Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th March 2011, 19:00   #10786
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

I just got my hands on a 91 Chevy Caprice, and, I'm in the process of restoring it. This car came with a Bose amp. Since it's 20 years old, I want to know if the amp is still working. How can i check?

P.S - There are no lights on the amp, from what i could see.


Thanks in advance.

Last edited by rg_chn : 28th March 2011 at 19:01.
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 19:07   #10787
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Audio Gurus, please advice!!!

You can contact Mr. Jaanu Aggarwal in Delhi for Audio installation. His mobile no is +91 98115 67809. He sells lot of good stuff in Delhi.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sheelz View Post
HI Guys

I am also planning to upgrade ICE of my Tata Safari. I am planning to go for Infinity REF6530CS components rated 90 W rms at 2 ohm. I am also planning to go for Infinity REF1260W sub rated 300 W rms at 4 ohms. I am planing to power all these with single 4 channel JBL GT5-S644 amp. Also I intend to retain the OE speaker in rear doors powered by the HU itself. I am also changing the OE alpine HU to pioneer 9350(alpine has only one pre-out).

Now my plan is to power the front components through two channels of the amp and bridge the rest two to power up the amp. Since I am no audio techie, I would like the Gurus to enlighten me as to how do I go about matching impedance/resistance/bridging channels etc. If you thing the amp is inadequate then please suggest me another but the amp budget is restricted to 8000 Rs. Is JBL 1004 available still? Its not listed in the site. The total budget without HU is around 22K.

Also I would like to install the front components in the doors without any metal cutting. Is it possible with the said components? Gurus can suggest some other also. I am not sure if Safai door can accomodate 6 or 6.5 inch components. Also is it required to go for damping.

Since I live close to Delhi (300 km-Gwalior!!!), any good installer to get it done neatly.

Thanks in advance..
Happy Motoring..
pavansr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 15:56   #10788
BHPian
 
Twiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cochin-Bangalore
Posts: 299
Thanked: 47 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

I read that, Kenwood M845 Amp accepts speaker level input. Considering Alpine 560 (has 1 pre-out for Subwfr), if going for 845, can I use it without High to Low converter.

What all the cons of using convertors.. (does this catch noise, alternator whine..)

Please share few good 4channel Amps(5-8k) which accepts spkr level inputs....Thanks
Twiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 16:14   #10789
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Hertz has 4 ch amps (HE4) which accepts speaker inputs from OE head units. You can try them.
pavansr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 18:47   #10790
BHPian
 
Twiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cochin-Bangalore
Posts: 299
Thanked: 47 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Thanks pavansr.. how much does Hertz EP4 costs?
Twiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 18:52   #10791
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

The MRP is 10,990/-. It's with 70W x 4 Ch output @ 4 Ohms.
pavansr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 14:39   #10792
BHPian
 
vampire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: "Calcutta"
Posts: 59
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiny View Post

Please share few good 4channel Amps(5-8k) which accepts spkr level inputs....Thanks
Hi Twiny I beleive even if you dont have speaker level inputs you can do with an RCA 4 or 2 channel convertor for using any amp.
vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 14:59   #10793
Senior - BHPian
 
fine69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,396
Thanked: 839 Times
Default Re: Audio Gurus, please advice!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheelz View Post
HI Guys

I am also planning to upgrade ICE of my Tata Safari.....

Since I live close to Delhi (300 km-Gwalior!!!), any good installer to get it done neatly.
I'd advise you to visit the Delhi/NCR directory for trusted/recommended installers. If you give them a call they can answer most of your queries including possibility of fitment of components without any cutting.

May be after you've spoken to them you can post your queries that were still unanswered.
fine69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 23:51   #10794
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 223
Thanked: 13 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

which is better choice to power front compos and rear coax(SPL setup)
infinity kappa 4
DLS RA 40
moscono gladen one 120.4
focal solid4
procircuit_234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 16:13   #10795
Senior - BHPian
 
fine69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,396
Thanked: 839 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

I play an mp3 that is alleged to be 320 kbps but when I check the properties this is what I find.

Name:  untitled.JPG
Views: 516
Size:  15.0 KB

So what does this audio codec at 280 kbps mean?

Most of the english mp3 that I checked had both the bit-rate & audio codec listed as 320 kbps but in the hindi ones bit-rate shows 320 while the audio codec varies from 256 to 280.
fine69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 09:48   #10796
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,308
Thanked: 3,730 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by fine69 View Post
I play an mp3 that is alleged to be 320 kbps but when I check the properties this is what I find.

Most of the english mp3 that I checked had both the bit-rate & audio codec listed as 320 kbps but in the hindi ones bit-rate shows 320 while the audio codec varies from 256 to 280.
Are these recorded with CBR or VBR? Do you knwo the origin of these recordings? Did you make these recordings yourself?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 10:45   #10797
Senior - BHPian
 
fine69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,396
Thanked: 839 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Are these recorded with CBR or VBR? Do you knwo the origin of these recordings? Did you make these recordings yourself?
Downloaded off the internet. No clue about the origin.

Reason why I doubt certain recordings are because some mp3s with 320 kbps bit-rate play so clean while others not so clean though both show 320 kbps bit-rate.

Basically what I wanted to check was that can such mp3s be tweaked to make Windows Media Player show bit-rates/audio codec values that aren't actual.
fine69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 11:57   #10798
Senior - BHPian
 
blackfire_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,075
Thanked: 186 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Hi all,

I am in the process of upgrading my car's HU. I had in fact posted a query on my thread in the Sound Off & Show Off section but before spending my hard earned money on this upgrade, I want to be sure if this is actually what I need or something I want.

The reason that got me thinking towards an HU upgrade is the lack of 3 RCA pre-outs in my HU. Mine has 2 pre-outs (2V each) with splitters on each since my car is running 2 amplifiers. Upon reading a bit over the internet & TBhp, I seem to understand that a high voltage pre-out ensures more clarity & better sound. Is it true? Would there be any perceivable difference if SUPPOSE my existing HU had higher voltage pre-outs i.e. 4V instead of 2V? If no, then I guess I would shelve the upgrade for now.

Apart from this, my HU supports only CDs & at times, I feel the need of USB support because it's not possible (or convenient) for me to keep buying or recording CDs for every new song that I start liking.

Please pour in your advises & help me reach a decision.

Thanks.
blackfire_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 13:28   #10799
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,308
Thanked: 3,730 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by fine69 View Post
Reason why I doubt certain recordings are because some mp3s with 320 kbps bit-rate play so clean while others not so clean though both show 320 kbps bit-rate.
Goor or poor encoding is a matter of a few variables. You need to ensure the output levels of the encoder are set so that they result is not distorted.

For the past 6 years or so I have used EAC and LAME. Both have been stable
for the past 10 years - I think both were first released in 1998 or 1999.

I would strongly advise using EAC/LAME with AccurateRip or something like dbPoweramp. See this guide
Exact Audio Copy Guide Thoughts - Club MyCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackfire_9 View Post
The reason that got me thinking towards an HU upgrade is the lack of 3 RCA pre-outs in my HU. Mine has 2 pre-outs (2V each) with splitters on each since my car is running 2 amplifiers. Upon reading a bit over the internet & TBhp, I seem to understand that a high voltage pre-out ensures more clarity & better sound. Is it true? Would there be any perceivable difference if SUPPOSE my existing HU had higher voltage pre-outs i.e. 4V instead of 2V? If no, then I guess I would shelve the upgrade for now.
The cheapest HU I know of that has 3 pre outs is the JBL 333. However this HU does NOT have a CD player.

If your install is well done and the wires used are of good quality then a 2V signal is more than adequate most amps are happy with 1V or less. A 4V pre out only ensures that you dont need to turn the gains on your amp too high. When you turn up the gains on your amp up they often also amplify any noise in the wire hence with a 4V pre out you are less likely to amplify noise.

Last edited by navin : 5th April 2011 at 13:33.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 17:08   #10800
BHPian
 
Kimified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 243
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q

Hi,

Audio guru's here. Please advice.

I have Infinity Kappa 60.9 CS comps in the front and JBL GTO 1004 Amplifier in my I20 . But i am not all that happy with the sound. The sound produced is definitely better than the stock speakers but i am looking for something better.

1) I am looking at replacing the stock HU with the JVC AVX 836. Searched the thread on the JVC, Found that some people have a problem with the mic. Could not find anything more on the 836 as not many have written reviews on the same. I have an option between pioneer 4250 and the JVC 836. The JVC is feature rich compared to the pio and thats why i am leaning towards it (offers more value for the same price). Bluetooth and Detachable face plate. I don't really know the difference between the SQ's of the 2 HU's and i could not audition the JVC anywhere :( . Can someone tell me how good or bad the JVC is compared to the Pio. I have heard people say that the Pio has a better screen compared to the JVC, But when i checked the specs, The resolution on both of them are the same. Or, Am i missing something?

2) I am looking at installing a Sub woofer too. My overall budget is 40 - 42 k. The JVC HU with the Fascia and the Steering mounted control interface will come upto 34 approximately (28 + 3.5 + 3). Please suggest me a good sub woofer in the 5 to 8k range. I will audition all different ones suggested here and then decide on one based on my taste. Lesser space occupied, the better.

PS : I am new to this forum, I presume that i have posted my query in the right thread. Please move it to the appropriate thread if its not appropriate. Thank you.
Kimified is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks