Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd December 2005, 11:17   #2656
BHPian
 
Shrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen
1> A jbl amp says that max input voltage is 7 volts???, does it mean that input voltage can be plus minus 7 volts.

2> Whats the output of my car cesste player?? is it plus minus 12 volts

3> Do i need to connect a resistance b/w my car o/p and amp i/p if these two voltages dont match??

Thanx

KP
Hi Kpzen,

The output of your cassette player must be 2V most probably, or may be 4V if its a new generation HU.
JBL input volt of max. 7V is correct

You don't need to connect any resistances in between.

Guys! Ain't i'm right.
Shrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 13:26   #2657
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Madras
Posts: 379
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey


Hi Kpzen,

The output of your cassette player must be 2V most probably, or may be 4V if its a new generation HU.
JBL input volt of max. 7V is correct

You don't need to connect any resistances in between.

Guys! Ain't i'm right.
Yes, you are right.

Kpzen, if your HU is a low or mid end its output would be around 2v and if its a high end HU it could be 4v or above. You will not have any problem connecting the amp with your HU.
5u3zEr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 19:18   #2658
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,596
Thanked: 3,274 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen
1> A jbl amp says that max input voltage is 7 volts???, does it mean that input voltage can be plus minus 7 volts.

2> Whats the output of my car cesste player?? is it plus minus 12 volts

3> Do i need to connect a resistance b/w my car o/p and amp i/p if these two voltages dont match??

Thanx

KP
max input voltage is when the amp can overload. it will safely accept any votlage below 7V. you car cassette player is most likely 2V. no need for any resistance. 12V is the battey power not the music signal.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 19:20   #2659
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,596
Thanked: 3,274 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey


Bingo! Sam, u were right on the target...then i dropped it by mistake, and there goes the glass sleeve/cover. on inspecting it i found that brazing at one of the cap has cracked .What do you suggest, should i still take the car to Elegant or purchase a fuse of same rating (80Amp) from any Audio shop in Noida,
the fust wont be worth the long trip. just get a new fuse whereever you can find one.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 19:31   #2660
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,348
Thanked: 960 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
I havent heard of a HU out with more than 7V

Whats your cassette player? HU outs are specified in watts (rms)

NO need to add resistance.
Cassette player-pioneer KEH-4025 22rms x 4
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 19:35   #2661
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,596
Thanked: 3,274 Times
Default

22W is speaker out. i think you gotta use RCA (line) out. if you intedn to connect the speaker out to an amp you need a line level adapter.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 22:41   #2662
BHPian
 
zzzehar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Amritsar/Madras
Posts: 258
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Guys,
I just got the BOSS 4 inch fronts installed yesterday for Rs 1450 with B&W. I went to get the Sub installed but the box size the guy was suggesting would take up alll of my trunk space.
He suggested me to get a two channel Amp installed and put my rears on the Amp - he says that would double the output and suggested to run my fronts of the HU.
What do you guys suggest? Do you think this will be a good setup. BTW, my rears do sound quite good and with Amp I am hoping a drastic improvement in the performance.
Would running the fronts off the HU be a good idea? Will I be able to use all the controls? How should the wiring be done? Kindly suggest.
zzzehar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2005, 23:39   #2663
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,575
Thanked: 1,234 Times
Default

Which car dude?

Using an amp would certainly help pump bass. 6x9 on amps would act as 8inch subs.

You would haev a rear soundtage if you power just the rears. Why not power the front too with a 4 channel amp?

Hertz subs is a good option when space is less. ( like under front seat installation with a 8inch Hertz sub)
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 00:19   #2664
BHPian
 
zzzehar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Amritsar/Madras
Posts: 258
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Which car dude?

Using an amp would certainly help pump bass. 6x9 on amps would act as 8inch subs.

You would haev a rear soundtage if you power just the rears. Why not power the front too with a 4 channel amp?

Hertz subs is a good option when space is less. ( like under front seat installation with a 8inch Hertz sub)
The car is Matiz. Wouldn't fronts sound just right if they are driven off the HU? As of now I am running my rears and fronts both off the HU, and they sound quite thumpy and bassy and appealing. I would like to know will be able to use all the settings in the HU? How the wiring should be done? What all do I need to instruct to the installation guy?
zzzehar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 00:43   #2665
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,575
Thanked: 1,234 Times
Default

Powering all speakers would give you a better sound. If you are happy with the present setup , stay with it.

Ask you installer not to cut any wires. Use good quality speaker wires; dont allow cut/taping of smaller wires.


And I am not sure of Matiz speaker pods. I think you better forget the sub thingy unless

1. you like a tube . Advantage: can be taken off when you need luggage space.

2. Ask Gunbir/JB if a Hertz sub setup can go under the front seat.

3. Wait for others to chip in other ideas
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 00:51   #2666
BHPian
 
zzzehar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Amritsar/Madras
Posts: 258
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Powering all speakers would give you a better sound. If you are happy with the present setup , stay with it.

Ask you installer not to cut any wires. Use good quality speaker wires; dont allow cut/taping of smaller wires.


And I am not sure of Matiz speaker pods. I think you better forget the sub thingy unless

1. you like a tube . Advantage: can be taken off when you need luggage space.

2. Ask Gunbir/JB if a Hertz sub setup can go under the front seat.

3. Wait for others to chip in other ideas
I guess I will wait for other's response. Thank you.
zzzehar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 10:44   #2667
BHPian
 
Shrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Active Sub-Tube

Hi Sam !

How much does an Active Sub - Tube costs, and whether its available in India.
If, Yes, then whether with Bill or Not?

I suppose one don't need an Amp with this?
Shrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:02   #2668
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,575
Thanked: 1,234 Times
Default

Blau used to have one . Some ODx series one, with 100W rms. Very sleek, but seems it aint good. WOuld haev suggested that for Zzzehar if it was available.

About active tubes...havent seen or heard of them from a good brand in India.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:02   #2669
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,355 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey


Bingo! Sam, u were right on the target.


then i dropped it by mistake, and there goes the glass sleeve/cover. on inspecting it i found that brazing at one of the cap has cracked .

I prayed to god, and connected the lead directly without any fuse in between(just to check if the system works) and Lo, behold it played like a symphony out of sleep.

Now, i 've removed the connection.

What do you suggest, should i still take the car to Elegant or purchase a fuse of same rating (80Amp) from any Audio shop in Noida, i don't want to go to Elegant unnecessarily reason being Lajpat Nagar is way too far from my place.

And, in case i 've to buy a new fuse is it readily available in market? because OEM was BOSS, and the size(dia) is a bit odd, at least i'd not come across any such fuse till this.

SAM, Navin!
Your feedback is required on this


I'd like to point out to everyone here, that i am now convinced that it is better to have NO wiring kit than a cheap unbranded or low branded one.
I am specifically referring to the kits called "Boss". Most of them are so poor in quality that i doubt that even a lower end company would make them.
This may be a strong statement but i have observed similar problems too often.
Look guys, if you dont have budgets, it's PERFECTLY ok to buy heavy guage automotive wire from Finolex or other ISI badged Indian companies. In fact it is better to buy finolex on a low budget than these fake and cheaply built wiring (so-called) kits.
If you can afford it, there's quite nothing like buying a good wiring kit - be it original monster, audison or JBL. But please stay away from these suspiciously cheap wiring kits - as Shrey's case will show you, they are often detrimental rather than good for your car system.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:04   #2670
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,355 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey
Hi Sam !

How much does an Active Sub - Tube costs, and whether its available in India.
If, Yes, then whether with Bill or Not?

I suppose one don't need an Amp with this?
Active subs cost between 10k to 20k. JBL used to market a couple of very looking active subs, but they were not worth the money so we stopped a while ago. You may find them in other brands such as Blaupunkt/Velocity but mostly they're hugely unpopular in the Indian market.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks