Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:14   #2671
BHPian
 
Shrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I'd like to point out to everyone here, that i am now convinced that it is better to have NO wiring kit than a cheap unbranded or low branded one.
I am specifically referring to the kits called "Boss". Most of them are so poor in quality that i doubt that even a lower end company would make them.
This may be a strong statement but i have observed similar problems too often.
Look guys, if you dont have budgets, it's PERFECTLY ok to buy heavy guage automotive wire from Finolex or other ISI badged Indian companies. In fact it is better to buy finolex on a low budget than these fake and cheaply built wiring (so-called) kits.
If you can afford it, there's quite nothing like buying a good wiring kit - be it original monster, audison or JBL. But please stay away from these suspiciously cheap wiring kits - as Shrey's case will show you, they are often detrimental rather than good for your car system.
Correct ! even i agree with SAM,

but i realised this after purchasing this bunch of wires called KIT, it was so pathetic to be called so. even i pondered later on , that i should 've gone for branded Finolex cables had i known before, there is nothing special about this kit, ..and best thing to laugh was words printed on the cover "GOLD PLATED " RCA and blah blah, it was all ****. all that plating has turned to Tin colour, now, and i still repent i paid too much(Rs1800) for that something which was not even worth Rs. 200.

Guys, please stay away fron such poor quality kits specially BOSS etc if you don't have budget else go for branded ones like SAM suggested, but they cost aroud Rs.3000+.
So make a choice
Shrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 14:20   #2672
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey
Guys, please stay away fron such poor quality kits specially BOSS etc if you don't have budget else go for branded ones like SAM suggested, but they cost aroud Rs.3000+. So make a choice
Guys, Sam is right. For long we have been telling people to stay away from BOSS (and that type of) cables. Please go for good cabling, even DIY. Good cabling will not just give you better sound, but also give you safety. Imagine your car catching fire... burnt down to the frame... feel like spending that extra buck yet?

Shrey, a correction, good kits are available for 2000 upwards. Our Connection Audison 8g 300w kit is for 2190 only.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 14:48   #2673
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,417 Times
Default

Actually thats the way the market is. The demand for a product is met quickly by forgers and by unbranded chinese companies. For example i just recd a wiring kit, where the battery wire looks FAT and superb. However if you strip it you realise that the only thing FAT about this wire is the insulation.
Most of the kit is pure cosmetics, the gold plating isnt gold, the RCA cables look cool and sound like excreta. Very very frustrating boys. Dont waste your money.
Buy a decent 5m RCA cable and normal automotive wire if the budget is thin. Dont pay money to be fooled.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 14:51   #2674
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

ok here is my bit for the ICE fans..

had the oppurtunity to check out a friends system in his zen..he has 7750,soundstream 6x9's, pio 306,2 amps(good ones but cant remember which ones),and M.A.Audio components at the front..

so the 1st thing i did was to check out his system..and trust me guys the components are of no use at all..they sound very murky,no clear soundstage available whatsoever,fronts are being overshowdowed by the rears so badly that even on using the fader and tinkering with the gains made no diference..M.A.Audio speakers just couldnt handle the load and sound more than just being crappy..and this install coming from a well known installer in bangalore called EB Bass..they are know for their DB Drag winning skills,but have no idea on how to get a SQ install done whatsover..

all in all i was utterly disappointed with the front components and sincerely suggest our ardent ICE fans not to buy the same..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 14:54   #2675
BHPian
 
Shrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
Active subs cost between 10k to 20k. JBL used to market a couple of very looking active subs, but they were not worth the money so we stopped a while ago. You may find them in other brands such as Blaupunkt/Velocity but mostly they're hugely unpopular in the Indian market.

Sam !

I've come across a JBL Active Sub Tube BTX-250, prices being quoted are around Rs.10500/=

what do you say?

other option is get a JBL Tube 1200T worth Rs.6000/=+ and a Sony502 2-channel Amp, at Rs. 3000/=aprrox that would cost in Total Rs.9000/=

So what do you suggest me to go for which is VFM?

I hope the Active Bass Tube i've seen is not fake?

Shrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:00   #2676
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

now that we are talking about bad cables and stuff we have a problem at hand here..our favourite mod (atleast for us bangy bhpians) rudra uncleji has a problem with his setup..

as u guys know he is running a full blau setup right from his HU to amp to speakers to tube sub..also the fact that he is running 8G BOSS wire kit..now the problem that he faces is dimming of headlights and even the in dash lights when he pumps up the vol to over 6 or so..the problem needs to be rectified asap as he is going on a long journey up north..well a few suggestions he got were :

1. get a stiffening cap from navin..
2. better power cables from JB and myself to see if it solves the problem..
3. i think sam u too said about changing the power cables and a cap if im not wrong..
4. psycho and me agree to it that a better battery might solve the problem..

so gurus which is the best solution to the problem..deadline is this month end and if not done all who will be help responsible would be sam,navin,JB and myself ..bloody all of u reside either in delhi or bombay..marunga to mein..so guys pls get ur advices across asap..

PS: rudra now all's left to these guys..dont blame me later for not trying to solve ur problemo ..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:13   #2677
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,649
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default

mcl, did this problem exist before? just curious.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:43   #2678
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,417 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclaren1885
3. i think sam u too said about changing the power cables and a cap if im not wrong..
4. psycho and me agree to it that a better battery might solve the problem..


PS: rudra now all's left to these guys..dont blame me later for not trying to solve ur problemo ..
I had a long conversation with rudra a few days back. I did NOT suggest a cap or cables. Already sorted his problem, ive been throught that one before.
It's not the battery, it's not his cables and its not the cap.
His amp is overloaded. It took 5 minutes to sort that.
You see boys, he has a 4 channel amp. Front speakers on front channel, rears on rear AND a subwoofer too, all on the same amp.
Didnt any of you ask rudra how many speakers were running on that one amp?
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:46   #2679
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,417 Times
Default

one more thing: Mcl his lights are dimming because his equipment is drawing too much current. A bad power wire would supply LESS current to the amp not more.
It's not the amp lights that are dimming, it's the dashboard lights. So by that simple logic, it could not have been his power wiring kit (unless the wire was consuming electricity)
The capacitor was ruled out because i know rudra does not like it loud and thumping, he prefers quality and keeps it low, hence the need for an instantaneous surge is less than you or i.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:53   #2680
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I had a long conversation with rudra a few days back. I did NOT suggest a cap or cables. Already sorted his problem, ive been throught that one before.
It's not the battery, it's not his cables and its not the cap.
His amp is overloaded. It took 5 minutes to sort that.
You see boys, he has a 4 channel amp. Front speakers on front channel, rears on rear AND a subwoofer too, all on the same amp.
Didnt any of you ask rudra how many speakers were running on that one amp?
Sam you described the problem but what was the solution?? take off rears from the amp and power the sub using the bridged rear channel?
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 15:59   #2681
BHPian
 
Shrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 38
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohit
Sam you described the problem but what was the solution?? take off rears from the amp and power the sub using the bridged rear channel?

NO!

the wise decesion would be to buy a 2-channel Amp and put a single Sub in Bridged mode or two subs on two channels.

Shrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 16:04   #2682
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I had a long conversation with rudra a few days back. His amp is overloaded. It took 5 minutes to sort that.
You see boys, he has a 4 channel amp. Front speakers on front channel, rears on rear AND a subwoofer too, all on the same amp.
Didnt any of you ask rudra how many speakers were running on that one amp?
well i was told about ur telephonic conversation sam but i guess i was too sleepy to hear what rudra had to say..hehe..so its seems that u have sorted it out,well done sam ..sigh of relief for me..

yikes is it..i always thought that the rears were running of the HU as he could fade(that was my 1st assumption)..never got down to see if the rears and the sub were running on the same channel..well i did ask rudra about the setup and he in his trademark eshstyle said "no idea"..

we quite realised that the equipment was taking up too much power and hence we adviced him to change the battery..oh btw for those who are mistaken that our man doesnt like it LOUD,ask me..he nearly woke up the entire neighbourhood da the other day..so much for not having that surge eh sam ??

so btw sam what did u ask him to do ??

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 23rd December 2005 at 16:06.
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 16:14   #2683
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrey

NO!

the wise decesion would be to buy a 2-channel Amp and put a single Sub in Bridged mode or two subs on two channels.

Well Rudra was not too happy when someone suggested a new amp so am guessing it would be the way I mentioned.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 16:56   #2684
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,417 Times
Default

either shrey's or mohits solution. I think Rudra is getting another small amp for the sub.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2005, 17:35   #2685
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,367
Thanked: 3,779 Times
Default

if not a small am he could run the rears of the HU. it would still prevent the current dump on the amp. and no i am an idiot i did not has rudra how many speakers he was running on his amp. i assumed he was running everything of seperate channels.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks