Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th June 2007, 13:02   #6361
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,435
Thanked: 5,666 Times
Default

Does anyone have experience in using "Eclipse" headunits (Made by Fujitsu). This query is for a friend who owns a car audio store and wanted to know if these headunits are good to stock? I saw a manual at his shop when I was there last time and they looked good dunno how they sound.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:02   #6362
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,068
Thanked: 2,866 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mainak View Post
okey ! nice job done in that post.
One more thing being greedy the way I am..what if i keep the in dash speakers there and get two more in the doors ....
Not a bad idea, unless the combined impedance causes problems to the HU.

But, even the 4" drivers sound quite nice in a Santro loaded on the HU. Did you try to match the levels of the amp and HU? If done properly, you might get good sound from the current setup without changing anything.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:07   #6363
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,068
Thanked: 2,866 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Does anyone have experience in using "Eclipse" headunits (Made by Fujitsu). This query is for a friend who owns a car audio store and wanted to know if these headunits are good to stock? I saw a manual at his shop when I was there last time and they looked good dunno how they sound.
Are these the ones by Fujitsu Ten? They get good reviews in Japan, Germany other countries, but none of the car manufacturers has got them into India.
How are the prices like? That's normally the killer.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:10   #6364
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,974
Thanked: 3,507 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Funny thing is it happens with certain cell phones. For example with my phone no such problem but when my dad's phone rings it happens.
going by this phenomenon I think what Der Alte said might be more correct. It just might have been that I switched cell phones soon after I sheilded the RCA wires (I dont know it was a ong time ago around 1996 or 97). Der Alte's explanation looks better researched but this does not have a solution.

and in this case your dad cellphone might be radiating more power than yours.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:13   #6365
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,974
Thanked: 3,507 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mainak View Post
@LBM
was thinking if by just driving it by amps would help?
Finally i will go for door mods, if nothing els could be done..
The mods need not be as bad you think. If you dont mind loosing the OEM look then a spacer ring and some cutting might be all you need.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:22   #6366
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,974
Thanked: 3,507 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mainak View Post
okey ! nice job done in that post.
One more thing being greedy the way I am..what if i keep the in dash speakers there and get two more in the doors ....
You could use the dash location for the tweeter but the other option (which requires 4 channels of amp power) is to get a pair of 6" woofers in the door and a 4" coax in the dash pod.

then you need a 4ch. amp that has HPF and LPF at say 200Hz. Let the 6" run LPF at 200hz and the 4" run HPF at 200Hz. with a good coax (Alpine, Infinity, Hertz Energy, Blau Velocity) you can get decent sound. The more traditional approach would be to leave the door pods unfilled and install the tweeter and woofer on the door as per LBM's pics.

But as the OLD MAN says why not tinker a bit with the fader setting and see if that helps.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:24   #6367
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,974
Thanked: 3,507 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Does anyone have experience in using "Eclipse" headunits (Made by Fujitsu)..
I have heard these and they are quite nice. They are also well repsected by the rest of the fraternity (see other car audio forums).
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:40   #6368
Senior - BHPian
 
bottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,487
Thanked: 130 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bottle View Post
hi guys got my gta4 amp installed but having an issue , when i rev the engine there is a whining sound from speakers which increases depending on how hard i rev .. initially it was quite bad but later the installer split the power wire along one side of car and rca cables on other side but after leaving i noticed the sound is still there slightly. any thoughts on the reason ?

guess its a fault with cables ? going again tomorrow to get it redone

just an update , the installer added a choke to one of the power lines from the head unit and problem seems to have gone ..
bottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:53   #6369
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,435
Thanked: 5,666 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
I have heard these and they are quite nice. They are also well repsected by the rest of the fraternity (see other car audio forums).
Navin any particular model numbers if you remember? Like for Alpines the 9830, 9833 and 9835 are the best.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 13:53   #6370
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,553
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

whats a choke ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 14:00   #6371
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,367 Times
Default

A choke is essentially an inductor, a coil.
The DC resistance is low, AC resistance is high. That's as simple as I can get.
It is used in series with DC voltage, thereby reducing the unwanted AC content in the DC current.
A choke in series, in conjunction with a capacitor in parallel, will help in cleaning out the dirty AC content from pure DC. This is one of it's many uses.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 14:06   #6372
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,068
Thanked: 2,866 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bottle View Post
just an update , the installer added a choke to one of the power lines from the head unit and problem seems to have gone ..
Can you post a pic of what was put in? Will be great since anyone with the same problem will know what to do - and bless you!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 15:08   #6373
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 21,974
Thanked: 3,507 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Navin any particular model numbers if you remember? Like for Alpines the 9830, 9833 and 9835 are the best.
Of the top omf my head there was the 8xxx series and the Eclipse 5000. Then again I am not good with models and prices.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 15:13   #6374
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Yeah, I know - LBM's setup is legendary here! Unfortunately the mix of comments it attracts would remind an uninformed reader of the adage "Dilli ka laddu, jo khaya woh pachhtaya, jo nahin khaya woh bhi pachhtaya"
Hahahaha god one sir and the correct way to explain my setup. so when are you coming to delhi for having the laddu from inside and the outside both.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2007, 15:27   #6375
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,775
Thanked: 15,280 Times
Default

Speaking of inductors, suppose instead of giving the wire straight to AMP(12V DC) I rotate it around a wooden stick 1" thick giving tight curls(20-30 curls).
This should remove high frequency noise(which I suppose most common car alternators have).
I will do this away from the amp and speakers so that the electromagnet formed does not foul up things.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks