Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th September 2005, 12:41   #1366
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

Dont worry too much ping. It's a good head unit and has a 2 year warranty. it should be ok
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 13:05   #1367
Senior - BHPian
 
k_ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,148
Thanked: 435 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
YES YES those wires are totally brilliant. Worth it.
Sam, i've seen that wire kit at Sridhars' shop. They looked solid and phatt, you know what I mean. Also very colorfull... Costs about 2.5k or 2.9k... Do you recommend I get them with the 50.4 amp??

Lemme know. Thanks

Last edited by k_ajay : 9th September 2005 at 13:08.
k_ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 13:37   #1368
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

ummm... you could. But they're more designed for the load of a 75.4. With a 50.4 it's a little excessive. If you have the budget, go ahead but not really required
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 13:51   #1369
Senior - BHPian
 
k_ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,148
Thanked: 435 Times
Default

Alright. I guess i'll pass it then... I'm already left wondering what I need to do with the 20 meters of Belden that I got from Sound Factor... Guess not many know about it, and hence, no demand.... :(
k_ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 13:53   #1370
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

I cannot understand why you bought 20mtrs of belden speaker cable to wire your speakers and didnt use it....
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 14:55   #1371
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_ajay
In my 'audio knowledge less' language, adding an amp would make a great sounding setup, GREATER... [now these folks are gonna lol me, am sure ]
I'm not laughing. That was very well put Ajay.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 15:10   #1372
BHPian
 
SoundManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 163
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Not much diff with Amp Add

I tried adding an amp to the following setup.

I have a Maruti Versa with the following setup installed in Jan 2004.

Pioneer 6025 Cassette Deck /Sony 4" in front/ Pioneer 350 WattsPMPO(don't remember RMS)/ in the rear in boxes. (Hadn't heard the word Sound Stage till then and was in fact told by the guy that sound should come from the rears!!. Will be setting up my first system with a front dominant sound stage in my swift tomorrow)

Sounds decent enough and am happy with it especially keeping in mind that i spent just Rs. 11,000/- on it.

On the shop guy's insitence I got a sony amp connected(don't remember the model, as all amps were same for me then, but must have 502 as he said it was starting sony amp).
But got it removed as i felt it only made my music louder. I use the system without the amp and am satisfied. But yes I do notice that the HU gets heated up fast.

What could be the reason for the amp not making any difference to sound quality?
SoundManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 15:11   #1373
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

Hi Steer!!

"OE consisted of a Blaupunkt Monte Carlo MP34 Tata + basic Blaupunkt speakers." Sam:fairly decent setup

"Replaced these with a Pioneer 7650 Head Unit, Blaupunkt 2-way speakers for the front and Sony Xplod 3-way coaxials for the rear. Plonked in my old Pioneer 12 CD changer under the front passenger's seat.

Despite the theoretically better speakers on the rear, sound at the rear was pathetic and was distorting whatever good sound the front speakers were putting out.
"
Sam: Sony speakers arent really better than Blaupunkts. In Fact I'd say quite the opposite.

"Took this to my car audio shop, where the chap said the Sonys wont work well when door-mounted as they require volume to get the best out of it. These speakers used to be great on my Accent, but then they were rear mounted with the bootspace volume to back them up.
After checking out an entire range of speakers that the audio shop chappie took the trouble of fitting on one after the other, a pair of Boston FX5s were chosen (FX6s were available, but again the sound wasnt upto the mark)."

Sam: Any specialized speaker manufacturer makes better speakers. Boston makes some very nice speakers.

"Now the output is much better, but the sound's got a tinny edge to it. Probably the Pioneer head unit..."

Sam: Sounds likely it's the Pioneer HU. I'm not sure why you replaced the much nicer sounding Monte Carlo with the Pio in the first place.

"So should I put my original Blaupunkt head unit back in? Any other recommendations on the speakers (I'd like to get the speakers sorted out before I go in for a sub-woofer)? "

Sam: Yes Yes Yes. Put the Blau back. Buy all speakers from a performance oriented, speaker specialist company. If you have bought Boston fronts, buy the rears too.

"I now have the following extra bits of equipment:

2 headunits (Blaupunkt Monte Carlo MP34 Tata & a Mercedes OE HU) and 3 pairs of speakers extra (2 pairs of Blaupunkt and 1 pair of Sony Xplod 3-ways) + 2 pairs of surface mounted tweeters (OE Blaupunkts and a pair of Pioneers)...what would be the best combination from the available equipment at hand?
"

Sam: I like the Monte Carlo. If you must choose from your speakers, lose the Sony, keep the Blaus.

"Another big question - if I change my Pioneer head unit will I still be able to use the Pioneer CD changer? There was some talk of Pioneers working only with Pioneers, or else one has to use the FM channels etc etc...."

Sam: Pioneer CD changer works only with a Pioneer HU. FM changers are different from regular changers. If you intend to use that Pioneer (wired) changer, you will have to stick to the Pioneer HU.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 9th September 2005 at 15:14.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 15:26   #1374
Senior - BHPian
 
aseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,735
Thanked: 414 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuderia
hmmm.. thanks navin.


Aseem bhai and company... kidhar gaye yaar
Between the two HU, Sony is the more expensive (international price) and loaded system (display and features). So personally I would go with the Sony. If you were comparing two evenly specced Blankpunt or Sony systems, than my answer could have been different.

Last edited by aseem : 9th September 2005 at 15:28.
aseem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 15:55   #1375
BHPian
 
SoundManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 163
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Can we connect a JVC Mp3 CD Changer to a Sony Cassette Deck 5100?

After reading sony read error thread, I'm having second thoughts on taking the sony CD changer. Besides the thread my personal experiences with sony home systems also tell me not to go for sony as far as the CD/DVD player i concerned.

I have seen sony read errors personally in Sony HOmetheathres DAVS 500, SC9. And my CD LIbrary guy tells frankly that a few CD's would not work on Sony DVD Players. Even couple of Original DVD's do not play or skip if they have a few scratches or if the DVD has become Old. Whereas the same DVD plays well in any other brand. LG, Philips, JVC etc. I replaced my DAV S500 with an onkyo receiver and JVC DVD Player. Works really well.

So, just wanna know if I can attach a JVC CD changer to a sony Cassette Deck.? (Would like to go for sony cassette deck as the sound is really sweet and have used it previously in my Santro without any problems for 3 years.)
SoundManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 16:27   #1376
Senior - BHPian
 
k_ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,148
Thanked: 435 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I cannot understand why you bought 20mtrs of belden speaker cable to wire your speakers and didnt use it....
Aree yaar... Kya bataun mein... I asked my installer to use it to fix the speakers with it. He said its not really that necessary, the stock wires are good enough. I told him that I've bought it and that I need to use it, but he said that to have this wiring done, it needs to go along with the factory wiring setup and that it would disturb it. Plus he said it is not that badly required...

Alas, I asked him to go ahead.... And that unused wire is still under my bed....
k_ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 16:28   #1377
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,985
Thanked: 1,362 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundManiac
Can we connect a JVC Mp3 CD Changer to a Sony Cassette Deck 5100?
NO you cannot. Sorry
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 16:32   #1378
Senior - BHPian
 
k_ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,148
Thanked: 435 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
I'm not laughing. That was very well put Ajay.
Ahem...!!! Thank you, mastar!!
k_ajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 16:58   #1379
BHPian
 
SoundManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 163
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quoted by Aseem in another threar in July
Quote:
Hi Guys,
After going through this thread I ordered Component speakers for the front from USA for 170 dollars for Rockford. I also ordered AudioBahn 6 *9 for the read for another 150 dollars. I ordered a Pioneer HU 66xx for 200 dollars. However here are some questions. I went to the market here for installation and an Amplifier price. They said that the amplifier feed wont go into the front speakers even if its 4 channel. They said that amp feed will blow away the speakers. They said amp feed could only go for rear and subwoofer if i want one. Also they suggested kicker wiring. And their prices were far tooo low compared to what I have.
They were giving component speakers for 3000 Rs, Pioneer HU for 7xxx Rs and Alpine Amp for 35xx Rs. Why such a huge drop in prices from US? Are these genuine or fake? Can he put Amp input to my front speakers without issues?
Hey Dude Aseem, what did you do of this Rockford's and Audiobahns?
As far as I remember the setups posted for your cars had none of these? It was sony in One, and JBL in another. Or am I missing something?
SoundManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 17:06   #1380
BHPian
 
SoundManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 163
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
NO you cannot. Sorry
Shuks! what do i do now?
If i select a Pioneer Cassette HU, pioneers don't make MP3 Cd changers, Sony Lens is Prob, JVC HU sound is not good?

Do what shall this maniac, Oh Force Please guide me!!

Looks like Sony HU with Sony Cd changer is the only alternative. Or is there another?
SoundManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
sub enclosure advice from audio gurus clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 22 4th January 2007 11:29
Please Read This Thread *Before* Posting in the "What Car?" Section adya33 What Car? 0 12th July 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:29.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks