Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th January 2006, 13:15   #2806
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,642
Thanked: 1,352 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen
How will it sound if i replace the front small speakers with 6x9 in my zen..
Can i have 4 6x9 speakers without amp....
do u have the space for that?

and if you want to, check out that slim blau speakers.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 16:48   #2807
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,314
Thanked: 3,732 Times
Default

6x9 are not designed to be used in doors.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 21:16   #2808
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
Amit:
EP - earphone, RCA - RCA audio terminal.

A stereo EP to 2RCA is basically a wire with a stereo headphone jack on one end and 2 sterep jacks (like on your amps etc) on the other.
A lot of modern decks have an auxilliary (aux) input, in the shape of 2 additional RCA audio jacks at the rear. In which case you simply buy this wire, plug it into the line/headphone out of any mp3 player, discman etc and you're in business!
I want to use my sony walkman to play cassettes via alpine9853 which doean't seem to have typical rca type terminal.This aux-in is also for cd-changer.How can i make this wire [to connect walkman and HU]?
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 10:01   #2809
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,314
Thanked: 3,732 Times
Default

what terminal does it have doc?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 16:49   #2810
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
what terminal does it have doc?
Its called Ai-NET connector acc to manual and is shown with arrow in pic,lower left corner.crutchfied sells its connecotr for $16 and link is written below.This has two RCA type sockets on one end but i think i will need just one male stereo pin to go into headphone socket.Not sure what i need for other end to go into back of HU,socket shown in pic.
Just see enlarged pic [under photoes]of this & it will be very clear.Can i make it myself,if yes,what do i need for it?
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-QjF3ahY...p?i=500KCA121B


Last edited by rsjaurr : 19th January 2006 at 16:54.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 23:24   #2811
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

Looks something like one of those old phono pick up connectors.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 11:18   #2812
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default Woofer problem

The Baleno I brought home a couple of days back has the stock Kenwood system. The HU is KDC MP 4029 (MP3/WMA/CD/Tuner). A Soomoku sub (the long black one - forgot the model number) has been hooked up to this.

When I listen to FM the sub plays fine, but the moment I insert a CD, the sub switches off !! - There's a sub volume control knob attached to the dash now. The knob has a blue led. This LED goes off when CD's are played and there's no output from the sub. If I switch the source back to the tuner, the sub comes alive again !

I spoke to the accessories guy at the dealer. He asked me to bring the car over and he'll get it checked. It'll take me a couple of days to go down there. Meanwhile, can anyone throw any light on this ?
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 11:48   #2813
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,314
Thanked: 3,732 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
Its called Ai-NET connector acc to manual and is shown with arrow in pic,lower left corner...This has two RCA type sockets on one end but i think i will need just one male stereo pin to go into headphone socket.
is that the only input?

ok you will need the AInet connector as it is propritory. youwill also need a 1/8" (headphone) to RCA female stereo wire. then the RCA from the AINet connector will attach tothe RCA end of teh 1/8"-RCA wire and the 1/8" stereo male will go into the walkman.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 12:13   #2814
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvc
The Baleno I brought home a couple of days back has the stock Kenwood system. The HU is KDC MP 4029 (MP3/WMA/CD/Tuner). A Soomoku sub (the long black one - forgot the model number) has been hooked up to this.

When I listen to FM the sub plays fine, but the moment I insert a CD, the sub switches off !! - There's a sub volume control knob attached to the dash now. The knob has a blue led. This LED goes off when CD's are played and there's no output from the sub. If I switch the source back to the tuner, the sub comes alive again !

I spoke to the accessories guy at the dealer. He asked me to bring the car over and he'll get it checked. It'll take me a couple of days to go down there. Meanwhile, can anyone throw any light on this ?
Your installer has most probably used the antenna trigger cable instead of the remote trigger cable. Thats why when you switch to CD, the subwoofer is turned off.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 12:21   #2815
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
Your installer has most probably used the antenna trigger cable instead of the remote trigger cable. Thats why when you switch to CD, the subwoofer is turned off.
Thanks a lot ... So the cable is basically the one from which the sub draws the power ?
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 12:40   #2816
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvc
Thanks a lot ... So the cable is basically the one from which the sub draws the power ?
No... The active (means built-in amp) subwoofer will have 4 cables

a. RCA Interconnect - Signal Cable
b. Power Cable - Positive from Battery
c. Ground Cable - Ground from vehicle body
d. Remote Cable - Trigger from HU. When you turn on the HU, It 'tells' the amp (in the sub) to turn on. When you switch off the HU, it 'tells' it to turn off.

Similarly, there is another 'Antenna trigger' cable from the HU, which is meant for motorised antennas. The motorised antenna will be triggered on when you switch to tuner and will be triggered off when you switch to CD.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 13:23   #2817
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
d. Remote Cable - Trigger from HU. When you turn on the HU, It 'tells' the amp (in the sub) to turn on. When you switch off the HU, it 'tells' it to turn off.
Right .. got it now .. thanks. I'll probably go the the dealer tomorrow. Feels good to be armed with this info !
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 15:15   #2818
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
is that the only input?

ok you will need the AInet connector as it is propritory. youwill also need a 1/8" (headphone) to RCA female stereo wire. then the RCA from the AINet connector will attach tothe RCA end of teh 1/8"-RCA wire and the 1/8" stereo male will go into the walkman.
yeah....only for cd changer and for aux-in use.other inputs r for RCA leads and others[not sure].Navin u also have 9833 and 9830,so inpuits must be same on these and 9853.Do u use aux-in??

That means i cant make it myself and probabaly cant get here?
navin just go to its manual,that might help.

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man...500KCA121B.PDF
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 16:28   #2819
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,314
Thanked: 3,732 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
Navin u also have 9833 and 9830,so inpuits must be same on these and 9853.Do u use aux-in??

That means i cant make it myself and probabaly cant get here?
navin just go to its manual,that might help.

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man...500KCA121B.PDF
1. on my wife's 9830 we use the CHS 634 CD/MP3 changer and Ipod vifa a KCA 420i and one more wire I forget the name of.

2. on my 9833 we use a Necvox VCD/DVD changer via a FM modulator and an ipod via a KCA 420i.

So I dont use a RCA based source like a walkman. BTW you do realise that the headphone out of a walkman is not really a good quality signal. The headphone out was designed to drive headphones (1mW about 8-50ohms) while the Aux in of the HU is about 10k ohms. Also there is a cheap pot (headphone volume controla and cheaper power IC on the headphoneout).

To understand this using your ipod from the headphone out vs say the line out (you'll need an ipod dock to access the line out via a 1/8" connector) of the ipod. Even with MP3 you can hear the difference. BTW when you are ripping your CD's use WACK and rip a FLAC or WAVPAK version as well so that when Apple introduces a 200GB ipod you can have mathematically losless version on your pod.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2006, 21:50   #2820
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
1. on my wife's 9830 we use the CHS 634 CD/MP3 changer and Ipod vifa a KCA 420i and one more wire I forget the name of.

2. on my 9833 we use a Necvox VCD/DVD changer via a FM modulator and an ipod via a KCA 420i.

So I dont use a RCA based source like a walkman. BTW you do realise that the headphone out of a walkman is not really a good quality signal. The headphone out was designed to drive headphones (1mW about 8-50ohms) while the Aux in of the HU is about 10k ohms. Also there is a cheap pot (headphone volume controla and cheaper power IC on the headphoneout).

To understand this using your ipod from the headphone out vs say the line out (you'll need an ipod dock to access the line out via a 1/8" connector) of the ipod. Even with MP3 you can hear the difference. BTW when you are ripping your CD's use WACK and rip a FLAC or WAVPAK version as well so that when Apple introduces a 200GB ipod you can have mathematically losless version on your pod.

That means i cant use my cassettes in my car and i have to let these continue to gather dust.Anyway thanx navin but no plan to get i-pod in near future though i am more interested for video i-pod.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks