Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th June 2007, 12:57   #6391
BHPian
 
Wimwian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 191
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Check all connections esp the speaker connections. I would open it all up and plug it all together again. Does your system have an amp?
Yes, I have a JBL 60.4 driving the front components (JBL607c) and the rear coaxials (JBL 637).
Wimwian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 12:59   #6392
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Yes, I have a JBL 60.4 driving the front components (JBL607c) and the rear coaxials (JBL 637).
ok so when you do your checking first just use the HU and the speakers. then if that is ok introduce the amp.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 13:02   #6393
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

my major doubt will be the speaker wires from the amp. as they will be touching the chassis of the car.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 13:04   #6394
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
my major doubt will be the speaker wires from the amp. as they will be touching the chassis of the car.
I agree but given it is the monsoons in India a little water vapour i the amp can also be an issue.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 13:04   #6395
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,738
Thanked: 7,928 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
ok so when you do your checking first just use the HU and the speakers. then if that is ok introduce the amp.
Navin, how do we disable amp from the set-up and just check the speakers? this can done from HU settings? or manually disconnect the amp? It would be interesting to know.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 13:06   #6396
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

no no. just disconnet the amp from the speakers. then run a set of wires from the Hu to the speakers. for this sort of work my installer just runs wires outside the car. we ae just eliminating all possibilities.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 15:47   #6397
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

I suspect one or more of your wires are touching the car's chassis. Maybe at the end where you connect the speakers, physically. Please do not switch on the amplifer. You may cause further damage or even a fire.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 16:22   #6398
BHPian
 
Wimwian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 191
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I suspect one or more of your wires are touching the car's chassis. Maybe at the end where you connect the speakers, physically. Please do not switch on the amplifer. You may cause further damage or even a fire.
Shucks, that sounds scary!!! I'm not touching the stereo till I get time to have the installer look at it this weekend... will ask him to run a full wiring check pronto.

Thanks a lot for the advice guys, as usual... where will I be without u all around
Wimwian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2007, 19:26   #6399
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Shucks, that sounds scary!!! I'm not touching the stereo till I get time to have the installer look at it this weekend... will ask him to run a full wiring check pronto.

Thanks a lot for the advice guys, as usual... where will I be without u all around
till then dont switch on the HU, or remove the face plate to be on the safer side.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 14:01   #6400
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

hi navinji,

i have been looking around for the caps since 3 days but couldn't find them. dont know what to do now. maybe I'll ask some one in delhi to find out or when i go to delhi, i will look around for the caps my self. i wish i was living in a place where all the stuff is available off the shelf lol. This is the one and ony reason why i dont like india. :(

LBM, do you know from where can i get electronic components like caps, resistors etc in Delhi or around?

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 14:44   #6401
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Clip, I cant beleive you cant find them in Delhi. I have been to Delhi and it is not a small town. I have never been to Jalandhar or Faridabad though.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 15:39   #6402
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Clip, I cant beleive you cant find them in Delhi. I have been to Delhi and it is not a small town. I have never been to Jalandhar or Faridabad though.
navinji, what i meant to say was i couldn't find the caps in jalandhar so i would ask some one in delhi to look for them.

im very frustrated because of nonavailability of good quality components in punjab. i wish i knew a dealer in some other city like delhi or bombay who could send me the stuff i want. :( i feel like going to delhi right now. lol

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 15:47   #6403
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

in delhi there is a very huge market called lajpat rai market oposite redfort you can get any electrical component there very easily...even in faridabad we source it for there..
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2007, 15:52   #6404
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Yes, I agree. In and around the area of Bhagirath Place and Chandni Chowk, you will find lajpatrai market. This is an area, quite simliar to Mumbai's Lamington Road.
You can find whatever components you seek, here.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2007, 03:42   #6405
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

so that means i will definitely have to go to delhi. my wifey is forcing me for a delhi trip. good for me he he he.

navinji, how do you stock your electronic components? what i mean to say is for e.g. if you are at a place where good electronic stuff is available would you buy what you need or buy some other stuff as well so that you dont have to come again and again? when i go to delhi, i would like to buy stuff that i need and the stuff i might use in future but i dont know what to keep stock of. i hope you understand what im saying.

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks