
I dont have a full time keyboard in car now, only one keyboard for three PCs.
Motherboard is Asrock G31M-VS
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 13:32   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Present configuration is as follows.
Motherboard Asrock G31M-VS
Processor Intel E5400 2.7ghz
Transcend ram 1 gb x 2
Segate 2.5 hard disk 250gb
M3 120watt power supply
ADS RDX-155-EF Instant FM Music
IRV-070GL with double din frame
Holux M1200e gps data logger
Enter bluetooth dongle
Belkin powered 4 port usb hub
Vagcom usb cable interface
A slim generic cabinet

The BIOS does have a setup page but in mine only the hard disk was shown, should the Cable be connected for it to show? it almost instantaneously hangs when booting with the cable connected.

Last edited by gigy : 20th November 2010 at 13:33.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 17:58   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

You will need to go BIOS Setup -> Advanced -> Boot (Check the MB manual, section 3.6). This should be against "Boot Settings Configuration". This screen looks something like this:
Boot Settings Configuration
1st Boot Device [1st Floppy Device]
2nd Boot Device [HDD: PM - HDS722580VL]
3rd Boot Device [CD / DVD: 3S - CD - ROM C]
4th Boot Device [USB]
Hard Disk Drives
Removable Drives
CD/DVD Drives

If USB is appearing before the HDD in this list, set "1st Boot Device" to Hard disk and "2nd Boot Device" to USB - this should prevent the BIOS for searching on any USB device for boot program on startup.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 22:06   #69
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

I tried this but, don't get any other option in boot menu. If the vagcom cable is connected it hangs the pc just after the power up and option comes press F2 and press F11

Without it the bios menu shows only hard disk. tried connecting the vagcom cable after entering the bios but it doesnt showup.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 22:30   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Only this one shows. dont get any other devise on screen
Attached Thumbnails
Gigy's Carputer Setup-snc002082.jpg  

gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 00:03   #71
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
Only this one shows. dont get any other devise on screen
Looks like the firmware on this BIOS is very very old.
you need to check with the manufacturer website for a FLASH BIOS update for your mother-board, a 4 year old Bios firmware will certainly fail on your expectations.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 12:10   #72
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

No, gigy, go through Advanced to know the set boot sequence. Advanced is the 3rd option from left. I had checked with your MB's manual to be sure.

@ghpk-ji, the BIOS will only be as old as the MB, and gigy's MB is not that old.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 12:21   #73
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 313
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

@Ghpk I had an old ASUS i850 with a 6 year old BIOS and it worked beautifully for a long long time on the original bios. This seems to be a halt on error. @gigy disable all other boot devices except HDD. Like DA said it should be under advanced.
valhallen.282 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 12:29   #74
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 94
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

try disabling usb legacy support in your BIOS.

look for the following similar options and set them to disable,

Enable/disable USB host controller
Enable/disable legacy USB support


further details here, Platform Compatibility for USB Boot Devices
shldn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 16:35   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Finally disabling usb legacy support worked. now no problem in booting with vagcom cable connected.
Thank you all for the help.

One last issue remains
vagcom cable i have is not compatible with latest ross-tech software release 10.6 or vsd lite and hence cant get the data to centrafuse.
This cable works with version 908 only as of now. 908 is also no more available for download

Cant find version 409 also on internet to try it.

Last edited by gigy : 25th November 2010 at 16:37.
gigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not just another CarPC Carputer Setup. HarneetBarmy In-Car Entertainment 17 20th May 2011 20:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks